Skip to content

More Than: Maria of RFM

March 16, 2010

I’ve been reading every one of the Guest Posts in the More Than Series since Heather started it and the wheels in my head have been turning. What is Healthy Living to me?? Yes, being a vegetarian (for me) is healthy living. Yes, working out regularly (for me) is healthy living. Yes, getting the proper amount of sleep (only in my dreams) is healthy living. All of these things are very important to a healthy lifestyle.

mariasgirsl2

I have two daughters.
Linsey is 9 and Regan is 2.  
I’m 30 years old and in most people’s minds a young mother. I try very hard (without being pushy) to make my daughters understand these things as well. I make sure that they eat the right foods with a balance of the fun foods they are dying to shovel into their tiny mouths. I made the choice to raise them vegetarian.

I make sure that they get outside and “blow the stink off” (as my grandmother would say) as much as possible. All of these things are very important to me. I want to make sure that my girls grow up healthy, happy and secure.

Then I started thinking deeper. Is that all I have to do as their mother? The quick answer is yes. Making sure that my children are happy, healthy and secure is all I HAVE to do as their mother. Is that all I should do?? NO!! It didn’t take me even a second to answer my own question. There is so much more that I should do and don’t always make the time for.

To me, part of being a mother and living a healthy lifestyle is putting off doing the laundry or making the beds or vacuuming up the dog hair or blogging about this mornings eats – doing whatever it is that can consume my day and playing with my girls. All they want from me at the end of the day is attention. They crave it like oxygen. The dirty dishes will still be there after they’ve gone to bed, but if I put my daughters to bed without having spent real time with them I haven’t lived or let them live a healthy lifestyle because they are still “malnourished”.

I have come to realize (after many times of doing the wrong thing) that my attention is just as important to my daughter’s health as the brussel sprouts I made them eat for dinner. Sitting down on the floor to put together a puzzle or read a book after they’ve gotten on their jammies fuels them just as much as their banana at breakfast. If I skip these things because I’m “too busy” then I’m depriving them of nourishment.

mariasgirls

I make sure to tell my girls every day (sometimes more than Linsey wants) that I love them and adore them and would die for them and that my life is complete because of them, but on top of that I show them by letting the laundry sit in the hamper and play Wii when I really don’t want to. I have learned that it isn’t just what I do for Linsey and Regan that sustains them – it’s also what I do with them that feeds their souls. The ways in which I show up for my daughters will always be more important than anything I can buy for them.

All the running, weight lifting, sweating and vegetarian meals that fill up our lives will NEVER be as important as the love and respect we give to each other.

the veggie girls

You can keep up with Maria, a no-doubt  Real Fit Mama, at her blog.  You can also read her 140 character max thoughts by following her twitter feed.
Heather suggests you take a minute to get to know Maria’s beautiful story. Also, take a look for some product advice in  reviews, what it means to be a passionate vegetarian, and how to become a part of the World Peace project. [Maria is awesome: visit her blog and find out all the reasons why!]

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 6:58 pm

    Maria, I don’t EVER plan to have babies. Ever. But I’m also smart enough to know that I may change and grow to feel a different way about my future and a possible little family…

    If this happens, I am coming to YOU for advice.

    Discussion:

    What characteristics are most important in parenting, in your opinion?

  2. March 17, 2010 9:09 pm

    I completely respect and honor people’s decisions to NOT have children. Trust me – I know being a parent isn’t for everyone. It is hard work and stressful and sometimes makes you question your sanity or ability to even do it. Having said that I would NEVER change the way my life has turned out even in the worst most stressful moments.

    The characteristics that are most important to me as far as parenting goes are the easiest ones – pick your battles, don’t take yourself so seriously, ice cream for dinner is ok once in a while and even parents get it wrong sometimes.

    The most important aspect of being a parent is knowing that it’s hard and scary and rough and stressful and exhausting and expensive, but aside from all that it IS the most rewarding and amazing and beautiful experience you can imagine…if it’s an experience you want.

    As a parent I know it’s not a job that everyone wants. There are moments in my life when I don’t want it – at least for a night. 🙂

  3. Crystal Proctor permalink
    March 18, 2010 9:24 am

    I really enjoyed this post and couldn’t agree with you more. I think everyone needs a little reminder now and then that the housework can wait and the time that you spend with your kids and husband is more important than making sure there are no dirty dishes in the sink. Kids grow up way too fast and the memories you make with them today will be with them forever. Thanks for the post – keep them coming!!!!

Leave a Reply

