Skip to content

All I am

May 9, 2010

All I am I owe to my Mother. I attribute all my success in life to the moral, intellectual and physical education I received from her. – George Washington

momandme 1987   

I’ve been trying for a few hours to write something here about my mom. I can’t do it. I keep starting paragraphs and lists and sharing of stories, but then I realize I am not doing her justice with my words and I delete it all to start again.

I can’t put into words the amount for love that I have for her.  I can’t sum everything up in a little list of reasons why I am so lucky to have her in my life.  I can’t put together a paragraph on all the things she gave up to give me everything she could as I have grown over the years. I can not share with you all she has taught me, because I am sure you do not have that much time to read such an essay, for it would be longer than anything you’ve ever read. I am sure of it.

All that I can say is that as I sit here, going on the third hour of trying to compose this post, with tears rolling, is this truth; I love my Mom, and I have never, ever been unsure of her love for me.  That is what I hope for everyone.  That they can be as sure of the love from their mother, as I have from mine. 

 DSCF2100 

Thank you, Mom.  I love you.

 

 

I am so thankful for my beautiful, loving Grandmothers.  
I am grateful that they have raised children to become the parents that I love so much.

granma burton gshug

Thank you, Grandmas. I love you, both.

 

 

Mothers are strength.  Mothers are love. Mothers are beauty.
I am amazed every day by my Mommy friends.
They are strength. They are love. They are beauty.
I know that I am not capable of what they are doing.
They are superheroes, and I applaud them.

babya and danimarywithadelineisa and ash

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2010 5:05 pm

    What a lovely post 🙂

  2. kayejohn permalink
    May 9, 2010 8:32 pm

    🙂

  3. May 10, 2010 10:43 am

    Awww Heather I love it! What a sweet post for the ladies in your life!

  4. May 10, 2010 5:15 pm

    Happy Mother’s day to your mom!

    And, you would make a wonderful mom yourself.

  5. abbynormally permalink
    May 11, 2010 4:27 pm

    It’s kind of funny…when I was in middle and high school, I couldn’t stand my mom. I told people I didn’t want to be her, and I would be insulted if anyone said that I was like her…

    Now it’s the greatest compliment you give me! My mom is such an amazing person and I hope that I’m a mother JUST like her. She’s so wise, and loving, and she has such a great sense of humor. She has taught to always trust God and that life is so much more enjoyable when you realize that God is in control and have the sense to not take yourself too seriously.

    Moms are great!

  6. May 11, 2010 7:19 pm

    This is a really precious post! I adore your mom and I agree with Danielle, you would make a fabulous mother. 🙂

  7. Melissa permalink
    May 16, 2010 3:18 pm

    I love our mom and grandmas too. They are pretty GREAT people, who are teaching us to be great as well. 🙂 Also, I love you too, sis.

Leave a Reply

