Skip to content

SSR 9: Bratfest 2010

June 12, 2010

Earlier this week, my friend Kelly pointed me to a new blog that I’ve kind of fallen head over heels for: Taylor Takes a TasteTaylor is a UW Grad, foodie, photographer, blogger, and happened to be back visiting in Madison the same weekend as me.  I am really loving that we are both posting recaps of some of the same places and activities from our trips.  Earlier this week, Taylor shared his trip to Bratfest

After our trip to the expo, Megan, Kajsa and I walked over to Bratfest

104_3571 

Step one upon entering – prove your adulthood!  It’s wristband time.

104_3572 

We headed straight to the beer and brat tents, getting ready for a lunch time picnic in the grass. One of the greatest things about Bratfest, in my opinion, is that the prices are quite reasonable.  Each brat is $1.50.  If one sausage is not enough for you, you can splurge on a $3 “double Johnny” which is two brats on one bun.  Another option that I had to try, was the vegan boa brat.  I purchased a Wisconsin Wheat beer for $5, one brat for $1.50 and one Boca brat for the three of us to split in thirds to taste test for $1.50.

 

104_3575

Kajsa was clearly very excited about her bratwurst.

104_3573 After making our way through the brat tent, we headed straight to the toppings.  The condiment tent is filled with options.  I stuck with simplicity, topping half my Johnsonville Brat with yellow mustard and half with a creamy Italian sauce.  I also topped the Boca brat with ketchup. In my opinion, you really can’t lose with Heinz ketchup.

104_3576 104_3577 
All dressed up and ready to go chow down!

104_3578

We found a nice spot in the grass, near the stage to sit and eat our lunch. The musical acts we listened to while sitting in the grass were…interesting….but the company was fantastic! 

We each took a bite of Boca brat, and agreed that it wasn’t horrible. In my opinion it tasted exactly how you would expect a Boca burger to taste, only in sausage shape.  But we are Wisconsin girls, and we need real bratwurst in our lives!  Brats are one of my favorite summertime foods, and a bratfest lunch with the ladies was a great way to kick off the summer in Madison!

104_3579 After we finished lunch (and disposed of the remainder of the Boca. ahem.) we went on a tasting spree.  We found our way to the Brat Sauce and Mustard Museum vendors to get our taste testing on.

104_3585 104_3584

104_3586 104_3590104_3589   104_3588 I was so tempted to purchase a few jars of the mustard to take home with me.  The mustard in the above photo on the far right is a delicious cranberry mustard I’ve had in my fridge more than once in my lifetime.  And the Bucky Badger honey mustard directly to the left of that cranberry mustard is to die for.  I wanted to take a jar of that along with a bag of Bucky Badger pretzel sticks back to the hotel with me to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner for the remainder of my trip. But I resisted, as Megan thought things over.

104_3587  No mustard purchased this time around – but we did release some creative energy on the Madison Bratfest Mural.

104_3591 
Megan colored the leaves of some trees.
104_3594  
Kajsa worked on one of the kayaks in the lake.

 104_3598 104_3595

I, of course, worked on my magnum opus, the Wisconsin state capital. Truelove.

104_3597

On our way out of the park, we made sure to stop by the grilling area to check out how it’s done.

104_3602 104_3603 104_3604

Not going to try and lie: I would be a-okay with making Memorial Day weekend a annual Madison trip weekend for Bratfest, alone.  It’s totally worth it.  Wanna meet me there in 2011?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. ShugarDAD permalink
    June 12, 2010 9:25 am

    I’m really hungry now!!!

  2. cookeatburn permalink
    June 12, 2010 11:46 am

    It’s on :-D!

  3. June 12, 2010 11:51 am

    I just found that blog too, and love it 🙂

    …ah, the mustard museum. I’ve ordered from them before, and would recommend to anyone who is a mustard freak like me…

    looks like fun, and now I’m hungry ! 🙂

  4. June 12, 2010 12:46 pm

    I am SO SO happy to see Cleveland’s own Ball Park Mustard in that taste testing!!!

  5. June 13, 2010 1:16 pm

    Ah. Mah. Gah. There’s nothing like a mustardy brat and an ice-cold pint…I would’ve LOVED that event!

  6. June 13, 2010 7:43 pm

    Wow I am totally a mustard freak!!!! I can imagine that i’d fall in love with the shelf of mustards and not leave until i’ve tried every flavor. 🙂

  7. June 14, 2010 12:28 am

    Coloringgg <3!

  8. gramshugs permalink
    June 14, 2010 12:30 am

    what time should we meet you

  9. June 15, 2010 10:56 am

    What fun!! I love that mural!! Your part looks fabulous!! 🙂

  10. June 15, 2010 11:13 pm

    Soo…..I may or may not have ever tasted an actual bratwurst. Perhaps it’s because I turned my nose up at anything that seemed to be too “spicy” for my tastebuds growing up. And EVERYTHING was spicy in my know-it-all mind.

    Between you and Jess, I am discovering many foods I am clearly missing out on. And although meat probably isn’t on the menu for a blogger sleepover, perhaps the night could be a cap off of a wonderful cook out during the day? In Madison? Next summer? For Bratfest? Just a thought. (And a good one at that)

    mm. mhmm. mm.

    Oh and when Andrew and I make the roadtrip to see you, we shall bring…..goat cheese from Whole Foods AND Trader Joe’s. Sound like a good deal?

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 10: Heaps: Joe, Monroe, What-do-you-knoe? « Then Heather Said
  2. SSR 14: Being a Saver « Then Heather Said
  3. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said
  4. SSR 18: Paper Deli « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

