Skip to content

Fear

April 20, 2010

Question of the year:
When was the last time you did something for the first time?

[ever since reading THIS post, I can’t stop thinking about it.]

104_2640 

There is nothing to fear but fear itself. – FDR
You REALLY can do anything you put your mind too. –Caitlin 
You are stronger than you think you are. –Christopher Robin

 

104_2642 

Do one thing every day that scares you. –Eleanor Roosevelt

104_2641

Fear is a disease that eats away at logic and makes man inhuman. –Marian Anderson

There is a difference between facing your fears and conquering your fears. 

I used to be afraid of heights, most especially bridges.  The first time I ever crossed over the Lake Charles Bridge in Louisiana, I had a mini-anxiety attack in the back of my mother’s mini-van. 

[source]

Don’t even get me started about drawbridges.  When I was going to school at Louisiana College, I would make my roommate, Stephanie, add 20 minutes onto our trip when going into town in order to avoid the draw bridge. If we would have gone over the stupid thing, we would have reached our destination not 10 minutes after pulling out of the dorm. We also may have passed up that opportunity for Steph to fear her life when lost, and use my political stances beliefs as a shield.

Months later, when I had my own vehicle in town, I realized I was being irrational.  I reminded myself that not only was my mind stronger than my fear, but logically the bridge was stronger than my fear of it crumbling, too. I refused to let my fear of bridges control me any longer. I gave myself an eager pep-talk and made my way; I drove over the bridge.

Then I celebrated with some fro-yo. I’m sure this shocks you.

Sometimes when I am approaching a bridge, or having to climb another tall structure, I feel that pit in my stomach start to fill with anxiousness.  It only takes a second to remember how strong I felt, and WAS, when I drove over the drawbridge for the first time. This is how I know my fear of heights, and especially bridges, was conquered.  I know what it’s like to move past the fear and show it who’s boss. Never looking back, only moving forward.

 

It is not a matter of being fearless. The fear is sometimes constant, but it’s about moving forward regardless of the fear. Courage means feeling the fear and doing it anyway. –Gillian Anderson

 

When I was climbing to go on the platform for the first time, I was a little nervous; but then I remembered that the people I work with and trust very much developed, designed, engineered, and built the product and the structure.  I know they are smart.  I know they are capable. I know this. I also know that I am stronger than any fear, and fear will not control me.  Lesson learned.

 

 

Have you faced any fears lately? Have you conquered any fears?

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 8:20 pm

    Looking great in those photos!

Leave a Reply

