Skip to content

SSR 8: Expo

June 11, 2010

Megan and Kajsa are not healthy living bloggers.
Megan and Kajsa are two of the healthiest women I know.
Megan and Kajsa don’t have any plans to run a marathon, or a half marathon, or a 15K.
As a matter of fact, Megan hates running. Despises it. Seriously questions how I could want to run for fun.

I took Megan and Kajsa to the Madison Marathon Expo
And, I’m quite certain, they kind of loved it.

 

Heading to the expo, there were no major expectations.  I didn’t try to over-explain what the girls were about to experience.  I told them there would be booths of things to buy, and promised them we could try to find Ashley. But I didn’t make any promises up front.  I think this was the key to getting them into the door.  Curiosity!

104_3535

Immediately upon entering the expo, we started the search to find this lovely face, working the bondi band booth:

104_3537
Along the way, we also found this lovely face!  (Reminder – all these wonderful women met the night before at dinner!)

104_3538

After spending many, many minutes choosing which Bondi Bands we wanted to purchase, Megan and Kajsa learned there is more to the marathon expos than athletic apparel – Kajsa found a kitchenware demonstration offering free food.  Megan approved. There were a few other booths offering food samples as well; we were all happy to taste some samples.

104_3542

 

setting: Bondi Band table. Megan is sorting through piles of headbands deciding which to purchase. Kajsa appears, seemingly out of nowhere.

Megan: Hi! Where have you been?
Kajsa: Oh my gosh!  Megan! You have to come with me! They are offering free foot scans!
Megan: what’s a foot scan?
Kajsa: I’m not really sure…but I think it’s some sort of scan of your foot! COME ON!

*Megan and Kajsa run off in excitement!
 

104_3546104_3553

While Megan sought advice from the Doctor, Kajsa found herself into the free massage chair.  Grad school = tightness!

 104_3555104_3556

Frozen yogurt “milk mustaches” were adorned for a photo with the Dean’s cow and BUCKY!

104_3543

 

My favorite expo experience is a tie:

-Each booth we approached on our tour around the expo, the vendor would ask us “So, which one of you ladies is running tomorrow?”  The look on their faces as we, in unison, sweetly voiced “none of us” was priceless.

-Watching a reader approach Ashley at the table, excited to meet her.  And Ashley introducing me as, “do you know ThenHeatherSaid?”

 104_3570

10 Comments leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 12:20 pm

    I kinda love that you are spreading out your recaps. Every time a new one goes up, I remember how fun that weekend was ( I can’t believe that I got to see you 4 different times!) and it brings a smile to my face. 🙂

  2. June 11, 2010 1:17 pm

    I didn’t know you can go to expos even if you aren’t running. I totally want to go to the Philly Distance Run one even though I can’t run the race due to injury.

    But looks like you had a blast!

  3. June 11, 2010 2:54 pm

    It’s official I am going to crash as many expos as I can. I lovee free food 🙂

  4. June 12, 2010 6:01 am

    haha I love how you told the lady none of you were running tomorrow 🙂

  5. June 12, 2010 10:49 pm

    Those Bondi Bands look cute! I think I might need one.

  6. Jenn permalink
    June 14, 2010 2:53 pm

    I shared the Bondi Bands with my SP teams. I can’t usually wear headbands but may just need to try one of these!

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 10: Heaps: Joe, Monroe, What-do-you-knoe? « Then Heather Said
  2. SSR 14: Being a Saver « Then Heather Said
  3. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said
  4. SSR 18: Paper Deli « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

