Skip to content

Tarty Tar Tar: I Want A Goat*

April 8, 2010

*to the tune of “I’m on a Boat”. 😉

 

 

You may have seen this tweet Wednesday from a very savvy friend of mine:
image
The other day I was talking to Julie.
And i confessed.

9:45 PM me: i want a pet goat but only in theory
9:46 PM Julie: um, why?
9:47 PM me: well, i think goats are pretty cool
and i would want a male goat so i could name him Billy, obviously. 
but, I know that taking care of goat would probably be a bit more than i can handle.
but what if i got a FEMALE goat and then i could BREED HER so that we could make goat cheese.
9:48 PM Julie: haha
9:48 PM me: this all seems like a good idea.  in THEORY.


[source]

Makes sense to me: I want a goat. They are cute. Not to mention, I love goat cheese.
How do I know I love goat cheese? I’ve eaten goat cheese on about a billion different things since I first tried it in January when I used it in the best dish I’ve ever made.

Oh, beloved, soft, crumbly, goat cheese goodness….
100_2385

Proof that I procrastinate [not that there is anything wrong with that]:
The best thing I have even made in my life I have made once. 
It was this past January. Must I remind you that it’s now April.

This recipe doesn’t have a name.
This recipe doesn’t have measurements.
This recipe, it would seem, is not actually a recipe.
This is how you make this tart-ish type thing, also known as the best thing I’ve ever made.

Frozen Pastry Shell defrosted and stretched out on a baking sheet.  Follow directions and bake for a bit.
 100_2351

Chop up some leeks.  I don’t really like onions too much, but for some reason I get a kick out of cooking with leeks.
100_2364

Brown leeks in a sauce pan with a bit of olive oil. [cover for several minutes to brown well.]
In a large pot cook mushrooms and cook for several minutes. 
100_2373

Add lots of spinach on top of mushrooms.
100_2377 

Cook until mushrooms are perfection and spinach is wilted. [check out all that awesome steam!]
100_2388  

Remove the tart crust from the oven when it is just starting to golden.
 100_2393

Construct.
Layer 1 – Spinach & Mushrooms.
Layer 2 – Leeks.
Layer 3 – GLORIOUS GOAT CHEESE. 
100_2398 

Bake until top of cheese just starts to brown. 
cool slightly. slice as desired. plate.
Fry two eggs, “sunside up”, with a hearty sprinkling of pepper.   
Top tart with runny egg and enjoy. and cry tears of taste bud rejoicing.
100_2420

I can’t believe I’ve only made this once.
I dream about the tingly combination of flavors. My mouth has been watering every second of this post.  This is DIVINE. Trust me.  No, no, DON’T trust me. Instead try it for yourself ASAP.  Then come back and we can discuss names for the female goat.

Incase you were wondering, that last photo came from Ultimate Goat Fansite.  Yes, I’m serious.  Apparently I’m not the only Goat-Fan in the world.

If you’re still not sold on the whole idea, check out this article about the brilliance of renting goats for yard maintenance. I see a business venture side project in my future.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. April 8, 2010 11:20 am

    I actually read an article [probably a year ago now] where google rented out goats to tend their lawns at HQ. I thought it was rather interesting. I would love to have goats [plural].

  2. April 8, 2010 6:51 pm

    That looks delicious!

  3. April 8, 2010 6:53 pm

    Hmmm that looks fabulous. Is this a food blog?! Hahaha. 🙂 I like goat cheese a lot. Until I’m reminded that it comes from a goat. That shiz is nasty.

  4. April 8, 2010 8:04 pm

    You had me at mushrooms – I LOVE anything with mushrooms.

  5. April 8, 2010 9:14 pm

    That was possibly the best gchat ever.

  6. Alcey permalink
    April 8, 2010 9:30 pm

    We had pet goats when I was growing up! They were good fun, although sometimes they could be a little pushy and a lot smelly. Like possibly smelly enough to make you swear off goat cheese. That would be tragic.

  7. April 9, 2010 6:32 am

    OMG! My stomach was growling reading your post!

  8. April 9, 2010 10:25 am

    Recipes without being actual recipes are, in my POV, the best kind.

    And beware, OD’ing on goat cheese can be BAD very BAD. I have never done it but I know someone with a somewhat sensitive stomach who ate their fare share one day and paid for it. I’ll let your imagination do the rest of the work..

  9. fromatopink permalink
    April 9, 2010 3:43 pm

    That looks DIVINE! And now I must go find something equally delicious for dinner… 🙂

  10. April 13, 2010 9:13 pm

    OMG NOW I WANT A GOAT!

  11. April 13, 2010 10:50 pm

    Hahaha you are too funny. I do looooove goat cheese but I will just keep buying it at the store. The explination would be waaaay too long but I’ve had several nights of sleep interuppted by goats in my travels to Haiti. They are so loud! And let me tell you, its super unpleasant when someone traps one in your room in the middle of the night. *Not* a funny joke.

  12. megan permalink
    April 22, 2010 2:38 pm

    i used to have a goat! well it was really my roommate’s in college. her boyfriend’s brother had decided he wanted to venture out and be a goat herder in california, so for her birthday he drove to texas was a TINY ADORABLE BABY GOAT. his name was taquito and he lived in our apt for a few months.

    and our downstairs neighbor asked us to stop stomping around in our heels so much… ha! i dont know if he ever found out it was a goat!

Trackbacks

  1. Greatly Grateful « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

