Skip to content

Learning About Me

March 21, 2010

In the spirit of the More Than Series, I want to share to a few things. [Reminder: Healthy living is more than nutrition & fitness.] I believe that a big part of healthy living is facing life with an understanding that we are constantly available to grow, change, & learn more about ourselves.  It’s my personal decision to try and nurture the growing, changing, & learning by seeking my heart, challenging myself, and questioning my identity; both in big ways and small ways.

Thursday afternoon, my friend, Jeff, asked me how I felt about going out Friday night.  Going out. Down town.  To drink our hearts out.

In all actuality, the original plan was to “get a few drinks”, but I believe a few drinks instantaneously became “as many drinks as we deem necessary” after I took one glance in his direction while discussing long, stressful, work days Friday. 

So, after watching Wisconsin pull through to the 2nd round [also known as, pacing in front of the television in the break room of my office and occasionally jumping up and down, clapping my hands, joining the crowd in “You’ve Said It All” and texting my basketball buddies Cody & Matt (my store manager & my favorite male Texan)] I ran some errands, got a mini-run in, and started to get ready for a night on the town.

Our main concern for the evening was to be set up in front of some CBS sports to watch the Syracuse/Vermont game and we knew we would be meeting up with his friends Alex and Alicia at some point in the evening.  So Jeff picked me up and we headed to downtown Albany and made our way down the very popular Lark Street to find a place to “get our drink on.”

Our first stop for the evening was Legends [a great little sports lounge I definitely plan on visiting again].

legends full  [source]

We watched basketball, had great conversation & shared quite a few laughs.  Eventually, Alex & Alicia arrived & we had more great conversation, more drinks, and more laughs. Then we made our way over to Lionheart [so. much. fun.]. 

Here is what I learned about myself this weekend:
I don’t hate beer. I thought I didn’t like beer. Apparently, I do indeed like beer. Draft beer. Or at least, I enjoyed the pitcher we split last night.
I have no “going out” clothes.  This is probably true for two reasons. 1. the last several months, the only clothing i’ve been purchasing is work out gear. Also, I don’t really “go out” often.  After searching my closet for a good hour, I finally decided on one my one pair of jeans that fit-ish [even though they are way too big, I can still feel comfortable in them] and a black shirt.   The thing about being in the middle of weight loss, is that I have a hard time justifying purchasing new clothes because I am still losing, and don’t want to purchase something that won’t fit in a few weeks.  I think I just need to get over this.


I also learned some Algebra:
Equation #1: 3 beers + 2 mixed drinks + 2 hours of good sleep + 2 hours of trying to continue sleeping but instead waking up every 10-15 minutes = hung-over heather. [I’ve NEVER had a headache like I had Saturday morning. I felt fine for the first hour or so of being awake, but after that, it hurt to move]
Equation #2: H2O + breakfast + more H2O + a 10 minute walk + more H2O + 3 hour nap = less hung-over heather.
Equation #3: More H2O + sweating it out on a run + Subway + writing in the sunshine in the park + another 15 minute walk outside = completely renewed

 I can [and will] do it. Jeff and I got in a discussion about my hemming & hawing on the running a half this fall decision. While we drove past the canal way trail that I love so much, I shared that from point A to point B & back again was 14 miles, and I was going to try to complete that sometime this summer. When he mentioned this was ambitious, then heather said “well, I’m considering running a half in October. But I’m still not sure if I want to commit to that.” 

Jeff reminded me that I can do it and that I should commit and start training now.  He reminded me that setting goals and completing them is what my life is about, and that I shouldn’t let fear of a certain number [in this case 13.1] scare me away.  His encouragement and assurance that he knew that I could cross that finish line on, helped me to realize that I knew it too: I CAN DO IT

And I will.  I am now planning on signing up for the Mohawk Hudson River Half on 10-10-10.  I’m sure I will be dreaming of this map for the next 7 months….

half

So, my goal for today is to outline a training plan for the next 29 weeks.  I’m hosting a whole slew of emotions at the moment – mostly eagerness & anxiousness.

What have you learned about yourself this weekend?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. March 21, 2010 1:13 pm

    Awesome! I have definitely had some brilliant ideas while drunk, and your half marathon goal sounds great. I want to run a 5K, so I’m working on that for now.

  2. March 21, 2010 1:24 pm

    I love your algebra 🙂
    Also, I will commit to the Half here on October 10th. We can be long distance training buddies…
    do you have a training plan? I can share mine 🙂
    or at least the plan i stuck to last year and it worked well. I survived to consider running another 😉

  3. March 21, 2010 8:14 pm

    Oh, you’ve learned a lot of things this week girl. Yay for race training too. I think I have finally mastered and learned how to organize two postitions at work…without going crazy. I also think I’ve learned to not freak out when meeting mew people. Every now and then I get really shy.

  4. March 21, 2010 8:34 pm

    I learned that I have a great friend Heather, who was greatly missed this weekend, who is totally going to rock her first half marathon this fall!

  5. March 23, 2010 7:46 am

    Sounds like a great weekend Heather! I am excited for you on running a half. I can’t even convince myself to sign up for a 5K this spring!

  6. March 23, 2010 6:42 pm

    I was just thinking today about how healthy living is a journey, and we as individuals must be able to adapt and change along with our needs. Healthy living to me is also about balancing out fun and work! And going out is never a bad idea, socializing is necessary. I learned recently that I do in fact enjoy beer on tap too! It’s been fun trying new things 🙂

  7. March 26, 2010 10:49 pm

    That’s awesome! It was terrifying hitting the “Submit” button when I signed up for my first full (I did it backwards and signed up for the half after that). Now I’m 60-something days away and really glad I did it. It hasn’t been easy by any means, but I feel like I have grown a LOT!

    Good luck! And we should definitely get our run on together sometime!

  8. April 22, 2010 11:01 am

    Hi! I came across your blog from Darlene @ My first 5k. The HMRRC Marine Corps Half Marathon was my first half! The course is great (very flat!). I wanted to wish you good luck in your training!

Trackbacks

  1. NWD & 1st Noniversary « Then Heather Said
  2. Hit the Links! « Then Heather Said
  3. uggg. « Then Heather Said
  4. The Answers « Then Heather Said
  5. Story Time « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

