Skip to content

Water to Wine

April 24, 2010
tags: ,

kind of fitting that the day I choose to document my reading The Bible and drinking wine for the 101 in 1001 list, I was also rocking my “Jesus is my Homeboy” shirt, no?

104_2845

I thought it was fitting to share this passage of Jesus turning water into wine.  This is from The Message Remix, which is known as “The Bible in contemporary language.”  I really liked to use The Message Remix when teaching small groups in youth ministry, because it is often easier for teenagers to relate to, and also the language is a lot of fun. BIG THANKS to my twitter friend, Courtney, who typed up the Remix version for me while I was away form home and working on this post! This passage is from John 2:1-10.

Three days later there was a wedding in the village of Cana in Galilee. Jesus’ mother was there. Jesus and his disciples were guests also. When they started running low on wine at the wedding banquet, Jesus’ mother told him, “They’re just about out of wine.”

Jesus said, “Is that any of our business, Mother — yours or mine? This isn’t my time. Don’t push me.”

She went ahead anyway, telling the servants, “Whatever he tells you, do it.”

Six stoneware water pots were there, used by the Jews for ritual washings. Each held twenty to thirty gallons. Jesus ordered the servants, “Fill the pots with water.” And they filled them to the brim.

“Now fill your pitchers and take them to the host,” Jesus said, and they did.

When the host tasted the water that had become wine (he didn’t know what had just happened but the servants, of course, knew), he called out to the bride-groom, “Everybody I know begins with their finest wines and after the guests have had their fill brings in the cheap stuff. But you’ve saved the best till now!”

Just incase you’re new around these parts – I believe in a Jesus that goes against the grain of what every one else is doing.

104_2850

Since it would seem that this blog is nothing more than a way to cross something off a list I wrote almost 16 months ago, I’ll leave you with some points of note.

  • I did not run my race this morning. Turns out my car was not drivable. But, the situation is being handled and by Monday afternoon I should be in tip top driving shape again. [damn you weekend!]
  • Sharpie does not come off of skin as easily as you would think, which is noted by the faint “33:48” still taking up space on my left hand at the moment.  Tomorrow morning I am going to be trying to gain a new 5K PR while running in the inaugural Then Heather Said 5K, that the wonderful Alicia reminded me was taking place this weekend (she thought it was today, but she was just confused) 😉
    alicia
  • In case you missed my mentioning this on Twitter a billion times in the last four weeks, my Best Friend had a baby.  I am uber excited to get to meet said baby at the end of May.  [also uber excited to hug the mama.] You should go look at this beautiful girl, because truly, who doesn’t want to see a cute photo of a baby?
  • Have an upcoming work out that you are dreading? For the love of all things good and holy, GO DOWNLOAD GYMNERTAINMENT. [you can also read my review of it here. ]
  • Knock, Knock.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2010 7:22 pm

    Thanks for the shout-out!! Also, if I had had a “remix” in Catholic school I think I would have really been into that. I keep imagining a priest making that little motion on the Bible as the sound of a record scratching goes off.

  2. April 24, 2010 8:08 pm

    Oh Heather, thanks for the link love! I get all fuzzy when people link to me, because ours is just a little website with not much traffic [I mean it doesn’t really matter because it serves the whole wedding purpose, but still, we bloggers like our traffic, even though we know it’s not all about that!]

    it took me all of two minutes to type that out … it’s not like you asked me to type out the whole book of John or anything. but I probably would have done it anyway, because I love silly things like typing things out. yeah, I’m weird. I’m over it. I’ve got pretty much every stinking translation out there on my shelves [I just finished my undergrad degree in religious studies] so if you ever need anything [whole bible? sure!] typed out, you know where to look.

    ps: I can ramble in blog posts too. my friends make fun of me for writing the longest emails ever and saying basically nothing.

    hope you had a great night!

  3. April 25, 2010 12:00 am

    I liked reading this and the linked entry about your faith. I’m still figuring out the best way for me to follow the teachings of Jesus in my life. I’m leaning towards the “Give away all your stuff and follow me” path but I think I have to go to grad school and repay my parents first. I think. 🙂
    I have also been weary of associating with the “CHRISTIANS” because so many of the loudest, most public Christians are so obnoxious and contrary to what I believe and what I have learned about Christianity. I spent last fall living in a Christian service community, and luckily got a better view of Christians who lived with love and grace and forgiveness instead of judgement. It was really refreshing, and your entry reminded me of that! 🙂
    Ok, now I’m rambling, but I hope I made some sense.

  4. April 25, 2010 6:58 am

    That’s the first time I saw your 101 in 1001 list. I love the idea of it – even if you get through as many as you can, you’ll definitely be able to say you had a fun year.

    There better be a FULL report on that 5K young lady! and as for the Sharpie: I can’t tell you how many Friday morning college classes I sat through with X on my hands from partying at the bar the night before – thanks bouncer man for marking me up like a tic-tac-toe board!

  5. April 25, 2010 1:58 pm

    Amen, that’s the Jesus I believe in too. I like what you’ve got on your list. Sorry to hear you could not run yoru race today, but thank goodness for a ”race season”, where one goes on every weekend.

  6. April 26, 2010 4:54 am

    another thing to cross off your list, yeah!

    that is a pretty adorablr little girl 🙂 and she can’t wait to meet you!

Leave a Reply

