Skip to content

Blog Identity

April 20, 2010
tags:

A week ago, during the #fitblog twitter chat, Katy asked us:
katy

 

[side note: the #fitblog twitter chat takes place Tuesday evenings at 9:00 PM and is awesome. Go here to learn more]

 

And I replied,
   blog identityblog identity2

 

Today, Katy reminded us of this via email:

The "homework" for tonight is to craft a mission statement for WHY you blog.

At the beginning of the year, I spent a lot of time thinking about the identity of THS. No shocker here, I made a list.

 

Then Heather Said Identity

1. Blog for you, first and foremost.  Writing has always been a release for me. I blog to sort through things. I blog to share my story and have my voice heard. I blog to keep in contact with friends and family who live far away.  I blog to get it out there.  I blog.

 100_1901

2. Blog for your readers, second. I share my struggles in hope that they may help someone along the way.  As I explained here the whole reason I started THS was because I hoped that on some level, someday, what I wrote might benefit someone else.  It started with the broken engagement, and my emotions, and my growth from that and grew into being more about life. I blog to share my voice with those who are looking for someone they relate to.  I blog to share ideas and lessons and thoughts with others. I blog, more and more so, because this community of bloggers is awesome.  I blog to meet a need.  I blog to build relationship.  I blog to open good discussion with people that disagree with me. I do not blog for the people who go around conducting studies on negative conversation on internet forums for their social media thesis by leaving rude, harsh comments.

3. Blog by giving an honest, open reflection to who you are and what you are facing.  I say things that surprise people.  I am honest about my emotions.  I am honest about what I am facing. I am open with my struggles and what I am learning, often as I’m learning it. This is not because I want people to say, “Oh, that Heather. Look at her, being so vulnerable and real and genuine.”  This is because I want to BE vulnerable and real and genuine.  I don’t want to live a life of secrets. [but there are some things I keep private, usually when they involve other people’s lives/stories/secrets, which are not mine to share.]

4. Blog to join the conversation, spark the conversation,  and document the conversation. I like looking back on my old blogs from younger days to see how I felt about situations I was in, things happening around me, and reflecting on the lessons I learned.  I like to take part in debates and discussions going on throughout the blogs that fill my google reader.  I like bringing up points that other people have something to say about.

 104_2617

5. Blog for the sake of blogging. There is nothing wrong with that.

6. Blog, but you do not apologize. For who you are, what you think, or who you AREN’T.  Because you are enough.  Take pride in all the best parts of you.  Especially the parts that are different than everyone else. Don’t stop being YOU.  List. Ramble. Share. Repeat.  
 lamar

  

What’s YOUR blogger identity?  Why do you blog? Tweet? Read blogs? Read this blog? [seriously, am dying to know 😉 ]

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 20, 2010 8:55 pm

    This REALLY got me thinking!! I think I blog because food is my passion and I love that there are people to discuss it with me. The encouragement and community is an awesome bonus, too! I really like #3. I’ve considered taking the personal stuff out of my blog- my fitness, college stuff, etc. but I really don’t want to lose my personality! I think there are some great food blogs that are SO FOCUSED on the food that you don’t want to follow the author’s adventures.
    Great post, I would give it an A+.
    Hahaha and highschoolers are so not children! Well, yes, actually they are. But I’m not… Okay only sometimes haha

  2. April 27, 2010 4:03 pm

    First of all – did you make that “real to-do list” ? It’s awesome. I think that’s a great idea of something to create for myself.
    I read blogs for inspiration, ideas, and to discover shared experiences. I blog, tweet, and read because I love the community. I love making connections and discovering similarities, or a new way of looking at something. I enjoy the thought provoking articles I come across.
    Ever since Katy posted that “assignment” I’ve been trying to figure out my identity in a concise manner and well… I’ve been struggling!

    • April 28, 2010 11:28 pm

      I got the “Real To-Do List” at Hallmark. I had been wanting it for months and then i saw it was on sale when I first was setting up my “blogging area” (which by the way, i haven’t blogged at in MONTHS)

      I have a feeling my blog identity is going to have a few CORE elements that remain for a while – but that my “Vision Casting” for THS is going to be ever changing (which i think is a GOOD thing.) Dont get caught up if you cant find the RIGHT words right now.

      I think your awesome and what you write is awesome too 😉

  3. Kelly permalink
    May 7, 2010 10:33 pm

    I just have to say that I LOVE that photo you took with your reflection in the computer. Love it.

Leave a Reply

