Skip to content

SSR 6: DCFM Flowers

June 7, 2010

IMG_2622

Living in Madison, at the start of the school year, Saturdays were often spent on the square, brunching on fresh bread, cheese, and produce from the stands.  Each week during my trip down to the capital square, I would find a selection of blooms to add to my dorm room or apartment. 

My favorite flowers have long been gladiolas.  I know, with out a doubt, that the gladiolas became my favorite flower thanks to autumn trips to the farmers markets, and the many many large selections of various colors I would bring back to campus with me each week.  When I was planning my time at DCFM during my vacation, I was slightly saddened that I wouldn’t be able to take a paper wrapped selection of stems back to my apartment with me, to assure bright smiles through out the week.  I was also a little heart broken that I wouldn’t be able to gaze upon the autumn blossoming glads around the square. Heartbroken, that is, until I saw all the spring time blooms around the square.

There is no way I would ever be able to select just one bundle of beauties to bring back with me, even if given the option to carry them hassle-free through out town for three days before my departure to NY without harm. So many beautiful choices!  [and this is only a tiny selection of what’s available!]

 

IMG_2625IMG_2586 IMG_2588 IMG_2594 IMG_2614104_3522

What is your favorite kind of flower?  When was the last time you treated yourself to a fresh cut bouquet for your living quarters?  I’m quite sure my time at the Dane County Farmers Market has inspired a summer full of freshness in my apartment!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 7, 2010 11:26 am

    So yesterday after we spoke about my lack of Farmers Market I definitely had a craving for fresh flowers for the house. Just from thinking about all of the wonderful things that I am missing at the market. The DCFM really is the best place to get fresh, beautiful flowers.

  2. June 7, 2010 11:41 am

    That last picture is the stand where we bought the memorial flowers for our wedding!

  3. June 7, 2010 12:33 pm

    pretty! my favorites are peonies and they’r blooming in my yard right now!

  4. June 7, 2010 7:31 pm

    I love lilacs!!!!!

  5. June 7, 2010 10:08 pm

    Those are some BEAUTIFUL flowers. I walked past a farmers market in D.C yesterday but I need to find a local one for sure 🙂

  6. Care Bear permalink
    June 7, 2010 11:40 pm

    oh you are making me miss home! I did get a lil taste of our beloved farmers market when Hilary brought me fresh Peony’s (my FAVE flower) when she visited me at the beach last week I now have a craving for spicy cheese bread and fresh cheese curds…mmmm…mmm..GOOD:)

  7. June 8, 2010 1:30 pm

    I think having fresh flowers is such a lovely idea. One I will adapt soon 🙂 Besides, they just add to the happiness of living everyday! Great post.

  8. June 9, 2010 12:27 am

    Those flowers are beautiful! I wish I could buy fresh flowers every week. I just LOVE them. my favorite are geber daisies… I just love the fun colors.

  9. June 9, 2010 2:45 pm

    Those are beautiful! I love fresh cut flowers. I even designated a spot in my garden as a “cut-flower section” I can’t wait for them to bloom, but being in upstate New York means I’ll have to wait until summer is well underway!

  10. June 10, 2010 2:36 pm

    Am I the only girl who dislikes flowers? Well, not dislike…but unappreciative. I’d rather have something I can eat. Selfish and greedy, right?

    • June 10, 2010 5:04 pm

      i must admit – I would probably choose food over flowers a lot of time! but when I can have both, i’ll take both. (although – confession – I dont EVER want to receive roses from a guy – i think its a tad past cliche. especially red. i need creativity in my romance! i’d rather have flowers drawn with crayon on a bar napkin!)

      • June 16, 2010 10:06 pm

        I’m with you about the flowers Heather. Roses are way overrated. Maybe it’s partially becuase to me, the kind of roses you buy in a bouquet never really seem like “fresh cut” flowers.

        Come on guys, get more creative with your romancing! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 10: Heaps: Joe, Monroe, What-do-you-knoe? « Then Heather Said
  2. SSR 14: Being a Saver « Then Heather Said
  3. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said
  4. HLS Recap: Ethical Eating – Meaty « Brownies and Zucchini

Leave a Reply

