Skip to content

Urge

June 17, 2010

I urge you; try rye toast with a little butter dipped in ketchup. It’s my favorite way to eat toast, ever.

I urge you; take responsibility for your actions. Wrong doings and mistakes are a lot less offensive when you own up, apologize, learn your lesson, and make forward motion to fix any problems.

I urge you; cross one thing off your to-do list today that you’ve been putting off for a long, long time. It will bring a sense of accomplishment that will fuel your motivation in an unique way.

I urge you; share “I love you”s more often. Be sincere, be vocal. Love makes the world go wrong.

I urge you; write a note of thanks to today to someone who you appreciate. Hand written notes are the best ones, and you don’t need a Hallmark Thank You card to do it – any piece of paper will do.

I urge you; believe you make a difference. Because you do.

I urge you; embrace forgiveness. It lightens your load, and no one is perfect. Extend grace to those who have “wronged” you. Finding it difficult? Remind yourself of times when you have wronged others. It wasn’t your intention to hurt/harm them? You wish you can take it back? Remind this when offering mercy.

I urge you; eat some vegetables. Yes, even you .

I urge you; explore kindness. Throughout your day, look for
opportunities to help or compliment someone.

I urge you; download Wakey!Wakey!’s song, Brooklyn. You’ll thank me later.

I urge you; join the movement .

I urge you; make a plan for the summer to do something in your town that you haven’t done before. Have you visited the historical society? A museum or park you’ve always wanted to visit but haven’t found the time? A guided walking tour? Get a library card? ENJOY YOUR LOCATION.

I urge you; URGE ME to do something that you believe I should do. Go ahead…I’ll wait here….

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 7:36 am

    I will urge others to get to it as well. These are sweet. Ah, great way to start my morning. And I couldn’t agree more with hand written notes, getting personal mail brightens everyone day.

  2. June 17, 2010 8:40 am

    Beautiful post, Heather.

    I urge you to keep being you.

  3. June 17, 2010 8:46 am

    What a lovely, lovely post.

    I urge people to be gentle with themselves.

  4. June 17, 2010 8:52 am

    I urge you to go make that cous cous you bought at Trader Joe’s. Seriously HOW can that be still sitting in your pantry?!? Did you not know that I wrote an ode to cous cous this winter? It’s THAT GOOD.

    Also, I urge you to take a second look in your pantry before you hit the grocery store. Besides the amaz-a-bomb cous cous I find that we often have much more than we think we do and can stretch a little further. I’m all about saving the money!

  5. June 17, 2010 9:55 am

    I urge you to keep up the good blogger work. Rock start of blog land, you are, my Yoda blend.

    I’m picking “cross one thing off your to-do list” – better get to it!

  6. June 17, 2010 12:01 pm

    Wow – I love this! Many of those speak very loudly to me – shouting, really. 🙂
    Thank you.

  7. June 17, 2010 12:40 pm

    This is a great post, Heather. Thanks for urging me to read it. 🙂

  8. Jenn permalink
    June 17, 2010 1:04 pm

    I urge you to keep growing into the person you are becoming. It’s a lovely wonderful sight to see you blossoming!

  9. June 17, 2010 1:55 pm

    I was about 3 seconds away from seriously hurting some people who are MAJORLY testing my patience today, so I took a 2 minute break and ended up scrolling through my google reader and landing on this post.

    I am going to apply kindness.

    And spare them from my wrath.

    They should be thanking you.

  10. June 17, 2010 3:00 pm

    I urge you to be one of my awesome roommates at HLS… oh, wait… you’re already doing that. 🙂

    I urge you to share with me your secrets of being so awesome, so I can be awesome too. Thx.

    PS: Thanks for this: “I urge you; believe you make a difference. Because you do.” I need to remember that.

  11. Kayla J permalink
    June 17, 2010 3:45 pm

    I urge you to fix that typo that totally ruins the meaning you were actually going for.
    “Love makes the world go *wrong*”
    😀

  12. June 17, 2010 8:47 pm

    I’m excited about that toast! I love butter AND ketchup AND rye. I think I’ve found true love.

  13. Ashley permalink
    June 18, 2010 12:25 am

    I urge you to come back to me!

  14. June 18, 2010 12:28 pm

    Wow, great advice!

    I’m making a list of things to do in my own city this summer, most of which I have never done before. I always say this place is lame, but I guess there really is a lot out there is you look for it 😉

  15. June 18, 2010 2:58 pm

    You are a talented writer!

  16. June 19, 2010 10:09 am

    I agree with #3 about crossing ONE thing you’ve been avoiding off your to-do list. It feels SO good. I always have about 3-5 things I put off and dread getting to…even I do just one of them it feels SO much better! I grew up on rye toast…it makes THE BEST grilled cheese everrrr. I urge you to try it 😉

  17. June 21, 2010 11:18 am

    I urge you to give yourself a hug, a real hug, and thank yourself for being there for yourself.

    Because of your post I did something that had been on my to-do list for quite some time, and now it’s no longer hanging over my head – thank you. I also 100% agree with the second one. Accept when you’ve made a mistake, own up to it, and then move on. People respect you more for it and enjoy your company/work-relationship more when they know you own up to mistakes you’ve made.

Leave a Reply

