Skip to content

Just a reminder…

July 1, 2010
tags:

Via blackberry.
As I walk to work.
On 3 hours of sleep.

MY FAMILY ARRIVES TODAY!!!!!!
[And I may or may not be incredibly excited about this.]
[I wonder how poorly the spelling in this email/blog will be.] [Also wonder if I will trip while walking and typing this at the same time.]
[If I do, do you think we can convince Oprah to campaign against emailing while walking?] [How many blog posts on the world wide web do you think mention Oprah?]

I got three hours of sleep last night.
[As I said before.]
[And you can probably tell if you’ve made it this far in the blog post.]
Oddly, I’m not as tired as I expected I would be, but that may or may not have something to do with either a) my caffeine intake or b) my excited to see my family.
Or maybe c) “college student Heather” is back from the great beyond of the past, surviving on much too little sleep, and much too many bagels.

Today is my fake Friday.
Faux Friday.
I think that means that today should be trivia day – did you know we play trivia at my office every Friday, hense, Trivia Friday.
By “play trivia” I mean that throughout the day, my boss Jen reads trivia questions to us from the 1989 Children’s Edition of Trivial Pursuit. [It helps if you answer USSR/Soviet Union instead of Russia when applicable.]
Considering I was 5-6 years old, depending on the time of the year in 1989, you may have already guessed that I am not too good at Trivia Friday. I’m not going to deny this accusation.
But I will say that I get about 99% of any Superman questions correct, thanks to Smallville.

Ummm…. I just walked into a tree branch.

Where was I?

Oh, yes – faux trivia Friday.

Let’s play THS Trivia, shall we?
[Don’t you worry it’s the current edition. All questions have been updated through today, July 1, 2010 – Canada Day, 2010.]

Here are the rules:
I will ask questions.
You will comment your answers.
If you get all the questions correctly, you will be entered into a drawing where you can win some fun gifts from me, the Heather of THS.

Ready?

1. Fill in the blank: Heather has a weakness for boys in ________.

2. How many states has Heather lived in?

3. What is Heather’s all time favorite television show?

4. What sports did Heather play in high school?

5. What is Heather’s favorite sports team?

6. What is Heather’s adult beverage of choice?

7. What is Heather planning to do on 10-10-10?

8. What time today will Heather declare she needs a nap?

And on that note, I am at the office. :). Thanks for walking with me!

Wasn’t that fun?

xoxo

Sent on the Sprint® Now Network from my BlackBerry®

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 1, 2010 7:12 am

    1. Sweaters. 🙂

  2. July 1, 2010 8:53 am

    First off – Oprah campaigning against emailing while walking – HILARIOUS!! But really I think she should go for texting while biking, seriously what are those people thinking!! 🙂

    And now to do my best to answer these questions

    1) Sweaters
    2) 4? I feel like maybe its more than that though…
    3) Its gotta be Dawsons Creek right?
    4) Soccer – was there more than that?
    5) Wisconsin Badgers!!
    6) Red Wine.
    7) Is that when your big race is? Otherwise I have no idea.
    8) I’m gonna say 2pm….because that is usually when I feel like I need a caffeine fix, and I certainly would not survive past it on 3 hours of sleep!

    Yay for fun Heather trivia in the morning!

  3. July 1, 2010 10:44 am

    1. sweaters.

    2. 5

    3. Dawson?

    4. soccer

    5. Badgers

    6. wine

    7. Mohawk River Half Marathon

    8. 3pm

  4. liane permalink
    July 1, 2010 10:50 am

    I’m going to preface my answers by telling you that I’ve been up since 6, on a holiday no less, so that I can spend 4 days house hunting. I’m now on the ferry, this being my first time ever in my life taking the ferry and driving my car by myself. Given I’ve lived on this island 99% of my life, it’s quite shocking I have never done this before.
    Where was I?!
    Oh yes, answers…
    1) Sweaters (although can I say sitting behind the WU desk in a suit jacket, tie and cute/smug smile also could be the correct answer?!)
    2)Um… I want to say 3 but I think that is too low… So 5
    3) West wing
    4) Sports? Um… Soccer and field hockey. I have no idea if field hockey is correct, but for some reason 80% of the american born/schooled females I know played field hockey in high school. Weird phenomena. Also, I don’t think I’ve ever played. Clearly, we are so uncool in canada
    5) Based on the picture of your fridge, I say the badgers. I have no clue if its the madison badgers, wisconsin badgers… But their mascot is a badger. What is a badger?! Is it like a marmot type furry animal?!
    6) Anything that leads to “besttt waterr evarh” tweets. (Red wine)
    7) Running a half marathon
    8) Probably well before I’ve finished this essay… So 10AM

    • July 1, 2010 11:02 am

      I loooooooooooooove your answers.
      I am LOLing.

      Sent on the Sprint® Now Network from my BlackBerry®

  5. July 1, 2010 11:53 am

    1. Sweaters

    2. Let’s see… Wisconsin, Texas, Louisiana, New York. 4? Can’t decide if I’m missing one or not.

    3. West Wing (followed by Gilmore Girls. SATC. Etc)

    4. Soccer and I want to say hockey of some sort…

    5. If it isn’t the Badgers, we are no longer friends.

    6. Vino.

    7. Half marathon. I would come cheer you on if I wouldn’t be on a plane back to NY at the same time. Cheering blends on at a big race > 13 hour flight.

    8. 2. Unless you declare it more than once.

  6. Megan Orcholski permalink
    July 1, 2010 1:12 pm

    This post is great. I laughed out loud when you ran into the tree branch. I worried about you, but I also laughed.

    1. Heather has a weakness for boys in ________.
    Apparently the answer is sweaters. But I wouldn’t have known that. I would have said “Lodi” And even thought that might not be the “right” answer, I believe it is still correct.

    2. How many states has Heather lived in?
    Many. (5, I believe) But WI is her favorite-her “home”

    3. What is Heather’s all time favorite television show?
    Dawson’s Creek? I kind of cheated but that’s what I would have guessed….I think you are also a Friends fan. “She’s his lobster!”

    4. What sports did Heather play in high school?
    laughing. Soccer and I’m pretty sure you ran track for at least a year. (if not, I get bonus points for knowing you ran track in middle school). Did you put up with basketball in hs? I’m going with yes. Did you golf? I don’t think so. Did you play volleyball freshman year? I think so….didn’t everyone? it’s very possible I am putting you in the same awful places I was to keep me company in memory… (I wish you all knew me so you could picture Heather and I playing sports together-you would be laughing a lot) oh and you managed everything. Including the musical (if you, skeptical readers, think the musical is not athletic, you have never kept up with the family who ran the musical!) didn’t you manage the dance team for a year? and help manage the wrestlers? I might be making that up….
    soccer, basketball, volleyball, track, managed everything…. (Liane, you have obviously never been to Lodi, for you would know most people there couldn’t describe what field hockey is let alone play it!)

    5. What is Heather’s favorite sports team?
    Now, it is the Badgers. for Liane: http://www.emoboyfriend.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2008/08/emo-badger-save-them.jpg

    But this is heather’s fav.badger: http://www.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://cooldawg2009.files.wordpress.com/2009/05/badgerfootball.jpg&imgrefurl=http://cooldawg2009.wordpress.com/2009/05/13/bucky-badger/&usg=__O9qLExaYkmpkRA-ohkytJz5In-k=&h=600&w=400&sz=51&hl=en&start=2&itbs=1&tbnid=Guhp9k2RN10I0M:&tbnh=135&tbnw=90&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dbucky%2Bbadger%26hl%3Den%26safe%3Doff%26gbv%3D2%26tbs%3Disch:1

    Additionally, I want bonus points for knowing it used to be the Lodi Blue Devils. 😉 And if we were taking a poll of favorite for ALL TIME the Bulls might win….

    6. What is Heather’s adult beverage of choice?
    Wine. But I think a nice little vodka cranberry every once in awhile is nice….

    7. What is Heather planning to do on 10-10-10?
    Be prouder of herself than ever before. (oh, and run a half marathon)

    8. What time today will Heather declare she needs a nap?
    Lunchtime. Though she may have undeclared mini naps in the bathroom or while reading a particularly boring file.

    I may have not gotten all of the answers right, but I got a heck of a lot of bonus points. I deserve prizes for that and of course originality 🙂

    • Megan Orcholski permalink
      July 1, 2010 1:13 pm

      I am LOVING this purple squiggly that accompanies my name!

  7. July 1, 2010 1:56 pm

    i feel like if i get these answers wrong, then i am not a very good friend. and to be honest, i do not know all of the answers correct

    1. sweaters (however i had to cheat and look at the other comments to get this).

    2. i think 5 (Illinois, Wisconsin, Louisiana, Texas and New York?)

    3. the west wing

    4. i think soccer and basketball for awhile

    5. Wisconsin Badgers

    6. red wine

    7. run a 1/2 marathon

    8. if i were you, i would have declared my need for a nap before getting to work. or at least before noon 😉

    with that… have a lovely long weekend with your family!

    love love love

  8. Grant permalink
    July 1, 2010 6:15 pm

    I had the same answers as Danielle. (Although I didn’t have to cheat to answer the first one, and I would have guessed you declared the need for a nap shortly after hitting the tree branch!)

    Enjoy the time with your family. Happy 4th!

  9. kayejohn permalink
    July 4, 2010 2:54 pm

    Non-scout’s honor, I did not look at ANYONE else’s answers! …but I don’t know all of them anyway, so it doesn’t matter. haha. but this looks super fun!

    1. Fill in the blank: Heather has a weakness for boys in ________.
    I had to really think about this one, and come back to it after answering (or trying to answer) the other ones.
    Sweaters, right??

    2. How many states has Heather lived in?
    4? Wisconsin, Louisiana, Texas, NY?

    3. What is Heather’s all time favorite television show?
    Sex and the City?

    4. What sports did Heather play in high school?
    craaaaap. uh. Soccer? that’s all I got.

    5. What is Heather’s favorite sports team?
    The Badgers!!! U of Wisconsin football!

    6. What is Heather’s adult beverage of choice?
    …I have NO idea. Wine? just in general? pah. I know not.

    7. What is Heather planning to do on 10-10-10?
    um. I feel like a bad blog reader. Like surely this is one that I should know.
    Run?

    8. What time today will Heather declare she needs a nap?
    Right after posting this blog?

    and now I’m going to post this comment, go read other people’s answers, and probably comment again afterward.

    • kayejohn permalink
      July 4, 2010 2:59 pm

      If West Wing is correct for #3, I would like to say that really was my second guess! I know you’ve talked a lot about both shows, but I probably picked SatC because I’ve actually seen that one. I’ve never watched West Wing. :/

      I really want to know what sports you played. This one is bugging me.

      and I figured it was something to do with running on 10-10-10…hmm.

  10. July 7, 2010 10:34 am

    Just for funsies, I’m adding my answers in {these things}.
    1. sweaters {Good choice, but I also like em with long hair. But only if they can pull it off.}
    2. 5ish {Permanently? Only 1.}
    3. The West Wing {Psych}
    4. Basketball. Track & Field. {Haha…me playing sports…that’s funny. I’m a pro watching them though.}
    5. BUCKYYYYYYYYYYY. The University of Wisconsin Badgers. {Oh when the SAINTS go marching in.}
    6. Red wine. {Gin & Tonic, don’t tell anyone.}
    7. Run. A race. Maybe a half-marathon. {Be in England, most likely loving it.}
    8. 9:37 a.m. {Not a napper. Wish I was though.}

    • July 7, 2010 10:15 pm

      Just read some of the other answers…..HOW COULD I FORGET SOCCER???? It’s my favoritefavorite. Lame.

      • July 8, 2010 9:54 pm

        I just read all of these. WHERE WAS I LAST THURSDAY?? I have some confidence (although, I may have said Sex and the City or Friends instead of the West Wing) in my answers. I love that everyone knows you so well. 🙂 Also, it made me laugh that Michelle answered what all of her answers would be. Michelle, was it Pappa Jim that introduced you to a gin and tonic?

      • July 9, 2010 1:19 am

        Mary…it WAS Pappa Jim!!! Maybe it was some of that “holiday cheer.”

Trackbacks

  1. The Answers « Then Heather Said
  2. What is an Icosathlon? « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

