Skip to content

Hit the Links!

April 17, 2010

I’ve been making good use of the “share” and “share with comment” features, but I know that it drives some people a bit batty.  I have to admit I got a little share happy.  I think a part of me wanted Google Reader to be the new book club.  I wanted to comment in reader on posts I enjoyed or questioned or debated with; and I wanted people to respond. 

shared

I’ve cut back on the sharing recently, but now I’ve been starring posts like it’s my job. [it’s not my job, by the way, but if you wanted to pay me to use Google Reader, I would be FINE with that. ]

starred

I feel like I’ve been noting bazillions of posts that I want to share and comment on; let’s have at it, shall we?

 

 

REFLECTION
Sometimes I read a blog and find myself writing out a post-it note reminder to myself to spend some time alone with my journal.  Some things some people put out there for their readers cause my heart to react in a way that only a few pages in my moleskin will cure.  One of the most consistent things in my life is a desire to question and self-reflect often; to take time to evaluate my past and
104_2840

These wonderful posts have inspired some personal journal writing as of late:

ABB asks a fabulous question, “Is there any divide wider than the one that falls between who we want to be and who we actually are?”

Why not make a list of 30 things you like about yourself ?  inspired by Jacattack.

What do you want the rest of your life to look like, and how can you get there? What is the point of complaining and how can you draw the line between healthy venting and whining your loved ones ears off? Making daily decisions which benefit your priorities by the fabulous Mrs. Everlasting

In an effort to say goodbye to insecurities forever, Erin reminds us we must look our insecurities straight in the eye.  What are your biggest insecurities?

A reminder to release from Holly, which may also act as a reminder of how fun name poems can be.

Definition of Choice from Hangry Pants

Live. period. The Converse Effect by Kelsey.

 

RUNNING
It’s no surprise that I like running. If you haven’t been around THS for a bit, you may not know I am currently training for my first half marathon

boston my race bib

This recap of the Paris Marathon had me in tears.  Motivational and inspiring, Nicole sharing her adventure touched my heart.

My blend, Caitlin, has been bitten by the running bug.

Happy Go Lucky Alex has Running Revelations

Strength Moves that help with Running Hills from FitSugar

Tips on both Race Recovery & Sanely Setting Race Goals from Caitlin of Healthy Tipping Point

 

RECIPES
I may not be a “food blogger” but I have been known to set my netbook on top of board games on my countertop in order to get a better view of a recipe I found online and have to try and make right this second.

104_2697 

Vegan Carrot Cake made by Lindsey of Sound Eats looks like something I could devote my entire weekend to.

Sues swears this is the easiest appetizer ever – yet it’s impressively delicious for how simple it is! by We are not Martha

East Meatless Mushroom Burgers by Nicci – perhaps I should swear off the purchased frozen veggie burgers for a while and start experimenting with all the wonderful recipes I see popping up all over the community.

One of my most favorite blogs, (Never)Home Maker, featured this yummy recipe for Pumpkin Garlic Knots.  This will definitely be my new go-to recipe for “what to bring” when attending pasta dinners at friends homes.  DELICIOUS.

 

RANDOM RAMBLES
I’ve been known to be a self-proclaimed pop-culture princess.  On Trivia Fridays, no matter the edition of Trivia Pursuit in play, I’m best known to answer the pink questions correctly [entertainment, songs & shows, etc.], followed by brown [written word, literature, etc.].  I like television shows that some people may describe as “time wasters”.  I like Chelsea Lately.  I like wikipedia.  My favorite part of any dvd is the special features. Go ahead, hand over the tiara. POP.CULTURE.PRINCESS.

24.5a

I love Ellen, but really, who doesn’t?

The Operation Beautiful book is now available for preorder on Amazon, Borders, and Barnes&Noble. Go buy yourself a copy. Go buy your sister, and your best friend, and your neighbor, and the kids you babysit for a copy. 

Watching this trailer made me squeal with glee. So much so that I watched it twice. three times. so many times it’s ALMOST embarrassing. My girl, Veronica, has already asked me if we can have a girly date when I’m visiting in May to see it together – I am UBER excited. Any time promo pictures, posters, or interviews are released (and Trent tells me about it) I find myself in a state of giddiness.

My friend Kelsey responded to the open casting call for Glee.  I could go on and on about why you should be giving her gold stars, but that would just be silly.  What you SHOULD do, is go listen yourself.  Get chills, like I did. And then give her the stars she so rightly deserves.  She is fantastic.  GO LISTEN TO KELSEY NOW.

 

 

What have you read (or written) lately that you think I should read, too?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2010 8:12 pm

    mmm you just made me want that carrot cake all over again!!!

    Something to read: I haven’t read it yet (um, what have I read besides textbooks lately?!) but I’ve had The China Study recommended to me by several friends and readers – it’s on my must read list, for sure!

    Have a good weekend, girl! 🙂 xoxo!

  2. April 18, 2010 3:44 pm

    thanks for the linkback girl – looking forward to seeing you next month!

Leave a Reply

