Skip to content

SSR 13: BBQ Meshing

June 24, 2010
tags: ,

Every time I’ve gone back to Madison since I moved away in 2003, I’ve had one event which I call the Meshing

When I was a junior in high school, I started hanging out with a group of my classmates who I hadn’t really been close to before.  During a ridiculously long phone conversation [honestly – what phone conversation in high school wasn’t ridiculously long?] with one of my longest lasting friends, Justin, a discussion on how to balance my old and new friendships led me to take his suggestion of ‘meshing my two groups of friends together’ to heart.  Soon my two groups of friends were interacting together, and life was perfect. [or something. this is high school we are talking about, here.]

Throughout many different seasons since those high school experiences, I have remembered the experience of meshing different groups of friends together. One place this decision to introduce one group of friends to another is the Meshing evenings that take place when I’m back to visit.

The past Meshings in Madison have all taken place at a restaurant/bar. Friends I’ve known since middle school gather with friends I lived with in college meeting the significant others of the people I consider as close as family, over drinks and appetizers and dessert.  As the hours pass, filled with laughter and story swapping, the bar tab rises and I may or may not be offering my dish washing skills in order to pay the bartender at the end of the night and still be able to travel with some cash in my pocket for my return flight. [ok. not THAT bad, but still. it gets costly.]

This year was different.  When I first started planning my weekend in the Mad-city, my friend Kati had a fabulous idea for this years Meshing; a picnic celebration at her apartment, which is located next to a great park in the city, meshing my friends and hers.   I didn’t need much convincing.

Kati and I went grocery shopping a little less than three hours before we had told guests to arrive, and i must say that I was pretty impressed but all we managed to get done before party time. 

The table was filled with lots of yummy food.

104_3723 104_3718104_3721    104_3726

104_3719104_3727104_3729 

Of course, there was also quite a bit of adult beverage on hand.  I had picked up two bottles of red while at Trader Joes.  The first bottle I opened was this Purple Moon Merlot, and it was fabulous.  Kelly helped me out with this bottle by having two dixie cups worth while chatting.  Yes, that’s right. I said dixie cups.  We are classy.

104_3731

While we were sipping away, Kati and Christa worked on starting the grill. 

  104_3733104_3735

And my dear friends Lynn and Sean arrived with baby Carter in tow. 

104_3736104_3737

I was very excited to meet this adorable little one.

 104_3738104_3739104_3740

One of my very best friends from college, Corrine, also arrived.  I was SUPER sad when I got home and realized I didn’t have any pictures with Corrine from the Meshing! Corrine did play photographer for the rest of the evening however, after I finished off my second bottle of wine and deemed myself unavailable to properly document the events of the evening. Soon, I took up Kajsa’s offer to refill my dixie cup and found my way over to the blanket during the conversation to trump all other conversations.   104_3745 From the moment I met Christa, I knew that she was going to hit it off with Megan instantly.  Early in the evening we started discussing publishing, studies, and performance all involved with gender studies and I was counting down the minutes until Kajsa and Megan arrived to dive into this fabulous discussion.  And when Kajsa and Megan arrived, and sat down across from Kati and Christa, my heart was instantly warm.  It may have been the seemingly bottomless dixie cup in my hand, but I vaguely remember my constant comments to Corrine about how happy I was in this moment. This is what the Meshing was all about.

104_3746104_3746
104_3747

And they lived happily ever after.

 

Until everyone left, and we cleaned up in the dark.
Then Kati and I decided it was a good idea to go downtown.
To the pub. For apparently no other reason other than we could.
To celebrate. You know, my being there.

Kati and stopped many times to take photos of the capital.

Congratulations! You just won a ticket to see “hott mess Heather.”  Yes, I wore yoga pants and a Hanes tank top to the bar. Don’t hate. I was on vacation.

104_3754 
During our trek downtown, we located two of my favorite Madisonians, Lady Forward and Bucky Badger.

104_3760104_3764 

I’m quite certain the 2 mile round trip walk was exactly what my wined-out-self needed at this point of the night. Well, that and  a Qdoba burrito. And of course my “drinking the bestt water evertr.”   

and on that note…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2010 10:20 am

    I’m pretty impressed that you remembered that I had 2 dixie cups of wine! 🙂

    I wish I could have stayed longer!

  2. June 24, 2010 11:34 am

    pssh “hott mess Heather” is totally hot. I’m just sayin’.

    Also, I love this friend meshing thing and have done it myself before! I love that feeling of “hmm. I love this person…and I love this person… and they have these things in common… DUDE.”

  3. June 24, 2010 2:29 pm

    So glad I finally have the back story for that fantastic “bestt water evertr” tweet.

  4. June 24, 2010 9:46 pm

    Love seeing posts with friends, babies, food, and wine!! 🙂 A hot mess?? No way, you look so cute in that photo!!!

  5. Kati permalink
    June 26, 2010 9:48 pm

    I loved the ‘meshing’ as well!

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 14: Being a Saver « Then Heather Said
  2. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said
  3. SSR 18: Paper Deli « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

