Skip to content

Firecracker 4

July 4, 2010

My alarm went off at 5:30 this morning to start getting ready for the Firecracker 4 mile race in Saratoga.  I am so thankful that my family is here visiting for the weekend; my sister, Melissa, and my brother, Rob, ran the race with me as well.  Melissa even suggested that we start running a race together each year. 

We all woke up and stumbled around the lake house, getting ready for a 6:30 departure to head to packet pick-up.

IMG00174

Of course, packet pick up took all of about 4 minutes.  Race time wasn’t until 8:00 AM, so we hung out with the parents for a bit pre-race. 

DSCF2782 There was a live band in-between the start and finish of the race, which were a block apart from another, and vendors were already setting up and speaking with racers and spectators.  At about 15 minutes until gun time, we found our way to the back of the pack, excited to start our run together.  Melissa listened to some Miley Cyrus Party In the USA to get in the forth of July mood. I listened to songs about the former Presidents of the United States.  Rob made fun of us.

IMG00177

The crowd was quite large by this time, and I tried to keep us towards the back.  Then, after a quick singing of the National Anthem, we were off. 

DSCF2794
The original idea was to stay together through out the entire race.  Melissa and I even discussed our strategy of crossing the finish line.  However, about a quarter of a mile in, someone showed us that he was a bit speedy.

IMG00179

Not too long after, Melissa was urging me to go ahead on my own as well.  Along the course there were a lot of supporters cheering us on and many different musicians playing for us as well. The community really gets into supporting the race – people were spraying the runners with sprinklers, hosting homemade water stations in-between the official ones, using noisemakers and doing cheers along the way.

IMG00180

IMG00181   

IMG00183 IMG00184 IMG00189IMG00186IMG00187IMG00188IMG00185IMG00182

So much support makes a very happy runner!

Not to much longer, the Shugarmans were crossing the finish line.

DSCF2804          

Chipmunk, Reindeer, Snowman and Bear Shugarman crossed first, followed by Rob, Heather, and Melissa.

DSCF2816             DSCF2829        IMG00190

DSCF2837

The first annual Shugarman Sibling Road Race was a success!  Can’t wait until next year!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 11:59 pm

    Yay! Congrats! I’m glad it went well!

  2. July 5, 2010 8:41 am

    I’m so so so so proud of you! You did great! And you look like a pretty spiffy runner. It looks like a pretty course to run. I love 5k’s!

  3. Megan Orcholski permalink
    July 5, 2010 11:43 am

    I absolutely adore the mildly blurry Shugarman sibling photo of all of you in the back of the van.

    I can see the tiny babies you were together in the eyes of your big beautiful adult bodies.

  4. Mary permalink
    July 5, 2010 1:55 pm

    What an awesome race!! My younger sister, dad and I used to run races all of the time together before I moved. it’s the best to train together and succeed together 🙂

  5. July 5, 2010 5:25 pm

    I ran that race last year and loved it. This year I couldn’t run it because sunday=workday for me. But I’m looking forward to it next year. It is one of the best races I’ve run for the pure fun involved.

  6. July 6, 2010 8:14 am

    Congrats on the race! I ran it too, and it was SO much fun!! 🙂

  7. July 7, 2010 10:27 pm

    I love that the 3 of you ran a race together. What a fun tradition to start!

  8. July 11, 2010 11:48 am

    Yaaay!! Congrats! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. SSSS « Then Heather Said
  2. CDNY Eat Drink Blog « Then Heather Said
  3. MBPA 5K – I Did It « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

