Skip to content

I Dare You

May 19, 2010

 

First off all, I can’t say thank you enough for all your support, encouragement and inspiration you shared on my last post. I am a firm believer that just as every human “just wants to be loved and needed,” we also are constantly searching, whether we are aware of it or not, for someone we can relate to; similar stories, similar interests, similar struggles, and similar victories.  I am an advocate for embracing and celebrating diversity in every relationship – but I love to find those common threads that tie me to people I meet, know and love. 

 

Caitlin asked yesterday if she could post my Overweight Admission post on Operation Beautiful yesterday – What a great opportunity to share my story with other people who may also relate!  Go check out the post on the OB Change the Way You See section!

 

I DARE YOU to remember that each of us has a story. 
Every person you meet is going through something
I DARE YOU to give your smile to those you meet.
A smile from you may just be a simple act of gentleness that someone NEEDS to see.
I DARE YOU to compliment the people you see today.
Genuinely open up to those you see on what you like and appreciate about them.
I DARE YOU to be kind to yourself today, too.
Celebrate who you are.  Thank your body, heart, and mind. Be true.

THEN PASS IT ON.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2010 9:39 pm

    Love, love, LOVE this. I was in the elevator the other day at work, mind going a million miles a minute about something stupid, when a woman walked in and started chatting with me. I’m usually annoyed by small talk, but I still smiled politely and listened. Turns out she was a breast cancer survivor (I work at a cancer hospital) and was going in for her first post-chemotherapy mammogram to make sure there was no additional disease.

    All my stupid worries and stressors flew out the window once she started talking, and I felt like a jerk for even considering tuning her out. She was terrified and just needed someone to smile, wish her luck and think good thoughts for her. I hope I was able to comfort her and help her in some way, because she certainly helped me get out of my head that day and find some much-needed perspective.

  2. May 20, 2010 7:42 am

    I’ll take your dares 🙂 I’ve been trying to live by those mantras recently – being nicer in general to others, and to myself. Living with a more positive attitude affects everyone around you so why not? It takes so much energy to be negative, and the benefits of being nice and positive – not just to others, but to yourself as well – are fruitful and worth every second 🙂

    Great post – am absolutely adoring your blog 🙂 xox

  3. May 20, 2010 9:06 am

    I love that you say you “dare” us to do those things. The list you made seems like things that we should do anyway, you know? But I for one definitely find myself in a constant “safety zone” where I do and say and think the same things day in and day out. I want to be DARED to change that. I want to be CHALLENGED to treat others and myself better; because as much as I wish that was part of my second-nature…it’s not.

  4. May 21, 2010 8:17 pm

    I am going to dare myself to get INSPIRED this summer!

  5. May 22, 2010 12:56 pm

    I’ll take this dare, pretty lady 🙂

Leave a Reply

