Skip to content

Charlton Heritage 5K 2010

July 3, 2010

Tomorrow morning, my little brother, Rob, and my little sister, Melissa, are joining me on a four mile race in Saratoga, the Firecracker 4.  Tomorrow’s race will be a lot of firsts.

First race longer than a 5K.
First race I’m not setting a time goal.
First race being run the morning after a late night out. (Chicago & The Doobie Brothers tonight at SPAC 🙂 )
First race I will have my own paparazzi. (Mom has already been instructed to take LOTS of photos)
First race of the Annual Shugarman Siblings Who Laugh Together Run Together. (name pending sibling approval)

A few weeks ago, I ran another race for the first time – The Charlton Heritage 5K.  My boss Jen, her husband Jeff, and I headed to Charlton together to get our race on.

The race started quite late in the morning (10:30) and the sun was already our in full force when we made our way to the registration around 9:00 AM.

 104_4030 104_4031

After we registered, we prepped for the race – pinning numbers, clipping on time chips, outfitting self with bondi band and sunglasses – you know, the normal.  There may have also been a few minutes of crazy dancing by yours truly, but thankfully, that wasn’t captured on camera.

   104_4033104_4034104_4035

I liked that our bib numbers were in numerical order.

104_4038104_4036 104_4037    

You may be wondering how I did at this race. Let me put it this way – I finished. 
It was hot, sunny, shadeless, and very hilly. 
But I finished. I didn’t give up. Even when I wanted to roll down the hill.  I finished. And sometimes, that is all that matters.

104_4043

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 3, 2010 10:47 am

    Sounds like you are having an amazing weekend! I give you so much credit for racing; even though I have been running for years and years, it terrifies me! I am hoping to sign up with a friend for a 5k this fall, for her to start running couch to 5k and for me to get over my race fear!

  2. July 3, 2010 10:52 am

    LOL, I totally read this as the Charlton HESTON race. Congrats on finishing the race in spite of feeling like giving up… you look great! And good luck tomorrow. I hope you celebrate with lots of July 4th alcohol after the race 😉

  3. July 3, 2010 11:17 am

    Heck yes, finishing matters! Way to go!!! 🙂
    Good luck with 4 miles tomorrow, I bet you’ll do great!

  4. July 3, 2010 4:36 pm

    Good luck tomorrow!!!!! And have fun at the concert. Sounds EPIC!

  5. July 3, 2010 8:56 pm

    Yay Heather! I was wondering how it had gone. My husband and I were going to run it but neither of us slept well that night and we both felt crappy when we woke up. I’m glad you had fun!

  6. July 4, 2010 9:04 am

    I’ve never even ATTEMPTED a race of any length. I’m not so hot with with running. lol. Good for you for pushing yourself through and finishing. I’m sure you’re rocking it out today! 🙂

  7. Megan Orcholski permalink
    July 4, 2010 12:07 pm

    Hope it went well!!! Proud of you!

  8. Jenn permalink
    July 8, 2010 4:27 am

    I have yet to be brave enough to enter a race. Partly because I have no one to hold my hand… partly because signing up means committing to doing it!
    Way to go Heather!

Trackbacks

  1. MBPA 5K – I Did It « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

