Skip to content

CDNY Eat Drink Blog

July 18, 2010

Less than two weeks ago, a blogger named Jen contacted me, sharing that she had also ran the Firecracker 4 in Saratoga.   When I spent some time reading her blog, I was pumped to see a list of Albany bloggers on her side bar and decided to plan a Capital District New York Blogger Meet Up.  I sent out the invitation emails one week before the date that I was considering, and because of the short notice, I didn’t think that very many people would be able to get together.

Super excited to report that this was not the case!  Even though we were missing a few of our other Capital District New York blends, a great group of ladies got together for brunch this past Saturday.  Even more special, Julie and her husband Dan drove in from Ithaca to stay with me this weekend so that they could attend the meet up as well!

While doing some detail planning, I decided to refer to the meet up as “CDNY Eat Drink Blog”, making a few tags and signs that said “Eat. Drink. Blog.”  for the get together.

104_4157

[those are Savvy Scones you see there in those plastic treat keepers.
Savvy Scones will change your life. TRUST ME.]

104_4155
Dan and Julie arrived Friday night, and we stayed up pretty late talking and prepping some food for brunch, meaning my 6:00 AM alarm was a fun surprise.  Dan and Julie went on a morning bike ride at my favorite trail while I ran in a 5K race a few blocks from my apartment.  The race start was at 8:30, and the fabulous blogging ladies were fit to arrive at 10.  This helped me run faster. 😉IMG_3945
I had such a great time with Courtney, Jen, Amy, Rebecca, Marcie, Lauren, Julie and our fabulous photographer, Savvy Dan!  We each brought something to share; not only for our brunch appetite – but also for our minds!  Along with several tasty bites, we ended up talking for four hours!  So much good advice was shared through out the group.

Check out these fabulous recaps, highlighting food and fun:

-Courtney’s Sweet Tooth Perspective of Capital District NY Eat Drink Blog
-Jen shares her thoughts on Capital District NY Eat Drink Blog
-Amy’s first post on her new site tells about the Excitement!
-Rebecca’s photo tour of the friends, the food, and my apartment during Capital District NY Eat Drink Blog

I absolutely loved meeting with this group and am excited to have some friends in the area with similar interests as myself.  We are going to try and rotate CDNY Eat Drink Blog, possibly as often as meeting once a month.  WE WOULD LOVE FOR YOU TO JOIN US! You don’t have to have a blog either – we would love to meet readers and fans our blogs as well! We have also discussed taking our meet ups on the road for trips to other areas of the state to get together with other bloggers and readers!

If you are interested in getting invitations and updates on our plans, you can drop me an email at thenheathersaid@gmail.com – also, be sure to be on the look out for tweets with the hash tag #cdnyeatdrinkblog!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2010 6:48 pm

    I saw a few of the other girls posts. Looks like you had a lovely time! Now let’s work on getting you guys to the island!

  2. July 18, 2010 6:53 pm

    We had a Toronto potluck picnic blogger meet up today . . . so fun, and you ladies are welcome to road trip it North to come see us!

  3. July 18, 2010 7:12 pm

    Such a GREAT day!! Can’t wait to do it again. 🙂
    I meant to ask you – which coffee shop is it that you usually go to?

  4. July 18, 2010 7:30 pm

    So glad it turned out great! I can’t wait to make it to the next one 🙂

  5. July 18, 2010 7:36 pm

    I’m so sad that I missed this! My foot is doing better, but still isn’t 100%. I’ll do my best to be at the next one!

    The Silks & Satins 5k on August 1st, perhaps?

  6. July 18, 2010 8:34 pm

    Thanks again for organizing this – I had tons of fun!

    • July 18, 2010 8:36 pm

      Thanks for coming! Last night, Julie and I were discussing all the good ideas and info we got from you! And how much we LOVE your blog design.

  7. July 19, 2010 8:11 am

    It sounds like everyone had a great time! So sorry I couldn’t make it; hopefully sometime in the future it will work for me to join you guys.

  8. July 19, 2010 9:21 am

    Looks like y’all had a blast! I hope I can make it to the next one 🙂 I love all of the little signs you made. Adorable.

Trackbacks

  1. Sweet, Tea + Goals | It All Changes
  2. Adventures in Healthy Baking | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

