Skip to content

Accidental Knowledge

April 14, 2010
tags:

A bunch of people on twitter are asking me to share what I learned about Google Reader today, so now I will share:

This morning I read this post from Kat’s blog via Google Reader.

I currently have a post in my live writer drafts about body changes and self image relations, and I really loved that she found a way to STOP the fat-talking during her weight loss journey.

I emailed the post to myself from google reader in order that I had easy access to the link when it came time to work on my draft, because I wanted to make sure to point out Kat’s brilliance. [did you know you can do this?  I email myself, and other people, blog posts from Google Reader all the time.]

When I typed my address into the “To” field, I made a little mistake.
I wanted to send it to my “thenheathersaid[at]gmail.com” address, but after typing “thenheathersaid” I just selected the address from the list of email address my google account stored for me.

I thought I sent the article to my gmail.

I actually sent it to my old “post a blog by email” address on my old blogspot domain.

When I visited Google Reader later in the day, I saw that my old blogspot blog had a new post. [by the way, if you are a Google Reader user and you haven’t already added your own blog to your Subsriptions – what are you waiting for?]

“Ummm….was I hacked?” I thought to myself.  Then I saw this:

height=425

Wait….a…..second.

I can send posts from Google Reader straight INTO a blogspot address?  I’m not sure WHY I think this is cool, but I do.

Clearly everyone else already knows this, right? Am I the last one to figure this little tid bit out?

p.s. you know you are a blogger when instead of following through with lunch time errand running plans, you rush home to blog of your discovery as soon as possible. ha.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 14, 2010 12:58 pm

    Confession: I just started using Google reader like a month ago and it’s all greek to me… remember when you sent me something in Google Docs?!
    I’m so not tech savvy at ALL!

  2. April 14, 2010 2:59 pm

    I used Google Reader for a while & then got overwhelmed so now I just check up by typing in urls but I really should go back to Google Reader!

  3. April 14, 2010 9:16 pm

    Wait…what?!? I did not know this. And I am the Queen of the Reader.

  4. April 14, 2010 9:58 pm

    Definitely did not know that!! How do you email stuff to yourself from reader…?

Leave a Reply

