Skip to content

SSR 18: Paper Deli

July 6, 2010

While in Madison, I was busy.  And looking back, apparently I was hungry. I delighted in light and fluffy Greenbush Donuts with my friend Veronica.  I lunched on a Mediterranean Plate from Lazy Jane’s on Willie Street. I ordered three plates at the Blogger Meet-Up Dinner at BluephiesAshley and I snacked on maple candy and vegan baked goods at the Dane County Farmers Market, and my high school friends and I shared spicy hot cheese bread, heirloom tomatoes, and Jamba Juice as we continued on State Street.  We found samples to try while visiting Ashley at the Madison Marathon Expo 2010, and took part in Wisconsin favorites at Bratfest.  Ice cream specials at the Chocolate Shoppe, Asian delights at Chin’s, endless tasty picnic treats at The Meshing, and a farewell lunch at Noodles.

None compared to the Paper Deli.

104_3952  

My friends from Edgewood, Jes and Brian, opened this adorable store in Madison.  When Jes, who was one of my co-RA’s when I was working in Residents Life at Edgewood, sent me a facebook message to let me know the store was up and running and waiting for my visit, I knew it was a must-stop location during my Wisconsin Blisscation. Especially when she told me that this sign above their register was inspired by something I had written on a different blog two years prior.

104_3950I was beyond excited when Jes told me that I had inspired this fabulous piece in their store!  And I was beyond impressed with Kati, Kelly, and I arrived to find this gorgeous creative haven.

104_3949

Brian and Jes also have a custom invitation design company,  BB Design.  You can check out some of their awesome collection of past projects.  Brian is available to work with clients long distance through the wonders of the internet, and comes highly recommended.  If you are looking for custom invitations or other paper products, contact BB Designs; the team is eager to exceed your expectations with a unique experience and affordable prices.  And tell them Then Heather Said sent you!

104_3955

Along with high quality paper products, Brian and Jes have hand selected unique stationery, greeting cards, gifts, and office accessories.  Dare I say, I wanted one of everything.  I had to make a “rule” for myself that I was only allowed to purchase ONE thing while in the store so that I wouldn’t go crazy. [this may not surprise you, but I purchased two things. ahem.] Check out all this fun stuff:

104_3948104_3962  104_3954 
104_3956104_3957 

To add the cherry on the top of an already delicious sundae of fun, unique products, check out this adorable packaging each purchase warrants. 

104_3959

  104_3961

And each purchase comes with a Deli snack.  How cute is that?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. abbynormally permalink
    July 6, 2010 10:49 am

    Sooo did you write that bit on your blog?? I’m so fascinated!!! You’re kind of famous.

    Plus, that store is so adorable!

    • July 6, 2010 10:54 am

      Actually, on the old engagement/wedding/couple blog the about me was written in this tone/layout – including where we met, how our friendship grew, where we discussed our relationship, where the proposal took place, moving across country, planning the wedding, etc… It started with “Met in a backyard, discussed dreams in a hallway”….and so on

  2. July 6, 2010 10:53 am

    Two things:

    1. You forgot the food at the wedding on your list. 😉

    2. Why am I only now hearing about this place, now that I’m not in Madison? Would have loved to go there…looks great!

    • July 6, 2010 10:55 am

      Hahaha.

      Yes. And I think I drank 17 glasses of water at your reception. It was the first taste of “bestr water evertr.” Perhaps.

      🙂 you have to go visit next time you are in town. It is awesome!

  3. July 6, 2010 2:39 pm

    I love fun little stationary shops like that. They make me happy with finding fun little new things for uplifting notes to friends.

  4. July 6, 2010 9:59 pm

    Whoa, this place looks amazing. I love their attention to detail with the packaging and snack! That’s so awesome that you inspired their little blurb. I love it!!

  5. July 6, 2010 11:21 pm

    I loveee stationary. What a cute name for a store =]

  6. July 7, 2010 10:23 pm

    So cute! I’ll have to check it out sometime when I’m back visiting the fam.

  7. July 11, 2010 11:46 am

    I LOVE stores like the Paper Deli!!! Their packaging/labeling/branding is AWEsome!!

Leave a Reply

