Skip to content

SSR 12: Grandeur

June 23, 2010

There are some places in Madison that I love to visit every time I’m in town. 
Some of the places are obvious in their grandeur.

IMG_2787

IMG_2884

Okay. It may not seem so “grand” to those of you who have never been to the Mad-city, but if you haven’t trusted me in anything thus far, trust me in this – State Street is grand.  [Some proof by some people other than me: 1, 2, 3, 4.]

 

There are places I visit on State Street because they will always remain my favorites.  Even though they aren’t local establishments, didn’t appear until my last few months in town, and some people say are over rated.

Luckily, Ashley didn’t find Chin’s, one of my favorite casual dining locales on State Street, albeit a chain,[oh, the horror!] over rated.

IMG_2891104_3698104_3699

Although I try to visit Chin’s each time I’m in Madison, this was my first trip since I’ve started living life making one healthy decision at a time.  Pre-healthier living Heather would have stuffed her face with dumplings, cream cheese puffs, lettuce wraps, and a saucy chicken dish with fried rice. Probably with a soda and two complimentary refills and a fortune cookie, followed by an upset stomach, feeling ill for the remainder of the day.

104_3705

This trip to Chin’s was different.  Better.  Perhaps even the best ever.
Ashley and I split an order of spring rolls and I chose the Indo Coconut Curry Tofu & Vegetable Stir Fry served with brown rice.  I ate slowly.  I enjoyed every bite.  [I want some now, as I remember how much I enjoyed every bite, as a matter of fact.]  Ashley had a gigantic bowl of greens topped with tofu, mandarin oranges, and red peppers; a delicious plate of freshness.

IMG_2892

It’s looking back on meals like this that help me to remember.
Remember that choosing healthier options isn’t as difficult as we sometimes make it out to be.
Remember that tasting each bite is such a better experience than shoveling food into your face for comfort.
Remember that I have in fact come a long way, and am finally fully living the balance.
Remember that it’s as simple as making one decision at a time.

IMG_2895 

Of course, there are some Madison establishments that stand alone on the list of must attend while visiting.  I didn’t dare take my dear vegan friend to State Street Brats, for lunch – but we did stop by Brats to show off our love for the animal kingdom; especially the king of the Wisconsin jungles.

IMG_2777IMG_2776IMG_2779IMG_2780   

Yeah, I’ll just go ahead and say it.  Ashley may just be a Madison girl at heart.

I guess that makes of two of us, my friend. 

IMG_2822

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 6:36 pm

    Was this on wedding day? I seem to remember seeing you two in those dresses 🙂

  2. June 24, 2010 2:13 pm

    What an incredible day! Julie got married that day!!!

    I love your recaps. They bring me back to the most beautiful, romantic place on Earth!

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 14: Being a Saver « Then Heather Said
  2. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said
  3. SSR 18: Paper Deli « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

