Skip to content

uggg.

May 3, 2010

sad face.
huge sad face.
gigantic sad face.
GINORMOUS sad face.

 

104_3076

The roller-ball of blackberry fell out today.  I noticed when I sat down to eat dinner with my friend Marina.

marina 

OK. so when I say my roller-ball “fell out” what I may or may not have forgotten to mention that first I dropped my blackberry in the parking lot.

  ahem.

So now, my beloved blackberry looks like this:

104_3081

THE HORROR!

When I realized I couldn’t really do anything about it, at least not tonight, I decided that i may need to have one of these beauties. 

104_3071

Hello, Shock Top.  Fancy to meet you here.  Apparently since that night back in March I’ve started to actually like a cold beer once and a while. Who would have thought?  

 

 

I’m a little embarrassed to admit how reliant I am on my phone. Marina and I had a discussion about how attached we are to our phones, and technology in general. Perhaps Someone is just trying to teach me some sort of lesson about letting the simple things bring me joy, and not be so dependant on stuff.

Maybe it’s time I stop lounging at night watching television programming via Sprint TV. 

Maybe it’s time I stop reading my TFLN application before drifting to sleep.

Maybe it’s time to get out of bed upon waking, rather than laying propped against pillows reading everything my west coast friends tweeted while I was sleeping.

Maybe it’s time I stop breaking bricks while waiting for an appointment to begin. 

Especially after the realization this weekend that currently in my apartment I have over 50 books that I have not yet read. 

Maybe my lack of blackberry (and therefore my lack of internet at my apartment) will help me to work on completing the list I wrote out on Sunday. 27 books I plan on reading while I’m 27.

 104_3095104_3096104_3098

I must admit, my attachment to my phone, and the internet, is probably not the healthiest of habits.  I could definitely afford to “unplug” myself from technology a bit more often.  I’m sure my mind, and probably my eyes, would appreciate some time away from a lit up screen.

Looks like my convictions are pointing me towards some time flipping pages and losing myself in stories.

 

Are you willing to commit to some extra time away from technology this week? What hobbies and habits have you been neglecting because of your time on the computer or in front of the television?

22 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 8:18 pm

    Ohhhh I am super guilty of being too addicted to my blackberry. Thanks for the conviction. 🙂

    • May 3, 2010 8:22 pm

      I challenge you to turn your blackberry OFF for 10 minutes every day this week and do something ELSE. play an instrument. draw. write a letter. read. knit. try to memorize a bible verse. paint your nails. ANYTHING without your blackberry on right next to you.

      I think it may give us a new sense of freedom 😉

  2. May 3, 2010 8:36 pm

    Ack. I can’t stand the thought of even leaving my netbook for 3 hours…. Can you get your thingy fixed?

  3. Kelly permalink
    May 3, 2010 8:38 pm

    And the addiction to technology only becomes worse when both of the people in the household have a smartphone. Trying to have a conversation while you are out to dinner with two iPhones….yeah that doesn’t happen.

    I will admit that I may be worse at this one than the Husband. He’s not into all of the Facebook/Twitter stuff so at least he isn’t tied to his phone by that.

    This is something we are REALLY trying to work on.

  4. May 3, 2010 9:05 pm

    Well, I left my crackberry at home today by accident… I survived.
    Then again, I had internet access all day at work……..

  5. May 3, 2010 9:14 pm

    You’re too funny, but yes, I’m totally addicted to my two blackberries and now to my iPad, too!

  6. May 3, 2010 9:34 pm

    aww i’m so sorry about your phone. I’d be so lost if my iphone broke. its an extension of my hand 😀

  7. micki permalink
    May 3, 2010 10:37 pm

    I’m breaking my lurking streak to say that broken phones are the worst. And that I can pick out two books from your list I’ve read: To Kill a Mockingbird (I hope you’re just rereading it and not starting it for the first time… that book changes lives) and I Was Told There’d Be Cake. You’ll love them both.

    • May 4, 2010 8:11 am

      Actually reading it for the first time – can you believe it?!? Also- no more lurking! I like hearing what you have to say 🙂

  8. kayejohn permalink
    May 3, 2010 10:46 pm

    I’m glad I have a regular phone that does nothing but call people. 🙂 I mean, texting and internet and such WOULD be nice, but I don’t have THIS problem.

    Also, is it bad that I clicked on the pictures of the books and cocked my head sideways so as to see every title?
    I can’t believe you have the new Donald Miller book and havent read it yet!! I want it SO BAD. and please tell me To Kill a Mockingbird is a re-read… if it’s a first timer, you need to get on that ASAP. It’s classic. and beautiful.

    • May 4, 2010 8:16 am

      I would have done the same thing on your blog!!

      Also- first time to read To Kill a Mockingbird. Apparently this surprises everyone!

      As for the Miller book, I’m actually in the middle of it. IT IS SO GOOD. I am MAKING myself read it slowly. As in, only a few chapters a week because I want to spend a good amount of time reflecting and journaling through it. I’ve been reading it since late February. SO GOOD.

      • kayejohn permalink
        May 5, 2010 11:43 am

        I feel like many people read that in high school, so, yeah, it’s kind of surprising! It’s just one of those “classics.”

        and good call on making yourself read it slowly, journaling and such. 🙂 His writing is great for that kind of thing! Do you read his blog? I feel like you probably do… Also, I’ve misplaced my copy of Blue Like Jazz. 😦 I think I loaned to someone and forgot who, and they never returned it!

  9. May 4, 2010 5:29 am

    I’ve submitted two university assignments in the past two days. The last four days has been spent at uni in front of a computer. Along the way I have tweeted my frustrations, facebooked my crankiness and google reader procrastinated my little heart out. Then tonight, I get home and finally have a chance for guilt free relaxation. What do I do? Oh, jump online and do a lot of nothing.

    Stepping away from the laptop… right… now… maybe.

  10. May 4, 2010 5:39 am

    I would die. Seriously. It is my lifeline.

  11. May 4, 2010 10:30 am

    Bill Bryson’s The Lost Continent is one of your unread books?! Read it now!

    • May 4, 2010 10:38 am

      Oh my word. I’ve had that book for.ev.er. As in, it was one of the VERY FIRST books I purchased at the beaumont B&N. You were STILL IN HIGH SCHOOL when I bought it, I’m quite certain. (I think I have issues. No more book buying until I finish this list. Okay- that’s a lie. I already have plans to buy ONE book in august. But after that- NO MORE BOOKS until I finish these (and then we’ll see about the remaining 30+ I own but have yet to read). )

  12. May 4, 2010 4:02 pm

    my husband used to enjoy breaking bricks as well. now he has found word mole on his new blackberry. be happy that your blackberry didn’t break the same day your wife gave birth. not good to be without a phone, and all of your contacts, on that day.

    my online reading has majorly cut in to my magazine time. as in i have a huge stack of magazines that i have paid for but haven’t touched. i also probably should spend more time reading books.

    • May 4, 2010 4:03 pm

      oh, and i’m very sorry to hear about your phone. hopefully it will get fixed soon!

  13. abbynormally permalink
    May 4, 2010 4:46 pm

    I too am overly dependent on my phone. I noticed after it fried during the rainy marathon. However.. the bag of rice saved it, and we are happily reunited. I have decided to ignore my own acknowledgement of this dependency and continue on as things were. I suggest you do the same.

  14. May 5, 2010 6:57 am

    My blackberry died this week too! I replaced it with an iphone so that means that, no I have not spent time away from technology. I’m spending more time with it. That must change!

    I can’t believe you have that many books that you haven’t read. You have your very own library!

  15. May 5, 2010 1:10 pm

    Heather,

    I am a blackberry addict as well…let us unite and be proud!! And turn them off for a certain period of time everyday so as not to become “that person” as my family so lovingly calls me. 🙂

  16. May 5, 2010 5:48 pm

    Oh my god, I know! I am officially the obnoxious chick with the iphone. I am aware of it, and try not to be Her. Some days are better than others… 😉

Leave a Reply

