Skip to content

Easter Experiments

April 4, 2010

You may remember my parents and siblings live in Texas.

Quick second grade geography review: Texas is far away from upstate New York.

us_map_colored 

I am blessed.
My boss Jen, and her husband, Jeff, have invited me to join their family for Easter celebration this year! I will not be alone in upstate New York this holiday, I will be with some wonderful friends!

Jen asked if I could bring Easter eggs.  I hardboiled them yesterday afternoon, and this morning I dyed them. Dying Easter eggs really makes me miss my family, but the Glee soundtrack kept me in high spirits as I got creative with some crayons and food coloring.

104_2725

When I asked what else I could bring a discussion about a family member who loves skittles got us brainstorming about skittle baked goods!  Additional challenge was made when I found out this family member also does not like frosting- no skittle cupcakes were to be had. [womp, womp.]

I knew that a skittle cookie couldn’t just be a chocolate chip or m&m cookie recipe with a skittle substitute. [that makes me cringe just thinking about it] General sugar cookies with skittles just seemed too easy.  The more I thought about the skittle flavors, the more I knew I wanted a citrusy base for the cookie.  After doing a little research, I came across the perfect recipe for the base of my skittle cookie experiment: Baking Bite’s Lemon Sugar Cookies.

I ended up splitting the dough into two parts, and only adding skittles to one of the bowls.  When I prepared the cookies for baking, I had three trays; one with skittles, one with a red sugar topping, and one of plain lemony sugar cookie goodness. 
104_2700104_2701104_2702

I’ve taste tested all three cookies and am proud to say they are splendid!

104_2705

 

These cookies call for two tablespoons of lemon zest. 
What happens when you zest two lemons for a recipe?  You end up with two naked lemons:

104_2708

I didn’t want to the lemons to go to waste, so I got to thinking about freshly mixed lemonade, which also happens to be on my 101 in 1001 list!  I found this recipe for “perfect lemonade” on Simply Recipes, and I got to work.

The recipe calls for the juice of 4-6 lemons.  Since I only had two LARGE lemons, I decided to use the juice from them and adjust the recipe accordingly.

I cut the lemons in half and squeezed the juice into a liquid measuring cup.

104_2709104_2710 

When all was said and done, there was 2/3 of a cup of lemon juice. 

I added the appropriate amounts of Full Circle cane sugar and filtered water in a sauce pan and heated to make a simple syrup. Then I combined the lemon juice, syrup, and more filtered water into a pitcher.  I am cooling the lemonade in the fridge.

104_2735

How cute is this lemonade set I received from Jen last fall? I plan on serving the homemade lemonade with lemon sugar cookies, fresh berries, and chips & salsa to some friends who are coming over tomorrow evening. With the nice weather and sunshine we’ve been having lately I can’t think of a better way to celebrate the coming of spring than sipping homemade lemonade with friends on my back deck as the sun sets!

104_2737

How are you celebrating Easter & the coming of Spring?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 4, 2010 4:49 pm

    The cookies look so cute! And yummy. 🙂
    Well, Easter is all about food here at home, so I’m pretty stuffed at the moment 😛 For the coming of Spring I’m actually (starting now!) making an effort to return to a healthier and more balanced life. 🙂
    Happy Easter!

  2. April 4, 2010 5:29 pm

    YUMMMMM!
    I am happy you have people to spend the holiday with! ❤ you and g-chat convos!!

  3. April 4, 2010 6:27 pm

    The cookies look delicious. I can imagine that the lemon zest will give them quite a unique taste.

  4. April 4, 2010 6:52 pm

    what?! skittle cookies?? I love skittles!! My little cousin is obsessed with them…I should make them for his bday this year! ha, how fun.
    I celebrated Easter by eating far too many jelly beans.

  5. abbynormally permalink
    April 4, 2010 7:42 pm

    Aw! I am so glad that you have such a wonderful boss!!! Happy Easter, dear!

  6. April 4, 2010 9:28 pm

    How fun! Will you pleeeeease come spend a holiday with Dan and I once I live in NY?

  7. April 4, 2010 11:08 pm

    Okay, those cookies look amazing. and I freakin’ love you SO much for jammin’ to Glee! (Oh my gosh, Glee comes back soon!!! April 13th!!! AHHH!)
    and I miss dyeing eggs with my family as well. 😦
    However, Aaron’s family does confetti eggs, which my family doesn’t. and it was super funnnn. 😀

  8. Sweet and Fit permalink
    April 5, 2010 4:05 pm

    i love sugar cookies – never tried lemon ones, thanks for the idea!

Trackbacks

  1. Easter Lessons « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

