Skip to content

A-mail, B-mail, C-mail, D-mail

June 28, 2010

An email to all of my friends written on a Monday morning:

Haven’t touched based with you in a while, and so I thought I would send you one of my popular rambling, not really talking about anything in particular emails. (with lots of side notes) I know you are excited.

This weekend, I somehow managed to not be online a whole bunch, which some may say is a miracle.

By ‘somehow managed’ I suppose what I really mean is that I kept myself occupied with a fairly decent sized to-do list and didn’t have my computer up and running the entire time. I didn’t visit the coffee shop once, even though when I sketched out my weekend on Thursday evening, I had planned on going both Saturday and Sunday evenings, to read lots of blogs, to write lots of blogs, to watch some movies on my Netflix instant queue, and respond to 135 emails. Or something.

Instead, I found myself in my 85 degree apartment much of the weekend. a busy little bee crossing things off my list and feeling accomplished.

Isn’t accomplished one of the best feelings? I truly believe that nothing motivates me more than the linger of just having crossed something daunting off my list. I’m not one who stops to celebrate a completion of task with a break or pause or space in time; I’m the girl that feels fueled to reorganize all of her kitchen cabinets after she sorted all of her laundry, after she went through her entire closet (making a goodwill pile as high as Mt. Rushmore), after she cleans out her fridge, after she restructures the organization of her gift wrapping, after she puts all her high school photos in albums, after she matches socks for two hours.

Speaking of, I am no longer allowed to purchase the following:

-Tissue paper, no matter how adorable or how inexpensive

-Journeys socks, as I have an ENTIRE large dresser drawer overflowth of Journeys socks alone

-Sauce/Marinades, until my fridge can properly hold more produce than condiment

-Items of clothing I feel “okay” about, if I don’t love it, it’s not coming home with me- even if it would cost me less money than a latte. Even if it would cost me less money than a cup of house coffee.

All these revelations come after the most belated spring cleaning of my life – so belated, in fact, that we’ve surpassed the longest day of the year, and now I must refer to my weekend as Cleanathon 2010. (Don’t you worry, Organize-a-polluza, is still on the books for this fall.)

You may think that Cleanathon 2010 was a drag of a weekend, but it was actually a weekend full of entertainment. I watched the entire season six of Entourage, along with a Criminal Minds marathon, Classics such as Beetlejuice & Ghostbusters (can you IMAGINE that hybrid of a movie? Someone should get on that) and some good quality (ahem.) E & Bravo reality shows. Also managed to listen to several hours of podcasts while going on a few easy runs and one 7 mile hike. Have you seen anything good lately? I’ve been adding movies to my queue like it’s going out of style!

I would like to say that Cleanathon 2010 appeared out of a desire to cleanse and be cleansed, but truthfully, my family will be in town in just a few short days, and their pending arrival did inspire a bit of a tidying. I am SUPER excited for the weekend with them. The last time the family came up, in September, my little sister had to work and this is the first time she will be coming to the area. Also, my parents rented a lake house about an hour away from where I live and I’m looking forward to a weekend full of family fun and R&R with the four people I love most in the world. Also pretty excited for the Firecracker 4 – a four mile race in Saratoga that I will be running with both of my siblings – Melissa who is 23, and Robby who is soon to be 18 – which is scary in itself. (Seriously – WHEN did that happen?) We are also going to see Chicago and The Doobie Brothers, along with my boss Jen and her husband Jeff, who I adore. They are kind of my like my local-extended family and I am excited for them to get to know my parents and vice versa. Should be pretty epic.

Not sure what else is on the plans for the weekend, other than my planning on drinking some red wine, and hopefully convincing my family to play some board games. (Seriously, I need to find some more local friends that will want to come over for random game nights and not mind my sometimes overly-competitive nature.) And, of course, lots of laughter is in the works as well, I’m sure.

I hope that you can come and visit soon. Seriously – pick a weekend and let me know when you want to experience the little village I call (temporary)home. I may not have couch yet (after a year of living in this apartment: oops), but I do have an air mattress! And I promise I won’t make you run any races with me while you’re here….I mean…unless you want to, of course.

What about you? How was your weekend? Do anything fun? Clean anything, sort anything, organize anything? Have any major revelations?

Love you lots and miss you masses!

xoxoxo

heath

p.s. did you hear that Joe (you remember, Joe Detmer, one of my very best friends from Lodi, right?) got third place in the decathlon at the US Track & Field national championships this weekend? I just have to share the good news – I’m a proud friend, what can I say? Hooray, Joe! (read this great article for more )

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2010 11:32 am

    I applaud you for all of that cleaning and organizing!! That is something that is constantly on my to-do list and most of the time never gets done.

    2 big accomplishments this weekend:
    1) I took my wedding dress to get cleaned and preserved. I got married last December. Yes, that was over 6 months ago. It has been on the to-do list for that long.

    2) I started a blog! The idea is that I try new foods/recipes and blog reviews/reactions. I’m hoping this will be a fun way for me to try new things and diversify my food choices. AND if I decide I’m going to write my opinions, I have to at least taste whatever I make. I’ve only written 2 posts so far, but its fun! 🙂

    Sounds like you have a fantastic family weekend ahead, enjoy!

    P.S. – MIOBI tonight!! Woo Hoo!!

    • June 30, 2010 11:25 am

      Don’t worry about the dress… it took me well over a year before I took mine in… oops!

  2. June 28, 2010 12:47 pm

    Wow, that is an epic cleaning weekend. Impressive!
    Also impressive, that list of shows/movies you watched 🙂

    I don’t have a couch either… I’m just planning on using my living room as a fitness centre and if people want to come visit, they have to bring sleeping bags 🙂

  3. June 28, 2010 6:34 pm

    You’re an amazing writer, by the way. Please consider writing a book some time.

  4. June 28, 2010 6:58 pm

    I cleaned this weekend too! I even scrubbed my kitchen floor. But my “spare room” realllllly needs help before my cousin comes out on Wednesday.

    Considering coming to visit till then? THANKSSSS!

  5. June 28, 2010 7:51 pm

    Go HEATHER!

    I look around my apartment at all the things I’ve been meaning to do and it makes me a little stressed, LOTS of things on my to-do list. But, I did get a dining room table and paint that ugly dresser that you couldn’t see when you were here because it was covered in stuff. Now it only has a plant and a few purposefully placed books on it. : ) How did you get yourself moving, in such a speed, through your to-do list?

    PS Kelly – I too started a blog! : )

  6. June 28, 2010 10:08 pm

    There is definitely momentum that builds once you start a cleaning spree. For me it’s always seeing other people decorate their homes or visiting friends who have exactly the set-up I want that gets me going.
    If you ever visit CA we can play as many games as you can take (seriously we have a ton of games).
    Sounds like a wonderful weekend with your fam – have fun

  7. June 30, 2010 11:27 am

    Yeah for all of the cleaning! I love the feeling of accomplishment that comes with crossing so many things off of the always running to do list.

Trackbacks

  1. Our Fave Blog Posts! #Fitblog Recap |

Leave a Reply

