Skip to content

Today

May 14, 2010

Today I will be productive, without apologies.
I will do the things that have sat on my to do list for far too long because they are tasks I dread accomplishing.
I will ask the questions I’ve been too afraid to ask.
I will feel accomplished with each line of the steno pad I cross off as the day moves forward.
I will approach today with vigor and determination.

Today I will eat, without apologies.
I will not defend my lunch choices to men in my office who think that a black bean burger is a sin.
I will not explain my desire for two cookies or a soda or an overly processed bag of salty, crunchy snack.
I will not hide my choices from anyone, as they are my choices and I stand by them.
I will make a healthy choice and stand firm in it.

Today I will fight off anxiety, without apologies.
I will not fear what is going to happen if I do or do not do A, B or C. I will not overanalyze what everyone is thinking, saying, or feeling in response to what I do or do not say.
I will not pretend that I am more important, or less important, than I am.
I will remember that the world does not revolve around me, but this moment is relevant.

Today I will probably listen to my iPod while doing mindless tasks at my desk.
Today I will probably respond to tweets belatedly.
Today I will probably run three miles.
Today I will probably defend someone I don’t know.
Today I will probably still be freaking out about last nights Private Practice and the preview for next week’s Greys.
Today I will probably learn a random trivia fact about one of the first 14 presidents of the United States.
Today I will probably not drink enough water.
Today I will probably fail at returning phone calls.
Today I will probably take at least one photo.
Today I will probably roll my eyes.
Today I will probably have good intentions that fall to the wayside. Today I will probably misuse at least three big words.
Today I will probably be homesick.
Today I will probably misplace my phone.
Today I will probably crave.
Today I will probably change.
Today I will probably grow.
Today I will probably declare.
Today I will probably share.
Today I will live.

What will you do today?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 7:31 am

    Today I will probably get a sunburn watching the kids play at Rocket Celebration Day. And I will love every minute of it.

  2. May 14, 2010 8:29 am

    Today, I will also be freaking out about PP last night and Grey’s next week. Because, you know, it’s real life.

  3. May 14, 2010 12:08 pm

    I loved this 🙂

    Today, I will walk my sweet little puppy and be grateful we were able to rescue her from a shelter. anf of course I’ll drink green tea… again 😉

  4. Kelly permalink
    May 14, 2010 12:48 pm

    Today I will plant the plants that I bought 2 weeks ago since it finally stopped raining! Yay for sun in the sky! 🙂

  5. liane permalink
    May 14, 2010 1:59 pm

    Today I will walk to the running store and drop off my registration for the Half Marathon I will run in 148 day. (not that I’m counting or anything…)
    Today I will watch Grey’s and PP and see what all the fuss is about

  6. May 14, 2010 3:42 pm

    Today I will spend most of my time playing with Baby A. When I’m not doing that, I am pretending to do things on my to do list… order pictures, update resume, apply for jobs, yard work, etc.

    I haven’t watched last night’s Greys or Private Practice yet. Now I think I might have to add that to my do asap list!

  7. May 14, 2010 6:10 pm

    I SOBBBED my eyes on in PP! It was soo real….

  8. traveleatlove permalink
    May 15, 2010 9:01 am

    Today I will not think about work or obsess over blogging! I will just enjoy a beautiful spring day. Haha YESTERDAY at work I thought my eyes would be stuck in a perma eye roll. 🙂

  9. May 15, 2010 2:44 pm

    Love this!!

    Today I will do what I want…when I want…all day.

    Great post!!

  10. acomo permalink
    May 18, 2010 4:28 pm

    Today I will discover an awesome and inspiring blog called “Then Heather Said” 🙂

    And then I will go do something I’ve been putting off.

    And then bring that inspiration back to my evolving blog/online identity/growth process.

  11. Kim permalink
    May 18, 2010 6:49 pm

    Thank you

Leave a Reply

