Skip to content

33:48

April 23, 2010
tags: ,

33:48

A funny thing happened after my impromptu 5K race last weekend. 
I decided to run again.  Another 5K. This weekend. Tomorrow to be exact. To crush demolish terminate beat my personal record. I was talking to my “cross continent half-marathon training partner”, Liane, early this week and decided that it just had to be done.  After all, I knew that if I would have pushed myself harder at the Saints Red Cross race last Sunday I would have come across the finish line with a new personal best. 

It was easy. I said it aloud. (well. That’s not true. I said it via gchat, but that is basically aloud.) I would beat my PR this week. I would run another 5K this week. I would be victorious.

33:48

Now I just need to do it.  Of course, my mind keeps trying to play tricks on me.  What if you don’t do it, even after you said you were going to do it? What then? Umm. Shut up, self.  You know, you aren’t even fast.  Your current PR is just under an 11 minute mile. You are slow. SHUT UP. Who cares.  I have to get that 11 mile to a 10 mile to a 9 mile somehow and in this case, that somehow is going to start with a race PR.  You are a horrible pacer. You are going to burn yourself out. Seriously, now. I’ve had enough of you. SHUT. THE. HELL. UP.

33:48

But it’s true. I am a horrible pacer.  I can run a sub 9 minute mile.  But I can not run a sub 9 minute mile 3.1 times in a row. Well, not yet. But my brain doesn’t always translate that with my body.  Sometimes, I run a 9 minute mile 1 and then find myself wanting to roll my way the remaining 2 miles to the finish line. 
I can run two 10 minute miles in a row. On a treadmil. With a fan blowing on me. And Greys on the attached television screen to distract me. I can not run a 10 minute mile 3.1 times in a row, outside, in the sun. Well, not yet. But I can TRY MY BEST.

And I can PR.  I can PR. I will PR. I am determined.

33:48

To help me fight on the battlefield demolition of my mind, I’ve being trying to envision myself on the course tomorrow.  The race is taking place at the same park as last weeks race, so I am using that to my advantage.  I picture myself warming up, feeling strong, and ready to go.  I close my eyes and see myself channeling Alex, as I tell my mind to shut up and tell my feet to move. I focus on the feeling of approaching the end, and crossing the finish line before the clock strikes 33:48.

33:48 
I’ve set a few visual reminds for myself at the office today, in order that I keep my eye on the prize.

IMG00024IMG00026  IMG00025

Tonight’s Big Pre-Race To-Do List:

-Hydrate.  
-Market for produce.
-Make Veggie Stir Fry for dinner with my friend, Gabe.
-Enjoy dinner with my friend, Gabe.
-Create & Upload Race Playlist. 
-Hydrate some more. 
-Set out gear. 
-Give self a pep talk.  
-Turn off phone. [you KNOW I’m serious now, don’t you.] 
-Go to bed EARLY. 
Dream about crossing the finish line. 
-33:48

 

 

A few questions for you racers/running: 

What do you do to prepare yourself before “big race days”?
Even though this race isn’t one of the races I’ve been training for, and is actually a training run for my half, it suddenly has a “big race day” stigma.

What is your favorite mantra to tell yourself as you are performing? I absolutely adore Heather’s thought that running is suppose to be hard work and hard work is good for you, which I tell myself often when I am tired during training runs.  I’ve also been known to tell myself that I can do anything for one mile/10 minutes, and that I am the master of every situation.

What is your favorite song for races? I am going to try to make my playlist no longer than 34 minutes with a strong finishing song, so that I can cross that finish line with the music pumping!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 23, 2010 11:57 am

    You know I”m going to be harassing you ALL day today about hydration and switch to “Go to bed”, “go to bed”, “I mean it. GO TO BED”. I’m going to be your worst nightmare 😉

  2. April 23, 2010 12:08 pm

    I am doing the same thing!!!! ahhhhh!!! I feel like you are saying EXACTLY what I am thinking!! We will DOMINATE our 5k’s this weekend!

  3. April 23, 2010 5:18 pm

    You can do it!! I believe in you!!

  4. April 23, 2010 7:11 pm

    Good luck tomorrow girl! I know you can do it! No matter what happens I can’t wait to hear all about it!

  5. April 24, 2010 2:42 pm

    hahah “word of the day”

Trackbacks

  1. Water to Wine « Then Heather Said
  2. Story Time « Then Heather Said
  3. MBPA 5K – I Did It « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

