Skip to content

More Than: Gym Belle

May 10, 2010

The first step is admitting you have a problem, right?  Well, my name is Gym Belle and I take on too much.
If you know me from my blog, you know that I am passionate about working out.  I check out new gyms and new classes all the time.  Have a fitness challenge?  Send it my way.

What you may not know is that I’m an attorney, a volunteer SAT tutor, and a dog mommy (she’s six and the smartest, best dog ever).  I blog in "spare" time that I generate by avoiding sleep and laundry.

When I first spoke to Heather a few weeks ago about doing my "More Than" post, I told her that I wanted to talk about balance and not taking on too much.  I must have known that I was headed for a meltdown of sorts.

As it turned out, a week ago last Tuesday morning, I woke up with searing pain in my left shoulder.  (The exact cause is still a mystery. has been discovered since first sending this post to Heather)   I’m a make it work kinda gal, so I decided to skip my morning workout and just go to the office early.  I brought my gym clothes with me thinking that I’d go in the evening when the pain subsided.  It didn’t, but I repeated this plan all week, hoping that it would just feel better.  When I woke up Saturday, it hurt, but not so bad.  So, I ran.  After all, I’d already taken four days off and if I don’t work out, I can’t blog. On Sunday, I took a class at Physique 57.  I promised myself that I’d use lighter weights than usual, but I didn’t.

I was an idiot.

I woke up Monday in serious pain.  Once again, I took my gym clothes to work hoping that it would get better by the end of the day.  I knew CrossFit wasn’t going to happen, but I thought maybe I could handle Bikram.  I tried Advil, heating pads, acupuncture, cupping – anything that I thought might relieve the brutal throbbing.  Nothing worked for more than twenty minutes.

It wasn’t until Wednesday evening, when I was literally sitting in my office sobbing as I edited a contract that I finally "got it."  I had to stop, and that meant more than skipping the gym for a few days.  I had to stop typing, stop working, and stop trying to cram three days’ worth of activities into every day.  I had to give my body time to heal or it simply wasn’t going to.

Thursday, I took my very first sick day.  I mostly slept.  I stayed home Friday, too.  Amazingly, with rest, (and some Valium) the muscles in my shoulder finally started to relax.  As it turns out, I’m probably looking at a few weeks of physical therapy to undo all the damage, but I’m finally on the right track.

I wish I could tell you that I’ve totally learned my lesson, but life’s not like that and old habits die hard.  I ran a 5K on Saturday that I couldn’t bear to skip, and typing this now is aggravating my shoulder.  Still, I’m making progress.  For one thing, I’ve learned that the world won’t collapse if I spend a day or two in bed.  Work managed just fine without me as far as I know.  My blog readers didn’t abandon me overnight because the posts stopped (thank you!).  And, while I feel "gross" from not having worked out, I’m fairly certain that that’s mostly in my head.  As it turns out, a lot of things really can wait.

gymbelleYou can read more about Gym Belle at her blog, Gympressions, which recently celebrated it’s one year anniversary!

You can also follow Gym Belle’s thoughts of 140-characters or less, by following her twitter feed

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2010 10:38 am

    This is a great post! I too take on too much and then when I can’t get everything accomplished, I feel bad about myself. But, like you, I can’t do everything! AND the world will go on even if we let something slide. Good for you for listening to your body. (And you have sick days for a reason 🙂

  2. May 10, 2010 8:02 pm

    This is so me. I’m known for pushing too hard until I have to stop. I think the world will end. And lately I’ve had to slow downs since I’ve pushed too hard. But it’s a learning process.

  3. May 12, 2010 6:52 am

    Gym Belle, it was so great to learn a little more about you!! Thanks Heather for continuing this series.

Leave a Reply

