Skip to content

SSR 14: Being a Saver

June 29, 2010
tags: ,

Let’s catch you up, just in case you are new here, or forgot, or may have short term memory loss.
A few weeks ago, I took a vacation to Madison. I don’t really call it a vacation, more of a blisscation, because it was so wonderful.

Madison is in Wisconsin, in case you are wondering. It is the best city in the world, if you ask me. It’s also the place I call home, in regards to home being where the heart is and all.

I’m recapping my trip in little parts because I crammed SO MUCH into the 7 days I was in town.  So far I’ve told you about:

SSR1: Greenbush, Wine & Laughter; Oh, my! 
SSR2: Willie Street
SSR3: Meeting my Julie for the first time
SSR4: Blogger Meet-Up Dinner at Bluephies
SSR5: Taking a Newbie to the Dane County Farmers Market
SSR6: Farmers Market Flowers
SSR7: State Street with Friends
SSR8: Madison Marathon Expo 2010
SSR9: Bratfest 2010
SSR10: Town Tour : 90% of the things I love about Madison
Guest Perspective: Savvy Wedding Recaps One and Two
SSR11: Savvy Wedding: my first wedding since the broken engagement
SSR12: State Street with Healthy Ashley 
SSR13: The Meshing : A Party of Epicness

 

And now I’m going to tell you about Monday morning, when we went to Savers.

This may not surprise you if you read the recap of The Meshing, or commented on my drinking the bestt water evertr, but Monday morning, when I woke up, I needed coffee, and  i needed it badly. I also needed two glasses of water before I even got off of the couch.  But after a 30 minute walk to and from an open coffee shop (it was Memorial Day and a few of the closest local places were closed), a good hydration – both in the form of guzzling water and taking a shower, and an informant bringing information of a super sale at Savers, IT WAS ON.

Megan, Kati, Christa and I head to Savers to get our thrift on.  Luckily, I had bore witness to one Miss Healthy Ashley find the perfect ensemble at another Madison thrift store just days before, leaving me with an eagerness like never before to find some good treasures to take back to New York with me.

It would seem that my friends were in on the hunt for themselves as well.

 

 104_3772104_3773 104_3774  104_3776 104_3778 

I think it’s safe to say we all found a few key pieces to call our own.  I spent $7 on 1 purse, 1 belt, 3 t-shirts, a Bucky Badger travel mug, and 2 dishes for bananas. (oh, be intrigued.  you are going to love these things once I put on my “food blogger” hat and try to take some photos for you.) Success was mine.

 

Then it was time to say goodbye to my dear friend, Megan, which of course called for a photo. I’m not too sure why we both look so happy here, as I happen to know that I was quite sad that we had to leave one another. 

104_3779

Megan is one of my favorite people on the planet.  She is such a great friend, a brilliant writer, speaker, performer, and thinker.  I call her my muse, as when I often find myself the most inspired creatively after conversation or time spent with her.  She is one of the most beautiful women I have had the pleasure of knowing, and I am so thankful that we’ve been able to grow in our friendship over the past 15 years.  Even though we are many, many miles apart – she understands me unlike most people who are near me often, and I love her completely.  I can’t until the next time we are together! Turns out that the phone call of fantastic news we were celebrating a few days prior, leads her to her next adventure in life: working at the same college as my little sister this fall! (don’t get me started on how jealous I am that the two of them will be able to see each other as often as they would like in the coming year.)

I want to be like Megan when I grow up.  One of these days, I’m going to make Megan share her brilliance with you through a THS guest post or two.  I think everyone needs to hear what this woman has to say. She is that kind of amazing.

 

Do you have a friend that you wish you could bottle up and share with others?  If I could, I would send a little bit of Meg to each of you.  Who in your life understands you on levels unlike others?  Do you have a person who inspires you to do more, be more, and create more deeply? 

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 10:29 am

    Oh my yes – my sweet and hilarious friend, Allison. I wish everyone could have a bit of Allison in their lives. My sisters understand me on a level nobody that nobody else could ever come close to – DNA runs deep. 😉

    As for inspiration – my fiance’s outlook on life inspires me everyday. I am a better version of me since he’s been in my life and he supports my ideas and goals.

    AND, the healthy living bloggers that I follow inspire me as well. It’s great to see a bunch of women aiming for a healthy lifestyle and supporting each other…even complete “strangers”.

  2. June 29, 2010 11:01 am

    I feel unjustly mocked… I’d like to point out that I knew Madison was in Wisconsin. Of course my knowledge of Wisconsin was pretty much limited to: cheese and the Green Bay Packers.
    On second thought… yah, mock away…

  3. June 29, 2010 10:11 pm

    Friends like that are amazing and should be cherished forever and ever! I am lucky to have someone like that. Actually I have a couple friends like that. I wish they could be with me always, but fortunately distance doesn’t change much. 🙂

  4. gramshugs permalink
    June 30, 2010 9:53 pm

    boy, do i ever…i’ve know her one day less than i’ve know gramps…we argue…disagree…compete (about our familes)…you know whoes does better than whoes…we’ve traveled together…but…WE LOVE EACH OTHER…we share our lives, too the most intimate detail…our fears for our familes…our fears for our selves…the joys and fears of our lives…years can go by and a mere hi brings us back to the here and now of our friendship…

  5. Jenn permalink
    July 1, 2010 1:13 pm

    Yes… and my best friends name is Charlie… HE lives 85 miles away and he can make the stress of my day melt away, just by saying hi.
    He was my friend in high school and we just found each other slight over a year ago after twenty years of not hearing from one another!

    • July 3, 2010 9:00 am

      what a great friendship! i have a few friends from high school who I feel the same way about – it doesn’t matter how often we talk, every time we do I feel calmed and centered. There is something about the relationships that formed when our lives were being “formed” as adolescence, you know?

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

