Skip to content

The Answers

July 8, 2010
tags:

Last Thursday, during my overtired walk to the office, I declared it faux trivia Friday and challenged you all to a bout of THS trivia.  And your answers were EPIC. [I highly suggest checking out the comments section, as so many of your fellow readers are hilarious & deserve to have their words read.]

I offered a change to win “some fun gifts from me” if you were able to get all the questions correct, but half way through the day I decided that perhaps I should lighten up a little, and instead offer anyone who plays a chance to win such “fun gifts from me.” It’s a good thing to, as later that evening on the way to dinner with the fam, my parents and siblings proved that my quiz was a bit harder than expected as they themselves could not pass the THS Verbal Trivia Quiz without taking several chances to guess the answers.

When we play 1989 Children’s Trivial Pursuit in the office, I sometimes get frustrated when the card asks a question I don’t know the answer to and then has no explanation of the answer.  Many, many times we turn to Google to learn more about the subject at hand.  That being said, it would be fairly unkind of me to give you a quiz and never discuss the answers and how they came to be. Not to mention so unlike me to not jump at the chance to ramble on about myself for several paragraphs.  Don’t you feel lucky, now?

Presenting: THS Faux Friday Trivia Answers

  1. Fill in the blank: Heather has a weakness for boys in _________

    First of all, I would like to point out that during the Verbal Edition of the game, my mother answered “Wisconsin.”  Touché, Mother, touché.  My father on the other hand answered “dresses”.  I have no comment.

    The correct answer is sweaters, as pointed out in the post Bad Morning, Great Day.  I still stand by the opinion that every male looks better in a sweater.  In most cases, I would choose a man in a sweater to a man in a tux.

  2. How many states has Heather lived in?Five. Illinois, 1983-1995. Wisconsin, 1995-2003. Louisiana, 2003-2004. Texas, 2004-2008. New York, 2008-current.  It’s safe to say I will always consider Madison, Wisconsin to be my “home.”

    104_3714

  3. What is Heather’s all time favorite television show?

    I’m much more interested in American History as an adult than I ever was as a formal student. This may have something to do with my favorite show in the history of television being The West Wing.  This choice of favorites may have something to do with who I was in the second grade.  For my social studies fair entry, I made a calendar full of Presidential Fun Facts.  Birthdays, anniversaries, vetoes, important speeches, and so much more. When I was in the second grade I could talk about the Presidents for hours.  When I was in the second grade I could name each President and tell you a little bit about them.  When I was in the second grade, I was interested, but I have no idea why.I’m not too sure what happen several years later when I was in high school in small town Wisconsin, taking US History I, and II, and even III.  I didn’t care much for learning about what had gone on during the birth or building of our nation.  Even when the Presidential names I had loved as a child were tossed around in the air, I didn’t seem to care.  But several years later, I found myself interested in all things Presidential thanks to a former NBC Drama series I own on DVD.  I can talk about the Presidents of hours. I can name each President and tell you a little bit about them.  I am interested in all things POTUS. My dad informed me this weekend that I am “a Presidential freak of nature.”  Touché, Dad, touché.
  4. What sports did Heather play in high school?

    It was 8th grade Algebra class when we first decided to play soccer together.  My friends Amy, Alicia, Heather and I decided to go out for soccer our freshmen year, knowing full and well that we wouldn’t be moving up to the Varsity team. This was beyond okay with us, however, as Alicia, although the most naturally athletic of us all, had never kicked a soccer ball in her life, and we were really just looking for a team to join not wanting to play volleyball or tennis our freshmen year.  Bonus perks included our small town high school not yet having a girls team, and therefore we would be joining the boys on the field for hours of practice after school each day, eventually sharing bus rides with them for games twice a week and tournaments on the weekends. The fact that most of the varsity team was made up of swoon-worthy upperclassmen didn’t hurt our enjoyment of that first season, either.A lot of things came out of joining soccer our freshmen year.  My first ever “real relationship” with a Junior teammate named Andy, for one thing.  And traditions such as twizzlers on every bus ride, and lots and lots of laps and hills. I had great coaches during my time on those fields, and built relationships with a few of those coaches that lasted a lot longer than high school.  Our head coach, Wendell, remains on the top of the list of the leaders in my life who inspired and encouraged me to keep going for more in life, and I am forever grateful for each conversation I ever had with such a wise, brilliant man.

    The lessons learned and relationships formed with these coaches, along with the formation of the Girls’ Soccer program at Lodi, brought more opportunity into my life.  Adding the girls’ team in the spring gave Heather and I the fall sports season to join the coaches on the sideline, being statisticians and managers for the guys teams.  I think I may have learned more on the sidelines from these men than I ever did on the field, and I returned my freshmen year of college to many games and tournaments to keep learning and being a part of the program that had such a hand in shaping me.

    The friendships I made throughout the Lodi Soccer Programs go without saying.  Most of the people who I called my best friend in high school were with me on bus rides, and team dinners, and meeting me to shoot penalty shots in the mornings before school.  Some of these friends I still refer to as “my best friend.” There is something about being a team that mends people together for a lifetime, even when years separate the time we’ve spoken and distance grows in miles between us.   There are some soccer friends who I haven’t spoken with since the day they/I graduated from high school – but they will forever remain a teammate in my memories and in my heart.

    I also played basketball.  It’s not that I didn’t love basketball. I did. And I still love to shoot hoops and play pick up half court games on occasion.  It’s not that I didn’t have fabulous coaches when I played basketball. I did.  And their lessons and words of wisdom still reign true in my life today.  It’s not that I don’t feel connected and forever tied to my teammates from basketball.  I do. And I’m grateful for all the memories and inside jokes we have together.  But soccer was never really about the sport to me.  It was always more.

  5. What is Heather’s favorite sports team?

    The University of Wisconsin Badgers, of course.  I love Badger Football. I love Badger Basketball. I love the Badger Track Team. [Obviously.] I love the Big Ten Network for showing me old UW games and for showing me matches and games and meets I may not see otherwise.  I love Bucky Badger and I don’t think I’ll ever stop loving him.  [Although, it should be noted that in games in which the UW is not playing, but another Big Ten school is, I will, without a doubt, route for the Big Ten team.  Penn State, Minnesota, Illinois, Purdue, Iowa, Indiana, Mich St, Michigan, Northwestern, and even, Ohio.  I’m a Big Ten girl, through and through.]104_3764
  6. What is Heather’s adult beverage of choice?I drink most warm coffee beverages with a straw.  Barista’s often look at me for a series of seconds, debating if I’m joking, after I ask them for a straw with my large triple shot soy latte they just handed me over the counter with an often fake smile and desire to just move on to the next person in line.  Not my friends at Expresso Therapy, the cute little shop near my apartment.  They know me well and hand over a straw without my mentioning it.  They do get a kick out of my ordering hot beverages in 95 degree weather though.  I drank iced coffee most of the winter and can’t get enough of the hot stuff now that it’s summer.  I have no idea why.  I also no longer sweeten my coffee. I think this makes me more of an adult than paying my rent on time.

    9- football

    I prefer crushed ice to cubed ice, but would rather have no ice.  I like it best when liquid is room temperature of just slightly warmer.  Unless it’s a margarita or beer, and only when I am in a margarita or beer mood. (read: fiesta or a Wisconsin event)

    Even so, I’d choose red wine any day of the week.  It baffled me at first, because I always thought I would never be a wine drinker due to the women with the strongest influence in my life, my mother and best friend Danielle, preferring white wine and my not being able to take much more than 3 sips of the stuff every time I tried in their presence.  Then I asked my Dad to be in charge of a Shugarman Family wine tasting while I was home a few Christmases ago, and low and behold, I just needed the full bodied goodness of a Cab to open me up to the goodness of the grape.  I’d like to say that I’m a red wine drinker because I’m a UW Badger fan, but something tells me that’s not necessarily the case.

    104_3731

  7. What is Heather planning to do on 10-10-10?

    I’ll be running the Mohawk Hudson Half Marathon. You can read about my decision to do so in the post Learning About Me.  I am on my third week of a revised training plan, and I become more excited and more frightened each time I think about my running 13.1 miles in one morning.
  8. What time today will Heather declare she needs a nap?I would like to point out that my BFF Danielle commented “if I were you, I would have declared my need for a nap before getting to work.”  On the nose, Dani! I was ready for a nap about 7 seconds after I walked out of my bedroom towards the kitchen for some coffee.  Surprisingly, I didn’t end up napping at all on Thursday, which helped me to fall asleep in about 30 seconds after laying down for the night.

AND THE WINNER IS:

OK. And good news for the nine of you that decided to play along with THS trivia – I am so thankful for each of you that I just couldn’t submit to having a drawing to see who gets gifts from me – so congrats to Kelly, Skinny Sushi, Liane, Julie, Megan, Danielle, Grant, kayejohn, and michelleYpalmer.  You all win.  Email me your mailing address to thenheathersaid[at]gmail.com and I will put “some fun gifts from me” into the mail for you soon.

As for the rest of you, aren’t you jealous 😉 But didn’t all that insider knowledge about my life feel like your own fun gifts from me? I thought so.

Now that you know so much about me, why not tell me something interesting about you?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 6:38 am

    That was so fun, thanks!

    Hmm… I don’t know how to ride a bike or swim.

  2. July 8, 2010 6:50 am

    As I tweeted yesterday, I love anything Sorkin, especially The West Wing!! Great trivia answers too! An interesting fact about me is… today is my birthday. Although that may not be interesting to anyone but me.

  3. Kiera permalink
    July 8, 2010 8:46 am

    That was great! Though you forgot Nebraska in your Big Ten love!

  4. July 8, 2010 11:10 am

    Expresso Therapy!

    I went to college with Beth and her sister Danielle is great! I need to go to the shop soon since I keep saying I will.

    I’ve lived too many places to count and with my job I’ll live to many other places to even think of. So much nutty stuff about me to even know where to start.

  5. abbynormally permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:02 pm

    You crack me up. I think the Presidential obsession is the funniest of all, because I’m obsessed with presidents too! My parents always make fun of all the obsessions that I go through, and when I was in KINDERGARTEN it was the presidents of the United States. I’m not as obsessed anymore, but in highschool, I was the only one in my graduating class (365ish) who, off of the top of my head, knew who the 11th president was. I know you know, too! 🙂

  6. July 8, 2010 2:07 pm

    I can’t wait to hear all about your running and training! You and my dad would get along so well, he taught American History for over 30 years. I know nothing about history… no joke.

  7. July 8, 2010 4:05 pm

    So fun! I loved reading the answers!!! Something fun about myself… I’ve lived in 7 states and 4 countries! And I’ve lived in three of those 7 states more than once!

  8. July 8, 2010 5:38 pm

    Ok, so I thought of some fun random West Wing related info about me to share:

    1) I met Martin Sheen (and have an autographed West Wing photo) a few years ago at a trade show. We got to hang out with him for a while. He is SO nice and very sweet and personable. And funny. Also he totally knows and loves Madison.

    2) Bradley Whitford is from Madison and went to high school with my dad. Well, ok he was a couple years older, but still. Also it was the same high school that I went to.

    🙂

    • July 9, 2010 1:51 am

      I’ve never met Martin Sheen, but I’ve held a little candle for Emilio Estevez ever since Mighty Ducks.

  9. July 8, 2010 5:57 pm

    Aww, I love games where everyone wins! Especially when it involves getting to know more about people I love very much! 🙂

    By the way, Jackson D still sometimes asks me about you, just so you know. 🙂 He catches your blog posts sometimes, but he’s kind of a busy guy.

  10. Brendali permalink
    July 8, 2010 8:17 pm

    You are hilarious and such a welcoming, warm writer! Whenever I read ur posts, I feel it’s as if we are having the post as spoken word between us over coffee! Awesome facts about you! Not so awesome fact about me? I am 26, still am scared of goblins and ghouls under my bed and when I am in rare form, I suck my thumb:)

  11. July 8, 2010 11:45 pm

    Such a fun read! I love that Texas is on your list of states. I love your soccer story. And I love that we are both running a half marathon this year (mine is 12/05/10 in Dallas). But what I love the most is that I get to have a big glass of red wine with you in August at HLS!

  12. July 9, 2010 1:12 am

    Yaaaaaay for prizes! 🙂

  13. July 9, 2010 2:05 am

    I still think you should have played field hockey

  14. July 10, 2010 5:59 pm

    This is such a fun post! I too prefer drinks at room temp. Back when I drank soda I always preferred it to be warmish and flat and everyone thought I was weird. I’m running the same half as you- it will be my first! 🙂 I start officially training in a few weeks. Are you following a specific plan?

Leave a Reply

