Skip to content

SSR 16: Art Class

July 4, 2010

While in Madison, I was lucky enough to visit my friend Ms. Walsh’s Art Classroom.

104_3914

The class I visited was putting their knowledge of Monet to good use in the school garden. I took some time to speak to each group of students, asking them about their painting and learning a bit about what they were doing. 

It should be of no surprise to you that I am an advocate for fine arts in education. I was lucky enough to be involved in several fine art classes and programs through out my schooling in both Illinois and Wisconsin, and I stand behind the belief, without a doubt, that the opportunities I was given through out my time in school in the arts has made me into the person I am today.  I would also be quick to say that the lessons I learned in my art classes were much more long lasting, and relevant to my life today, then some of the more “traditional” classes I had in high school.  I long for the day when the students in this country count their fine arts classes as “traditional” education.

104_3850104_3842

Without poets, without artists, men would soon weary of nature’s monotony.
The sublime idea men have of the universe would collapse with dizzying speed.
The order which we find in nature, and which is only an effect of art, would at once vanish.
Everything would break up in chaos. There would be no seasons, no civilization, no thought, no humanity;
even life would give way, and the impotent void would reign everywhere. –Guillaume Apollinaire

104_3839104_3828
Throughout history people have recorded their struggles, their dreams and their lives in works of art.
Young people cannot participate in the human conversation or have a true understanding of human history
without engaging in the study of the arts. –Christine Goodheart

104_3831104_3833 
Every great work of art has two faces, one toward its own time
and one toward the future, toward eternity. –Daniel Barenboim

104_3836 104_3853 
Whether we think of the arts as languages, forms of intelligence or learning modalities,
most educators agree that the arts can engage diverse learners
and provide them with opportunities to share what they know. –Christine Goodheart

104_3840104_3841  
Every artist dips his brush in his own soul, and paints his own nature into his pictures. –Henry Ward Beecher

104_3852 104_3907 The strange power of art is sometimes it can show that what people have in common
is more urgent than what differentiates them. –John Berger

Imagination makes empathy possible, because to understand another
we must be able to imagine living their life. –Christine Goodheart

104_3861104_3896 
The arts are windows on the world in the same way that science helps us see the world around us. –Charles Fowler

104_3905104_3898
The arts are as basic to enlightened citizenship
as understanding the workings of numbers, words, and history. –Christine Goodheart
 
104_3902104_3904

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Megan Orcholski permalink
    July 4, 2010 12:46 pm

    Mom and I were at a talk back at American Players Theater one time, and an audience member asked the lead actor about something he had chosen or done. The person kept alluding to something he had done, and he was trying to explain that it wasn’t him, that he looks to the script, to the writing.
    In this explanation, he said:

    “Never trust the artist, trust the art”

    It’s one of my favorite quotations about art. I wrote it down and incorporated it into a piece I made a few years ago.

    The pictures in this post are beautiful

    P.S. The other quotation this post made me think of was:

    Tai: Do you think she’s pretty?
    Cher: No, she’s a full-on Monet.
    Tai: What’s a monet?
    Cher: It’s like a painting, see? From far away, it’s OK, but up close, it’s a big old mess. Let’s ask a guy. Christian, what do you think of Amber?
    Christian: Hagsville.
    Cher: See?
    ~Clueless

  2. July 4, 2010 1:43 pm

    Aww, I REALLY like all of these pictures, and I definitely borrowed almost all of the quotes and posted them on Tumblr…:)

  3. July 4, 2010 4:32 pm

    Yeah! I’ll post a link to this from my new blog! They will feel famous. : )

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

