Skip to content

Thoughts on a Monday Morning

July 19, 2010

I set my alarm for 6:00 AM. I woke up at 5:07 AM as there seemed to be a bird emergency outside my bedroom window. SOMEONE (read: some bird) was hollering as if the big puffy marshmallow man from Ghostbusters was approaching at rapid speed. I got out of bed to check on the emergency, and it would seem that said bird was just excited about the sun rising. It is such a Monday.

After solving the case of the rising sun, I put away my Nancy Drew cape and got back into bed, awaiting my 6:00 AM alarm. At 6:27 AM I rolled over and looked at my phone. I have no idea how this happened, but it is clear to me that it is such a Monday.

I really should have checked the weather before leaving my apartment. It started raining when I still had about half a mile to go. I had left my umbrella-ella-ella at home. I tried singing “Don’t Rain on my Parade” to make it stop, but that didn’t work. So instead I BOOKED IT to the office, turning my walk into a speedy jog. It is such a Monday.

I arrived to my office breathless and sweaty, though you couldn’t tell because I was also soaked with a shower from the sky. I feel ridiculously gross at the moment, despite my changing into my summer dress and drying my hair. My summer dress is wrinkled. My hair is sticking up in all the wrong places. It is such a Monday.

I am sitting here now, awaiting my 8:30 meeting, going over my to-do list, smelling the Pink body splash I recently sprayed to cover the “caught in the rain” smell. I am sitting here now, listening to Glee songs, bobbing my head around to hip hop songs turned show tunes, dancing in my rolling office chair. I am sitting here now, enjoying a breakfast a la Savvy Julie and Rosey Rebecca – because breakfast pastries aren’t just for weekends anymore.

I am sitting here now, knowing I have the power to change the outcome of this day. Knowing I have the choice to change my attitude. Knowing I can rewrite the definition of Monday. It is such a Monday – a day to be celebrated. A day to be dancing, and singing, and toasting, and laughing. A day to enjoy being caught in the rain, as if I were Gene Kelly as Don Lockwood. A day for showing such confidence in wrinkles being the new black that I strut down the hallway as often as possible, stopping to pose supermodel style at the end of each runway. A day when 27 minutes of extra sleep should be considered a blessing, and experiencing nature off your bedroom deck, in a bird singing to the sunshine, is an event to meditate on.

It is such a Monday. Marvelous, monumental, magnificent, Monday.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2010 9:23 am

    You can def turn this Monday around 🙂 I just think it’s cool the fact you can blog at work! Hope it does indeed turn around for ya!

  2. July 19, 2010 10:37 am

    Sometimes those days just hit but you will turn it around.

    Funny enough Myth Busters (yes I’m a geek) said if you run in the rain you get wetter than if you just walk. Just a fun fact 🙂

  3. July 19, 2010 12:15 pm

    Oh Mondays.

    Today I had no phone, no internet, no email at work. Fun right? And then my car alwarm went off and we couldn’t get it stopped.

    Oh, and I didn’t shower today. I *should* get caught in the rain!

    Hellooooo, Monday!

  4. July 20, 2010 1:00 pm

    I LOVE this post. The “It is such a Monday” repetition is amazing! ❤

Leave a Reply

