Skip to content

More Than: Megan of TEL

April 19, 2010

Me, first!

Sounds like a pretty selfish title, no? That’s what I used to think too. How could anyone put themselves first? At least in my mind, in my earlier years, the right thing to do was to commit myself to as much as possible, to be helpful and giving, and to be there as much as possible when people needed me. After graduating from college and moving to Boston, I worked full time, volunteered for a bunch of causes, signed up to run a marathon and raise $4000 for charity when I had no money myself, and had a family 5 hours away that I visited every month.

By the time I met my laid back European husband, I was pretty tightly wound and scheduled within an inch of my life without much flexibility for myself. During the rare times when I was a “slacker” I felt like I basically didn’t deserve any care at all because I hadn’t “earned” it. I’m not sure exactly what it was, maybe the multiple stress fractures or always feeling exhausted and guilty for not doing MORE, but slowly I backed away from being the person who was kind to everyone EXCEPT FOR MYSELF.

It may sound cliché, but one of the best lessons that I have learned is just how important self care is and how much it has an impact on everyone I encounter, from the people I commute with each morning to my colleagues to my loved ones and even to the animals I volunteer with.

Nowadays, “me time” and treating myself is a priority. Whether it be adjusting my workouts and marathon training so that I can sleep in on the weekends, devoting my undivided attention to Gossip Girl, buying myself a little treat at Lush, or opening a special bottle of wine just because, I remind myself often that I do enough and deserve to rest just for being. I take as much time as I need for myself, whenever I get the opportunity because, let’s face it, life is busy and opportunities can be rare. When it’s time to go volunteer or to spend half a day driving to see my family, feeling rested and checked in with myself makes me ready to WANT to do all of those things, not feeling like my entire life is one big to-do list.

Taking good care of my entire self has also been a magnificent way of helping me to be more present in each moment in life. I spent so much time assessing past situations or stressing about/planning for the future, that I usually failed to be present in so many moments. Now I literally stop myself mid thought or task and remind myself that this is now.

I challenge each of you today to slow down for a minute and to do one thing that is all for you and to also try to catch yourself if you start to worry or stress to just remind yourself that you are here right now, nowhere else.

Meghan_TopChef

 

You can learn more about Meghan by visiting her awesome blog, Travel Eat Love. Meghan’s blog is filled with a wide variety of information- some of Heather’s favorites are the Friday Foodie Feature, delicious recipes, and reviews and details of her adventures.  Meghan will be running her third Boston Marathon TODAY – be sure to keep a look out on her blog for her race recap and experience. 

You can also read Meghan’s 140-character or less thoughts by following her  twitter feed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 19, 2010 10:19 am

    This is a great post! Megan is right, it is so important to take time for yourself!

  2. Darlene Cardillo permalink
    April 20, 2010 12:38 pm

    So right! Great post!

Trackbacks

  1. Houlihan’s Patio Conversation

Leave a Reply

