Skip to content

Good Jorb

April 21, 2010

There are lots of reasons I love my jorb jaerb joerghb job.

My job is always fun.
[unless I’m trying to transcribe documents in Portuguese.  Then my head hurts. But that’s a story for another day. ]

Not only because I got gifts today.
104_2888
104_2892
My boss, Jen, gave me a container tomato plant and gardening gloves because I have been talking about my deck garden non-stop lately.  Our division manager brought each of us ladies in the office these gorgeous Azalea plants.  Last night I made a goal to get some work done with my gardening plans. Progress on the deck garden was made before 8:00 AM this morning.

 

Not just because of my boss, Jen. Although she is awesome.
IMG00066

Remember when she bought me exactly what I asked for, for Christmas.  How about when she welcomed me into her home for Easter? And let’s not forget she helped me furnish my apartment with lots of vintage finds. Let’s be honest: Jen takes care of me. [She’s also my wingwoman via BBM, in case you were curious.]

 

Not just because we take office-wide trips to fun places like the corn maze. And they let me bring my visiting best friend along.
cornmaze2

Not just because we have “Trivia Friday” and play Pictionary during Holiday Parties. [or that I get to be “in charge” during some of these activities 😉 ].
 Picture 033Picture 031   Picture 062

But also because a few months ago, we got hit with a bit of snow. So I built a snowman during my break. 

 IMG00252IMG00253

(he looks a little like a duck.)

Do you have fun at your place of employment? Next week, I’m going to try to convince people to play hopscotch with me.  Or actually join me while I’m dancing to Glee songs. [they sure like to laugh at my lack of coordination, but no one has given in to the music, yet.] How do you implement fun into your work place?

In every real man a child is hidden that wants to play.  ~Friedrich Nietzsche

Reminder: It’s up to you.  You can choose to make ANY situation a bit brighter.  Sometimes all it takes is the ability to channel your inner child.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 5:41 am

    I won’t answer this. I don’t want to trash up your blog with a rant of profanity.

  2. April 22, 2010 9:08 am

    So excited for your container garden! Hubby and I are starting a veggie garden today for Earth Day!

    For work, I try to have fun at work by getting to know people outside of just meetings and stuff. Try to learn about their lives and stuff. Most people I work with are spread out over the country, so sometimes it’s just adding a random joke in an IM chat, etc. When we all get together for meetings, we have a pretty good time, but usually after hours. 🙂

  3. Kelly permalink
    April 22, 2010 12:41 pm

    Do I have fun at work? Absolutely – although I do work in a locally owned toy store (owned by my mother in law) so I suppose that is kind of assumed. 🙂 Although there are days that are not as much fun – for me, actually “managing” people is sometimes hard when I am younger than some of the people that I manage and the rest are at most 5 years younger than me. I do have to remind myself sometimes that I CAN change my situation if I want to – but I don’t want to because (for the most part) I adore the people I work with and really, getting to order toys and kids clothes, having flexible hours, doing web design and ad design for a family business – it rocks.

    “You can choose to make ANY situation a bit brighter. Sometimes all it takes is the ability to channel your inner child.” Love this.

  4. April 22, 2010 12:44 pm

    Portuguese yay! 😡

  5. abbynormally permalink
    April 22, 2010 1:51 pm

    ahhhhhhhhh HOMESTAR RUNNER REFERENCE!! I LOVE IT! THIS IS WHY YOU ARE AWESOME. AND WHY WE SHOULD BE BEST FRIENDS!!

    OK.. time to go read the rest of the post 🙂

  6. fromatopink permalink
    April 22, 2010 4:14 pm

    What a fun place to work! That can help SO much when it comes to employees’ happiness and productivity. Glad you work in such a wonderful environment. 🙂

  7. April 22, 2010 8:21 pm

    Glad work is still a great place for you! Working for Baby A is a pretty fabulous job for me 🙂

  8. April 22, 2010 10:32 pm

    Haha I love the duck snowman, I named him Quackers.

    I work in a place that’s pretty laid back, and we have morning tea every Friday (so not good for the waist line, I work with all men so it’s always a big amount of food!) and drinks on Friday afternoons but that’s pretty much it. Your work sounds awesome 🙂

  9. April 23, 2010 12:10 pm

    Hi Heather! I just found you from @lianewil’s Follow Friday tweet! I had to comment on this post rather than your more recent one, because you quoted from HomestarRunner! That automatically makes you awesome, and I have added you to my reader!

    • April 23, 2010 12:12 pm

      Ha. You are clearly awesome, too 🙂 thanks- I look forward to reading your blog, too!! xo

Leave a Reply

