Skip to content

SSSS

July 7, 2010

I’m going to let you in on a little secret.

You may be asking yourself, “self; why am I so lucky to learn a secret from Heather?”

Well, don’t you worry, my friend.  I am going to share that secret with you, too.

 

As I’ve previously mentioned, this past holiday weekend, my family came to NY.  We stayed at a lake house in a nearby town and it was awesome.  Throughout the weekend I was reminded of a truth I’ve known for quite a while now; the Shugarman’s are awesome. So awesome, in fact, that I thought you may want to be an insider to wonderfulness that is the Shugarman clan. 

 

I bring to you the Shugarman Sibling Secret Shake:

 

DSCF2848 

DSCF2849

DSCF2850

DSCF2850

DSCF2851

DSCF2852

DSCF2853

DSCF2854

Now don’t go telling anyone that I shared this classified information with you. 

We call my mom the Disney Nazi.  We often share stories of trips we’ve taken to Disney World, and our needing to be lined up at the door, with our visors on, breakfast consumed, and fanny packs filled to the brim ready for the day 3 hours before the park gates open.  We’re the only family who walks through the park in a single file, moving swiftly from one attraction to the next, trying to fit in as much as possible. 

 

When we were younger, and visiting the towns where Mom & Dad lived when they were younger, they would drive us around the neighborhoods, showing us the schools they attended, their favorite hang outs, and special locations filled with memories; sharing stories of their own childhood and growing up.  We called these excursions trips to Lifestyles of the Poor and Ordinary.

 

I refuse to believe that Santa will stop coming to my parents house ever.  We’re not talking a few gifts under the tree, here. We’re talking full fledge Santa-ness.  Cookies on a plate on Christmas eve, complete with a few carrots for Rudolph and the gang.  Stockings hung by the chimney with care, which are the only thing we are allowed to touch before the parents wake up and join us in the living room.  All sleeping in the same room and sneaking down to the tree several times throughout the night to see if the jolly ole St. Nicholas has dropped off any loot.  And come Christmas morning, it’s nothing but magic! Presents from the North Pole wrapped in special Santa paper, with tags written in the hand of Mrs. Claus, and breakfast casserole and cinnamon rolls baking in the oven.  Mom has told us that she is in cahoots with the Claus family, and that once my little brother Rob is out of high school, they are going to break their contract and we will start having adult Christmas at the Shugarman Manor.  Maybe it’s denial, or maybe it’s just my being stubborn, but I refuse to listen to such nonsense.  I will believe it when I see it. [and then I may or may not hide under the tree for Magical Christmas safety.

 

Dad makes the best breakfast ever. And taught me to love all the best bands and musical artists.
Mom has a teapot collection that can pour endless stories.  And is clever and crafty beyond measure.
Melissa reads books that I could never understand, and enjoys them to boot.  She doesn’t ever show fear, just courage and an eager spirit.
Robby is a gentle soul who will go along with any plan that makes his loved ones happy. He is going to be a fabulous set designer, for stage and screen and any show he touches will turn to gold.
I don’t like to vacuum, avoiding it at all costs.  And I love television more than should be possible by any human being.

 

We are each so much alike and uniquely individual in a thousand different ways, but we make the perfect picture when you line our puzzle pieces up together to fit snuggly, hand in hand.  We paint a picture of love and support and laughter and understanding, encouragement and memories and recipes filled with so many spectacular adjectives and probably even a few verbs as well. 

If you spent any time with us, you would clearly see the picture long before the puzzle pieces are perfectly aligned.  We are family and we complete one another. And that is more than enough definition for my heart.  No secret there.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 7, 2010 12:42 am

    Did Robin Leach narrate your visits in each episode of “Lifestyles of the Poor and Ordinary”?
    What was his signature end of episode phrase?! Instead of “champagne wishes and caviar dreams” was it “Soda Pop wishes and candy dreams”? “Mac and Cheese wishes and apple juice dreams’?!

    Also, is it a parent thing to torture their kids with visits to their towns?! My dad totally did! Like I’d EVER be able to find his teen home in the middle of SoCal EVER AGAIN. I bet it’s part of the Grove shopping center by now or in the back lot of movie studio. Yah, and how awesome was that? that he grew up in Southern CALIFORNIA and got to hang out at the beach and head to Disneyland every weekend. NOT FAIR!!!

    My mom has never tortured us with hometown tours. Mostly because my grandparents still live in the house she was born and raised in. Plus, I think she was bored out of her mind on my Dad’s many trips down memory lane.

  2. July 7, 2010 12:52 am

    I LOVE THIS POST TIMES A MILLION.
    You’re probably not surprised by this though.

  3. July 7, 2010 5:38 am

    Santa is never going to stop coming to my parents house either! Is it weird that first thing on Christmas we do is wake up and go over there? Its the one time I hate being married.

  4. July 7, 2010 6:33 am

    Aw, it’s so great to hear how strong your family bond is!

  5. July 7, 2010 6:59 am

    your family sounds AWESOME – a lot like mine, actually! 🙂 I enjoyed your tweets all weekend with them.

    also? as one of my favorite people in this blog world, I have given you some recognition. An award, if you will. 🙂 it’s on my blog, go see! 🙂

  6. July 7, 2010 8:31 am

    I love reading about your family 🙂 Keep sharing stories, they are great!

  7. July 7, 2010 12:25 pm

    I love this! I want to hangout with your family! Maybe I’ll just drive up the road to Denton. 😉
    OK, I’ll wait til you come home for a visit. I love the image of you all dressed in visors and fanny packs in a single file line at Disney World. So awesome.

  8. July 7, 2010 2:18 pm

    I love how your family is so like mine. My dad drove us around his home town everytime we were there. “Dad we’ve seen this already!” But that didn’t stop him.

  9. July 7, 2010 2:58 pm

    You are too funny!

  10. July 7, 2010 6:07 pm

    Really sweet post!
    Love when families get along and appreciate each other’s
    unique nature.

  11. July 7, 2010 8:49 pm

    This made me smile. I love the play by play 🙂

  12. July 7, 2010 10:20 pm

    I think your family is pretty amazing too!

  13. gramshugs permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:49 am

    our whole family is AWESOME !!!! as far as i am concerned, everyone is the…AWESOMEST

Leave a Reply

