Skip to content

NWD & 1st Noniversary

March 27, 2010
tags:

Recently, I shared my decision to run a half marathon.  I had been debating it for a few weeks. It started with a discussion about my desire to complete a  run of 14 miles (from point A to point B to point A again) of the paved trail I run on in my community. 

Last year I accidentally did 10 miles on a Saturday.  By accidentally, I mean I started two miles shy of point B and worked backwards to point A and back to point B again. Of course, at that point in time of my life I had just started running, could only run about a mile at a time, and didn’t realize that the trail started at point A.  At that point in time I also didn’t know where it started and I was determined to find out.  And although my intervals were probably 60% walking and 40% jogging very slowly, my entire lower body was sore for at least four days.  My bum was sore, my quads were sore, my hips were sore, my shins were sore, my hamstrings were sore, but my heart was not sore. My heart soared.  [oh my, i went there.]

I was elated that I decided, mid planned 3 mile interval run, that I was going to just keep going and put it all out there on the trail.  I made a decision- mid run- and kept going.  I think it may have been that day on the trail that I really began to understand that I was more dedicated to my health and fitness than I initially realized; that brought me both a sense of pride and a sense of peace that I hadn’t felt before, because I wasn’t doing it for anyone else but myself. 

When i made my half-marathon training plan, I made sure to include the few races I’m looking at running through out the summer.  I also made sure to find a nice place for my 14 mile round trip.  When I realized that Labor Day this year was on September 6th, I knew it had to be done. 14 miles, you will be conquered – in celebration of the one year noniversary.

[new to THS? let me catch you up to speed quick – Last July I was 6 weeks shy of walking down the aisle and the wedding was called off. The day we had been planning for over a year? I call it the Non-Wedding Day. ]

When I mentioned that I would be running the 14 miles on the 1st noniversary to a few friends, they asked me what I did last year during the Non-Wedding Day Celebration. 

Non-Wedding Day Weekend, 2009.

I am very grateful for my family for many reasons; but this is a story about one specific weekend.  When the wedding was canceled, my parents decided to keep their contract with the Lake House they had been planning to rent in a nearby town for the week of the wedding.  I was relieved that I would have them around to distract me.  I was also a little terrified, because I had no idea how I was going to handle the weekend, especially NWD. My family made sure to plan lots of fun activities to keep me busy and laughing when possible.

The day BEFORE NWD, Saturday, we went to NYC.

Let me preface this by sharing some honest insight. I have been told, several times, that I have “control issues”.  That’s fine. Maybe it’s true. Maybe. I can deal with that.  I like to plan things, and I’m not going to deny that I like to get my way from time to time. [I mean, seriously, who doesn’t? let’s be honest.]

But after trying to plan this weekend “our way” for so long, things had shifted. So when my mother called to share the good news that they were coming to New York and asked what I wanted to do when they here, I said, simply “I don’t care.  I just want to watch the Badger on Saturday, no matter where we are.  I just need to watch the Badgers.”  The rest was up to the fam; Dad, Mom & Rob, my little brother. [my sister was in TX working.]

So when they told me we were going to see Rock of Ages and to dress for the show, I clearly listened and dressed for the show game.

Family dressed for the show:

047And you will note that I am also dressed for the show game:

048 

The show was outrageously wonderful.  We went to an early show [you know, because we had a game to watch], and so we saw mostly understudies on stage, but it was still pure brilliance.  I made a  comment walking in that any musical that had cocktail waitresses who brought you drinks to your seat was the right musical for NWW. 9- rockofages 

We did some other stuff while we were in NYC, too.  Before and after rocking out like it was 1989.  Lunch in Times Square, a quick trip to Starbucks, Roxy’s for Cheesecake, souvenir shopping,   and then killing some time at ESPN Zone before the game started. 

053

You’ll notice that smile on my face?  This is because I am driving in a car game.  This is what I learned at ESPN Zone. I am good at the soccer simulation. I am good at the basketball simulation. I am good at the car simulation.  This is because I have done all these things in my life.  I am not good at motorcycle, jet-ski, ATV, dirt bike, or any other silly motor-vehicle simulation.  I am bad at all of them.  But, I am good at ski ball. better at ski-ball than skiing simulation.

And then it was game time.  Game time was wonderful and I was very happy [and full of beverage & bar food].  Thank you parents for spoiling me in NYC.  Thank you Bucky Badger for understanding the word “life” in “love of my life.” And before I knew it we were on a train [and I was napping] back to upstate NY.

Then it was NWD.

Somewhere along the way, I mentioned to my mother that I didn’t want to travel on NWD.  I was really nervous about how I was going to feel emotionally and I felt like I needed to kind of lay low so that I could be in better control of myself.  So on NWD, I planned on not leaving the Lake House.  My parents wanted to go to the races, I was a-okay with skipping out on that trip [gambling is not really my thing. reasons made clear to me during the current March Madness Sadness.] so I made no plans and this is how my NWD went:

Dad made me breakfast: french toast and coffee with baileys. [i may have had two drinks before lunch time.]
dads french toast

My parents headed to the races, and Rob and I headed to the water.  I took a few bottles of Mike’s Lemonade with me in the kayak:
 014

Then it was time for lunch, sun napping, reading literature pieces hand picked for me by my friend Megan, and listening to Rob’s Ipod:
9- laying out

And then, being the romantic that I am – at 3:00 PM, the time I would have been walking down the aisle, I instead ran down the trail near the Lake House. It felt good.   
9- running   

After I ran, showered, and changed into sweats, I sat on the couch.  My adorable little brother brought me another bottle of “girly drink” from the fridge and we sat in the living room watching Food Paradise on the Travel Channel.  This led me to want hot dogs for dinner.  So we had them.  Rob did homework and I numbed my mind with travel eats information.  Then Mom and Dad came home. We watched TV together as I played online.  Everyone went to bed.  I stayed up until 3:00 AM watching a Labor Day weekend Criminal Minds marathon.  And somewhere in-between episodes, THS was born.

The day AFTER NWD, we went to Boston.

Duck Tours [reminding me of the Dells]:

054
Site Seeing:
056   055   058

Lunchtime at the Cheesecake Factory, where I enjoyed Four Season Personal Pizza and shared Craig’s Crazy Carrot Cake Cheesecake:
096cheesecake

My favorite part of the trip to Beantown?  The historical tour with this wonderful guide.  I learned SO MUCH! Seriously, if you get the chance to do a guided walking tour in Boston – DO IT.  I personally thought it was so much better than the Duck Ride – it was so interesting and fun!
9-tourguide 

 

I know that eventually, I won’t want to celebrate NWD.  Eventually, I won’t care.  Eventually, I’ll wake up on September 6th, and I won’t even realize that it’s the day.  But as for now, when I do remember what almost happened, I choose to celebrate it.  Not just because I know that I am better off in every way, or because I didn’t give up my awesome last name [ Shugarman is pretty much awesome ], or because I get to enjoy living by myself.  But just because I can.  It’s my Non-Wedding Day, and I’ll celebrate if I want to. And how I want to [14 mile run, for example].

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 7:29 am

    I love you! Wish you lived in the ‘burgh so we all could celebrate it with you. 🙂

  2. abbynormally permalink
    March 27, 2010 9:01 am

    I want to run your 14 miles with you!!! Seriously! And I agree with Jessica.. move here, ok?!

  3. Kati permalink
    March 27, 2010 2:59 pm

    How come your brother never smiles?

  4. March 27, 2010 3:58 pm

    I am soooo running your 14 miles with you! You are awesome and an extremely strong woman. You rock lady!

  5. March 27, 2010 8:51 pm

    I can’t even imagine going through a NWD….you’re so strong. And what a great way to celebrate a noniversary.

  6. March 29, 2010 11:20 pm

    I was thinking the same thing as Kati ^.
    Does Rob not enjoy pictures? As a theatre kid, I feel he should be hamming it up in photos!!

    Also, Shugarman is a GREAT last name. True story. I, however, have my last name changing pretty high on my list of reasons to someday get married. Johnson is the second most common surname in the English speaking world. It needs to go. haha. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Celebrate NWD « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

