Skip to content

like a cowgirl

March 14, 2010

This is what I call a weekend round up.
These round ups of information seem to be my favorite way to post lately.  apparently, you can take the girl out of Texas but you can’t take Texas out of the girl.  [ok. that’s a complete lie.  while i love a lot of people that live in Texas, i don’t really love Texas like a lot of said people i love.]

texas
[Texas Welcome Center – July 2008]

Happy Selection Sunday, my friends.
In case you weren’t aware, Autumn is my favorite season. [for a variety of reasons.] However, March is my favorite month. This makes very little sense unless you realize that I am an NCAA sports junkie in hiding, and that March is my favorite month because of the Madness. Want proof?

104_2611

 104_2606

Yes, that would be a ginormous bracket made of a variety of post-its on my living room wall. oh, joy.

Pour a glass & sit by the fireplace light of the computer screen.
Friday I went to a wine tasting after work. I tasted two reds and a vodka. [i was a little shocked to see shots of Vodka given at the advertised wine tasting, but I’m not going to complain about a free shot of vodka.  Especially when I am with in walking distance of my apartment.]

The adult beverage store in my tiny village has wine tastings every so often on Friday evenings from 4-7 PM, in an open house type of set up.  A distributer comes in, sets up a table, and gives out free sips along with nibbles of cheese and crackers and knowledge about the bottles she is plugging. 

In typical bad blogger form, I forgot to take photos and notes when I was at the tasting.  But what I did take was a few bottles up to the register.  One from the tasting, one from a suggestion from Julie, and one because I liked the bottle art, catchy name, and label description. [yes, i am that girl.]

 104_2597 104_2598104_2603104_2601

Chocovine. Educated Guess. Fulerson Burntray.

Ummm…Let me confess. Part 1.104_2594

I love carrot cake cupcakes. so much.  so much that i baked two batches in one week. [albeit, one of the batches I took to work and only ate one two cupcakes the entire day.]  I realize, however, that it is completely true what they say about keeping junk food out of the house if you don’t want to eat junk food.  How many cupcakes have I eaten today, you ask?  more than two.  and enough to know that I shouldn’t be baking these “just because”.  That’s a healthy decision I need to stand by.  Like, stat.  [apparently I can’t seem to find the “moderation” when carrot cake cupcakes are on my kitchen table]

Ummm…Let me confess. Part 2.
104_2591 

This past fall I won a twitter contest from The Wanderous.
and then I forgot to tell you about it. 
So, let us celebrate belatedly, as I came across the package today while cleaning out my craft room.  “HOORAY! WINNER!”
Go visit The Wanderous today –  seriously one of the best websites around in my opinion. [and i know you all take my opinion VERY VERY seriously. 

I can’t believe I’m going to say this.
My former fiancé spoke this morning at his church.
He spoke for a few minutes about our broken engagement.
You’re interested, aren’t you?
Good news for you – there’s a video on the interwebs for you to view and hear a bit of his side of the story.  Here’s how:
Go HERE.
Select “March 14, 2010”.
[it will open in Window’s Media player.]
Forward to 47:37.  Watch.
[note: this is a video of the entire church service.  47:37 is where his communication begins.  the discussion of our broken engagement takes place within the first few minutes of his message.  If you find yourself with an extra 40 minutes on your hands, I encourage you to watch the whole message. Especially if you consider yourself a “believer”.  I may not agree with EVERY sentence shared, but the scripture teaching and analogy are pretty spot on in my eyes. & the singing by a nice woman named Jess near the end is just fantastic.]
Also, as he points out in his communication, he cleared the talking about the broken engagement on stage with me before doing so.  I, of course, cleared the sharing of the video with him before doing so, too.  
We’re nice like that.

[if you want to discuss what I do/don’t agree with in the communication, I wouldn’t mind sharing – just send me an email at thenheathersaid[at]gmail.com or start a nice, respectful discussion in the comments section. 

& with all that being said – Ye-haw! & goodnight.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 9:56 pm

    Loved your post… and just so you know, I’m THAT girl too… buying wine based on labels that make me laugh 🙂 and most of the time, the wine tastes great!

  2. Ashlie permalink
    March 14, 2010 10:21 pm

    Heather, I too am “that girl”…Most of the wine is based on the label…Well to think about it, I buy Vodka that way too… I love the “Educated Guess” wine bottle…gonna have to look for that one!! 🙂

  3. Ashlie permalink
    March 14, 2010 10:23 pm

    Oh, and by the way…LOVE the picture of the TX sign…Remember when we discovered that? I still have a picture of you, me, and Heather in that same spot!! Oh the road trips to Beaumont…I miss you so much girl!!!

  4. March 14, 2010 11:26 pm

    I LOVE the format. I totally feel you on the cupcakes. I had the same weekend with Girl Scout cookies.

  5. March 15, 2010 6:30 am

    For some reason I cannot open the video on my Mac, so you can imagine how insane I’m going since I can’t get into it.

    Choco wine?? Sign me up for some of that.

  6. March 15, 2010 8:24 am

    I love how civil and pleasant you two seem to be. It’s really refreshing and although I know both of you were hurt badly it seems that you work really hard to get past that for the benefit of others.

    Love you!

  7. March 15, 2010 8:46 am

    that educated guess bottle is so cute. i was just telling eric last night that i am SO EXCITED to be able to open a bottle of wine very, very soon.

    if you cannot handle keeping cupcakes at your place, i would be happy to take them off your hands 😉

  8. March 15, 2010 9:01 am

    Such a hard story, Heather. I’m not sure I could have handled that. The cupcakes look so good I can’t look at them :0

  9. March 15, 2010 10:40 am

    I bought a bottle of wine based off the name (Birds & Bees Sweet White) despite the fact that I normally try to stick in the Texas wines area of the store. (Plus, the Birds & Bees wine was like $8.) But, it turned out to be amazing!

    • Melissa permalink
      March 17, 2010 9:28 am

      Ooo! Did you buy it at HEB? Every time I pass it I think about purchasing…

      • March 17, 2010 9:30 am

        Did I purchase WHAT at HEB?

        And no. Because we don’t have any HEBs “up in hurrrrrr.”

      • March 17, 2010 9:32 am

        Oh wait. You were talking to MLP, weren’t you?

  10. Grant permalink
    March 15, 2010 5:45 pm

    Love the bracket wall, Heather!

  11. March 15, 2010 8:34 pm

    OMG, the video sent chills down my spine.

  12. March 16, 2010 8:36 am

    Love the Texas photo! You are too cute! Hope you’re having a happy March!

  13. March 16, 2010 5:05 pm

    i cant watch it for some reason and i really wanna knowwwwwwwwwwwww

  14. Melissa permalink
    March 17, 2010 9:32 am

    Lee —

    That comment was directed at the other Lee (of Marcus variety), in reference to the Birds & Bees.

Leave a Reply

