Skip to content

SSR 3: A Very Savvy Meeting

June 1, 2010

When friends and blends alike find out that Julie and I hadn’t met until this past Friday, there are usually one of three reactions.

1) Conversation continues on at normal pace until informed party holds up hand and says, “Wait. Just a second. You haven’t even met her yet/until now?”

2) Informed party asks if we “are sure we haven’t met before.”

3) Speechlessness.

Julie and I first connected last fall.  I believe it was sometime in October when she left a comment on my blog saying she had found me through a link Caitlin posted on Operation Beautiful. I decided to check out her blog, saw she lived in Madison, my homesweethome, and the rest was blistory. (blog history). Ironically – we later realized we started our blogs on the very same day.  Could it be blestiny? blate? blent blo be? (no? too much? i digress.)

At the time, I was blogging by blackberry, and didn’t spend a lot of time on the internet in general.  But once I got my netbook from Santa Clause, Julie and I spoke just about daily on gchat – and I have her to thank for a lot of the positive changes I’ve made to Then Heather Said.  THANKS, Julie!

It’s not unlikely for a non-blogger to be surprised that I considered someone I hadn’t met yet to be such a good friend.  But I did find it very interesting that a lot of fellow bloggers were shocked to hear we hadn’t met before.  Ashley pointed out this weekend, that she assumed we were friends from before I ever left Madison who both decided to blog from far away from one another. Not the case.

What was the case, however? 

A very special exchange of first phone call, first hug, first in person meeting.
And my dear friend, Megan, documented it for us 🙂

 104_3484

Here is a photo of Julie walking towards us from the apartment courtyard.  Funny thing is, the last time I was in Madison for more than one day, I stayed at these very same apartments with my good friend, Kajsa.

104_3488

Sometimes people don’t understand how you can feel so close to someone you’ve never met.  After many explanations this weekend, I realized that mine and Julie’s friendship is a lot like two people who work in the same field, but in different offices across the country, who work on a lot of projects together. Gradually, over time, you get to know a person through every day emails, and Gchats.   

104_3485

It was such a natural experience to hug Julie the first time I met her.  I really feel like I’ve known her a super long time.  We talk everyday – of course we discuss blogging.  We submitted a proposal to speak at a summit together.  We encourage and support and help one another to make our time and effort in our blogging better – but also, in other areas too. 

104_3487

Julie and I share struggles and successes with one another.  We discuss issues on what’s going on around us, and both have strong desires to make the world a better place.  She is a strong, creative woman who brings out the good in me.  Julie is savvy! She knows when I need to take two minutes to vent, and then reminds me that venting is not getting me anywhere new.  She helps me to move forward.

104_3489

We also share books and bites of dessert, but that’s another story for another day.

  104_3486

  [this photo of me is a little ridiculous.
clearly, you see this.
I’m sporting the goofy
"I’m meeting Savvy Julie” grin.
the sun is in my eyes, and  I am all squinty.
I am holding leftovers from Lazy Jane’s.
also,
it would seem,
that perhaps,
my one carry on and one personal item
that I raved about packing for the plane
had somehow become about 7 bags.
all in about 17 hours.
ahem. 
but doesn’t Julie look dazzling?
and savvy?
I just couldn’t not post it.
that’s what blends are for.]

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 4:42 pm

    I confess, I was one of the “Wait, what?” people.
    Seriously. I thought you all knew each other from when you resided in Madison 🙂
    Clearly, I should never assume! 🙂

  2. June 1, 2010 4:45 pm

    I love you both! But I’m not suprised your didn’t meet before.. but I think it’s because I knew (maybe I was suprised when I found out??) ANYHOW. You both are warm and wonderful people.. of COURSE you’d be best blends!!

  3. June 1, 2010 4:48 pm

    I’ve only met one blogger (Marianne of From French Fries to Flaxseeds) and it went brilliantly!!!!! It was like we’d known each other a super long time.

    Honestly, I can’t wait until my next meet-up in a couple of weeks with two fellow bloggers in Banff!!! WOOHOO!!!!

  4. June 5, 2010 8:34 am

    So super cute! Ahhh explaining the blog friends…too funny! Love the last photo + explanation…hilarious. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. SSR 14: Being a Saver « Then Heather Said
  2. SSR 17: Noodles with Company « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

