Skip to content

More Than: Rachel on Quiet Time

April 5, 2010

n104700831_30180821_4213

From Heather: This is a More Than post from my IRL friend, Rachel. We met through Ashley when I lived in Texas. I’ve talked a few times in the past about my love for Jesus.  Below, Rachel shares what makes her healthy beyond nutrition & exercise: time with Jesus. 🙂 I have a few things to say about Rachel’s post, and hope you’ll join me in the comments section for some good discussion.

More Than: Rachel on Quiet Time

When asked what I would say makes me ‘the most healthy’ without talking about your eating or exercising habits was easier than it should have been.. probably because I’m not doing very good with either one of those!
QUIET TIME… that’s my answer!

When I say quiet time, I’m not sure what comes to your mind, but it has lots and lots of meanings! It could mean just getting alone with a cup of coffee or tea and admiring God’s beautiful creation or the intricate details He placed all around you. It could be getting in a dark room, playing soft music and asking for strength to get through the day. It could also be to sit and read the Word searching for encouragement, direction or something to help make sense of the craziness around you. Maybe its to play loud music and dance around praising Him for all the opportunities that seem to be falling in your lap!

For me, quiet time is time spent however you want to love on Jesus and let Him love on you… It’s however you want to offer your time and energy to the one who gave it all for you… It’s however you want to let the Father lavish you with good things… It’s however you want to say thank you for counting me worthy, in spite of me!

My quiet times are most often a mix of all the above… I can start out doing the same thing every morning, but it never turns out the same! I think it’s just one small way Jesus is telling me He loves me! He knows that my days aren’t the same. So, each morning He prepares me by giving me what I need for that specific day.

For this season, of my life, I have HAD to have a quiet time in the morning… mainly because I wasn’t sure how I would get out of bed, much less through the day, without Him speaking a precise word for my specific moment. (He does; which makes having them a little easier… knowing He will show up!)

And that is it for me… having intimate time with my Father, lover and savior Jesus Christ is how I stay healthy, it’s what keeps me going!

rdavis Psalm 138:8 "He will perfect that which concerns you.."

Psalm 46.10 "Be still and know that He is God."

His,
Rachel Davis

Rachel is one of the most beautiful, trustworthy, kind-hearted, honest women I’ve met.  If you know Rachel, you are lucky. You can get to know Rachel by following her twitter feed.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 10:19 pm

    oh, Rachel, i just love you.

    I want to touch on a few things here.
    I know not every person who reads my blog has a “relationship with Christ” (as much as I hate to say that, as mentioned in the ever popular belief part 2 post), but I wanted to include Rachel’s post in the More Than series because I know what she is talking about. In my confessions post I discuss that I pushed myself away from God for a bit- but all along I always know that “quiet time” or any time I spend dedicated to Jesus, helps keep my heart healthy…

    that being said.

    For me, it goes beyond Jesus; because even if I spent X amount of time with Jesus in a “quiet time” each day, i would still need a few OTHER kinds of quiet time in my life to keep my heart, mind, & emotions healthy.

    I think time spend nurturing your beliefs is the KEY to quiet time.
    Yes, time I spend meditating on scripture is helpful. Or listening to worship music and praying is helpful.
    but so is taking time apart from my day to focus on what im grateful for, to meditate on a mantra as simple as “breathe”, or to write myself a self-love letter in my journal.
    I believe in Jesus as my Lord, yes. So time with Jesus in this regard is important.
    I also believe in myself, so time spent nurturing this belief is good.
    I believe love wins, so nurturing that belief is good.
    I believe in operation beautiful, so spending time writing out post it notes, and taking time to encourage others is good.
    I believe that the world can be changed with kindness, so spending time meditating on kindness and thinking about kindness is imporant to me as well.

    QUIET TIME on my own is important too. Time away from the computer, the television, and the blackberry. Time without distraction and with out a to-do list. Just quiet time, alone. I may read, I may draw, i may watch the sunset- but there is no agenda but to be me. When I was an RA, I knew I functioned best when I had a bit of time ALONE during each day and I’ve never let go of that. I’m not always the best of putting myself ahead of my “to-do list” and meetings and urgencies – but there comes a point when you realize that in order to do your best, you need to take a step back and just exist. THIS quiet time is SO important.

    I also think “quiet time” in relationships is such a treasure. Friendships, romances, and family time. but that is a post for another day 🙂

    I am REALLY interested in what you all will say about this post and my comments. What do you think?

    What kind of “quiet time” do you partake in?
    How do you prioritize to get your time in?
    Would taking an hour, or even a few minutes, out of tomorrow dedicated to what you believe in, benefit your week? How can you fit it in?

  2. kayejohn permalink
    April 5, 2010 10:36 pm

    First off, I think I’ve had the pleasure to meet you, Rachel, once or twice, because of Heather here… and you honestly did strike me as one of the most beautiful ladies I’ve ever seen. Part of is just that you’re a pretty woman :), but it’s also something about your smile… genuine, and truly, truly happy… it’s lovely. 🙂

    That being said, I do NOT get enough quiet time on a regular basis and I can FEEL it. I can feel it in my impatience and irritability with my loved ones, the ache in my neck, my frustration with school…

    I usually tell myself that I’m either too busy or I should be spending that time with people that I hardly ever get to spend time with. Which is silly, since I don’t spend enough time with God.

    But I also know that that’s probably why I’ve had a million blog type things throughout the past few years – when I blog, even if it seems that I’m just venting about something, that’s quiet time – time for me to think and work through things, usually with God’s help.

    I’m definitely a fan of listening to “Jesus music,” reading, and journaling or writing of some sort. Also, I find it helpful to find someone that I can share the fruits of my quiet time with – whether just a close friend, a fellow believer, or blog readers. I find some way to share what I discovered through that time, even if it’s something I’ve discussed over and over again. Sometimes lessons have to be relearned, and it might benefit someone else, not just me.

    Phew, look at this comment – I’m turning into Heather! 😀

  3. abbynormally permalink
    April 6, 2010 4:51 pm

    This was great, Rachel! Thank you so much for sharing! The time with Christ is the only way to get to know Him better, and in turn, we get to know ourselves better. And when we know ourselves better, we know how much we really need Christ and His sacrifice on our behalf!!!

Leave a Reply

