Skip to content

Adult Plans

June 18, 2010
tags:

Friday Evening To Do list:

1. Walk home from work.

2. Call Mother during walk home from work.

3. Try not to cry on phone because you miss her so much and wish she was here to help you be an adult.

4. No doubt get great advice from her, as mothers really do know best.

5. Fix dinner: roasted veggies, banana peppers, & hummus on
pumpernickel.

6. Pour glass of wine. After all, you are an ADULT. You are eating your veggies, for crying out loud.

7. Start disc one of Brothers & Sisters season one.

8. Do not choke on dinner while laughing through disc one.

9. Empty closet, storage bins, and dressers onto bed. You can do this on a Friday night, because you are an adult.

10. Pour another glass of wine and get some pretzels and perhaps some sort of dip.

11. Start sorting through clothes.

12. Hang or fold and put away clothing you plan on keeping.

13. Put give away clothes in a box. Discard any childish clothes. A-D-U-L-T.

14. Start disc two of Brothers & Sisters season one.

15. Repeat steps 12 and 13.

16. Eat some mint cookie crumble ice cream. In bed. With lots of pillows. And three blankets.

17. Read self until so drowsy can no longer keep my eyes open, knowing that tomorrow is another day. Remember to thank the sweet Lord for your awesome family. Remind self that mistakes are nothing more than learning opportunities and that the world is not ending because of your foolishness. You can’t become an responsible adult over night, there is a process; this is just part of the process. Drift to sleep, rest yourself. The world will be waiting in the morning.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 18, 2010 3:19 pm

    Hehe, I love this post! When I do things like that I totally feel adult too. Especially the wine part! 🙂

  2. June 18, 2010 3:24 pm

    I love your plans for tonight! Some of my best moments in life have been spent that way – doing something for ME, eating exactly what I choose, toasting myself with a glass of wine, laughing, crying, come what may…

    Enjoy it! 🙂

    p.s. Moms truly are the best.

  3. June 18, 2010 3:27 pm

    Everytime I watch Brothers & Sisters, I wish I was part of a large family with such entertaining dinner parties.

  4. Mary permalink
    June 18, 2010 3:45 pm

    i love this and I for sure have melt downs on the phone with my mom on a monthly basis. oh god.

  5. June 18, 2010 10:44 pm

    Are we the same person?

  6. June 18, 2010 11:32 pm

    Hilarious. Except now I really want mint crumble in bed and I don’t even know what that is!!! PS, I hate being an adult sometime, too 🙂

  7. June 19, 2010 9:52 pm

    Awww..moms know best! I love phone convos with my mom. But i love in person convos with her more. But I’ll take the phone convos if I can’t get the one on one time with her. Growing up sucks. Especially cuz you realize you didnt appreciate her enough when she was always around! Yay moms!

  8. June 20, 2010 5:52 pm

    I think part of being an adult is remembering what it’s like to be a child. Sometimes, we take things way too seriously. We are too reserved, because we like to conjure up all the potential consequences in our heads, so that leaves us sidelined and scared to try new things. I think it’s important to be responsible like an adult, but it’s also essential (and liberating) to play and be bold like children.

    I want mint cookie crumble though! And I have cried on the phone with my mom before while venting about a horrible, stressful job I had. Nothing a good phone call with the mother can’t fix 🙂

  9. Jenn permalink
    June 25, 2010 3:51 pm

    Awesome list!

Leave a Reply

