Skip to content

More Than: Christie of Honoring Health

May 20, 2010

[Not familiar with all this “More Than” business?  Check out the details of the More Than Series. ]

Hello Then Heather Said readers! My name is Christie and I write the blog Honoring Health which is a blog devoted intuitive eating and holistic health. I am excited to participate in the “More Than” series because that is my message too! I believe that health is about much more than the food we eat or the miles we log on the treadmill. Health starts in the mind and I am living proof that with a healthy mind, a healthy body will follow. I’ve struggled with disordered eating since I was about eight years old and by the time I was 25, I was 220lbs and miserable. Since then, I have been on a quest that has completely changed my life.

I started my journey with a mission to lose 100lbs with little regard to health, I just wanted to be thin. Unfortunately, the yo yo dieting that ensued as a result of that mindset just made my disordered eating patterns worse. I’d binge in backlash against my current diet and allowed the world of dieting to cloud my mind with rules. Rules that I never seemed to be able to follow. Eventually, I stumbled onto the concept of intuitive eating and that maybe by body was the only thing I needed to trust. I started my blog and the things I have learned since than have been nothing short of amazing.

In the process of learning to listen to my body, I’ve found that taking care of myself has to be my number one priority. My motto is that self care is the most important care. Without self care, I treat my body poorly and make choices that don’t coincide with my overall goal of health. Some of the ways I’ve learned to take care of myself are:

  • a spiritual practice that includes yoga and meditation
  • no holds barred blogging
  • cultivating rewarding relationships
  • coloring mandalas
  • moderate exercise
  • making jewelry
  • talk and group therapy

Through these things, I’ve learned who I am and how to honor myself. And while I’ve had some major ups and downs along the way, as my ability to really care for myself grows, so does my overall health. Most recently, I’ve started to lose weight without even trying. I’m just listening to my body and taking care of myself in a way that works for me. But the best part of all of this is that I’m actually happy with who I am and the size that I am. Sure, I still have days where I think about how awesome it would be to be lighter but now, I just use those sort of thoughts as a tool in awareness that maybe my self care isn’t really where it should be. That is the really awesome part of it all, being aware that it is about so much more than food and exercise is really the key to good health.

christie

You can read more about Christie and her journey by checking out her blog. You can also keep up with Christie’s thoughts of 140-characters or less by reading her twitter feed.

Christie posts super yummy looking recipes, honest personal stories of healing, learning to eat intuitively and her love and practice of yoga. But the goodness does not end there! Head over the Honoring Health and read what Christie has to share today!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 7:03 pm

    great post Christie! I love that your guest blogged here. As always I love your message, self care IS the most important care there is! Thank you for reminding us how important it is!

  2. May 21, 2010 4:39 am

    Thanks for allowing me into your space, Heather! I enjoyed writing this post!

  3. May 22, 2010 9:25 am

    Love this post!

    Christie – I agree with you 100% – love your motto – Self Care is the most important care. I think too often, we as women, especially, forget this most important thing.

    I also have to say, I love mandalas – I work in the area of weight management, and we have a great art therapist who has used them with our groups – you’re reminding me that I need to do them again.

    Thanks for a great post!

Leave a Reply

