Skip to content

Shared Oasis

July 14, 2010

Every Monday through Friday morning, on my way to work, I pass a house with the most gorgeous front yard garden.  The yard is less about grass and more about flowers.  Every day is the same thing, as I work my way down the road, I keep my head up, eyes scanning the distance for the place I’ve started to refer to as “this amazing shared oasis” when describing it to friends and coworkers.  This is the kind of place you can’t help but share, the kind of place that encourages existence. 

 104_4143

The closer to the garden I become the bigger my smile.  With each step, I feel a bit lighter.  This doesn’t make much sense to a reasonable girl, but to the idealist that I try to burry deep down under cynicism, jealousy, irony, and selfish sarcasm, it’s crystal clear. [though not crystal crazy.

 104_4144 

I’m quite certain that the sprinkling of happiness I receive while walking by this house in my neighborhood helps me to set up my day with a good attitude.  I was thinking about it on Monday morning as I was counting my blessings during my walk to work, hoping to kick off the week with a strong dose of gratitude when I realized that I was truly grateful for these neighbors sharing their lovely flowers near the street, instead of the back yard.  By planting such gorgeous landscape, they have managed to pour a drop of beautiful, natural inspiration for every passerby.  They have shared their oasis, and I am thankful.  So I sent them a card. Because that’s what I do from time to time to show appreciation.

104_4148 

104_4147

Dear Stranger –

I walk by your house several times each week, and I wanted to thank you.  Each time I approach your block, I can’t help but smile when I notice all the gorgeous flowers in your front yard.  You are making the world a beautiful place! When LBJ was in office, First Lady Johnson worked on a National Capital Beautification project.  She is often quoted as saying “Where flowers bloom, so does hope.”  I couldn’t agree more!  Thank you for brining extra bits of hope to our neighborhood. Your work is appreciated by many, I am so very sure. I am grateful for you, as you make my walks to and from work so much more enjoyable!

                                                            Your Neighbor, Heather

104_4145104_4152

This week’s urging: Take some time to evaluate what is happening around you each day.  Is there someone in your world that is making your surroundings a better place with out intention?  Why not drop them a note to show your appreciation?  Don’t be afraid to think outside the box, write to strangers, or contact someone who you haven’t spoken to lately and want to reach out to.  Nothing is holding you back, now is your time.  Spread kindness.  I dare you.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2010 8:06 pm

    Heather, that is so awesome. I am sure the family will be very appreciative when they receive your card! 🙂

    I love little acts of kindness like this.

  2. abbynormally permalink
    July 14, 2010 8:32 pm

    You are such a ray of sunshine!!! YOU make me smile–and I’m sure the people in that house were smiling too!

  3. July 14, 2010 8:41 pm

    Awww how sweet of you to send them a card. And I love the little presidential trivia 🙂

    I really need to do this again soon. I love doing it for random people.

  4. July 14, 2010 8:45 pm

    That is so lovely. I love that you sent them a card. And I love that you are using those particular things to spread happiness!

  5. July 14, 2010 9:02 pm

    You are seriously one of the most kind and heartfelt people that I know.

    And I love how you threw in a little presidential factoid 🙂

  6. sarah permalink
    July 14, 2010 9:25 pm

    what a lovely thing to do!

  7. July 14, 2010 9:30 pm

    I WANT TO BE YOU WHEN I GROW UP.
    …well kind of.
    I mean, I still want to be me, because no one else will be, but I want to be as awesome and sweet-hearted as you are.

  8. July 14, 2010 9:35 pm

    Heather this is wonderful! I love taking time to appreciate the simple joys in life, such as a beautiful garden. It is so wonderful to take it a step further to acknowledge those who knowingly/unknowingly provide it. Kudos to you 😀

  9. July 14, 2010 10:27 pm

    aww I love this, you’re so sweet Heather. This inspires me!

  10. July 15, 2010 12:54 am

    what a sweet thing to do, Heather! 🙂

  11. July 15, 2010 6:45 am

    This is the best thing I’ve read all week…I love it!

    Thank you to you, Heather, for reminding me to start off my morning with gratitude! And, thank you for making the world a more beautiful place by sharing!

  12. July 15, 2010 6:47 am

    This just made my morning 🙂

  13. July 15, 2010 6:49 am

    I can’t imagine how warm and wonderful your neighbors must feel right now. That is so sweet. I wish I was your neighbor!

  14. Diana permalink
    July 15, 2010 7:51 am

    You are so going to make their day. 🙂 What a thoughtful gesture. I once spoke to someone with a similar green thumb whose house I passed every day, letting her know how much I admired her place each day. It was the only time I saw the lady outside and her house sold a short time after. A hand-written letter is 18 million times more thoughtful, though. You’re sweet.

  15. July 15, 2010 12:10 pm

    LOVE that you did that! You’re so kind!

  16. July 15, 2010 2:09 pm

    Love Random Acts of Kindness!! This is a wonderful thing!!!

  17. July 15, 2010 2:41 pm

    Incredible! Random acts of kindness make the world a better place. YOU make the world a better place. 🙂

  18. July 15, 2010 4:12 pm

    Love this idea!!! So sweet of you and I’m sure your neighbor loved the thoughtfulness. So many people think something and keep it to themselves. Good for you for showing your appreciation, and in the process, spreading love!

  19. July 16, 2010 12:59 pm

    I LOVE that house and neighborhood. I am sure they will love your note!

  20. Gretchen permalink
    July 18, 2010 3:41 pm

    i just came across your blog for the first time and i just have to say… i love this. that’s just such a lovely thing to do.

  21. July 18, 2010 11:17 pm

    That’s a wonderful thing to do. Thanking people for the joy that they bring to your life. There’s a house on the path to my work that puts out a different country’s flag every day. As I biked past I would try to identify the flag… sometimes succeeding, but more often than not my ignorance of flags came through and I biked on without knowing. A wonderful thing happened though, about a year ago there was suddenly a whiteboard at the base of the flagpole with the name of the country!
    Now I start my morning off with a little bit of education. I always mean to stop and thank her and yet I never have… mostly because I’m heading to work, but I love the idea of sending her a card.
    (And really – I don’t know how many flags she has but sometimes there will be countries in there that I’ve never heard of / don’t remember learning about).

  22. Jenn permalink
    July 22, 2010 4:21 pm

    That is just so you.

Leave a Reply

