Skip to content

SSR 4: Bluephies Blogger Meet Up

June 6, 2010

Friday night, after an afternoon of fun viewing SATC2 with my high school friends, Megan and Kajsa, Julie and I met up with Ashley to attend a Blogger Meet Up dinner at Bluephies.  Bluephies is only a few blocks from Edgewood College, where I attended my freshmen and sophomore years, and is a place I often find myself when I am back in town because it’s close to campus and a great place to stay and chat a while long after you’ve finished eating.  It’s also one of Julie’s most favorite places in Madison and has an easily customizable menu to help tailor to any vegetarian/vegan needs, so it seemed like a perfect fit when we were planning the meet up.

IMG_2526

We had a few Madisonian bloggers and readers who weren’t able to make the dinner, but that didn’t stop us from having bunches of fun!  In attendance for dinner: 

IMG_2529IMG_2531DSCF3831104_3499 
Yours truly, Kelly, Ashley & Julie.

 

I ordered a glass of merlot offered on the dinner specials menu, and then had a heck of time deciding what I wanted to eat.  Ok. That’s not entirely true. After reading the menu for about 90 seconds, I was committed to TWO side dishes but thought that perhaps I should have some sort of entre as well.  I noticed the option that you could make any burger on the menu a set of two sliders for $4, and thought it was a nice way to bulk up my dinner. I had a hard time deciding between all the yummy options!

bluephies one

bluephies two 

I finally settled on the black bean burgers, and wasn’t disappointed! These little guys were packed with flavor. 
104_3493 I only ate one of the sliders, however, because these guys stole.the.show. Introducing the most delicious plate I met in all my days – asparagus frites with honey mustard dipping sauce.

104_3494

I also ordered a side plate of sweet potato fries, which were quite tasty, but didn’t even compare to the asparagus frites.

We had great conversation going on at the table throughout dinner, and I really enjoyed my time with the ladies.  For dessert, I ordered another glass of wine and a piece of carrot cake, which was so rich and wonderful that I could barely eat half of it. 

Even more rich and wonderful was the in-depth conversation on blogging, blogger-reader relationship, social media, anonymity, and more that took place when my friends Megan and Kajsa showed up to join us.  As I mentioned recently, Megan just defended her thesis, which included a lot of research and performance of blog monologues.  Kajsa is working on her dissertation at the UW, and has been studying communication and new media for years.  I’m quite confident that Megan and Kajsa were as interested in us as bloggers and readers, as we were with them studying us! 

 
  DSCF3829DSCF3834     104_3500  

I had such a fabulous evening with these ladies!  I would love to set up some more discussion between bloggers and non-bloggers who are so interested in the community from a scholarly perspective.  I think we could have asked one another questions for hours!  (we actually were the last group in the restaurant, 45 minutes after they closed!)  After speaking with Kajsa about our conversation later in the weekend, I learned that she had gained a lot of information and inspiration for the next project she hopes to work on from our discussion on the encouragement and support we as healthy living bloggers lend one another in this community.  I think it’s pretty awesome and can’t wait to learn more about her ideas!

IMG_2565 

 

It’s really interesting to me to think about how there are groups of people, classes, and projects studying what is such a big part of my life!  Would you like to be included in future discussions and surveys?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 6, 2010 4:45 pm

    I would love to be included and am very interested in learning more!

  2. June 6, 2010 5:51 pm

    Aaaawww I had a fabulous time with you all too!!

    Also, I would definitely be interested in participating in any kind of blogger/reader relationship related things.

  3. June 6, 2010 7:07 pm

    Yes! I went to a D.C blogger meet up today! Why are bloggers the most amazing people EVER?

  4. June 7, 2010 7:19 am

    I love blogger get togethers. Allison at Green Dog Wine coordinates our group of Cleveland bloggers for a monthly meet up. Anyone is invited, and many times, bloggers bring their non-blogger friends. It makes for interesting conversation on that topic, but we always get off of “blog land” topics. I feel like we’re a group of old friends – even though we’ve only done these for two months!

  5. June 7, 2010 7:30 am

    I would be interested! Our conversations at dinner were so much fun!

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 8: Expo « Then Heather Said
  2. SSR 14: Being a Saver « Then Heather Said
  3. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said
  4. SSR 18: Paper Deli « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

