Skip to content

What I Should’ve Told You Days Ago

March 10, 2010

Hey, Friends –

My friend Jenna has been posting these awesome Brain Dump posts lately.  They are fabulous.  [by the way if you aren’t already reading That Wife or gazing adoringly at her beautiful photos at Jenna Cole, do so, like- NOW, please. You are missing out.] I love the little tidbits of information, pointing out of awesome articles, sharing of coupons and little segments of life she shares all at one time.  I myself always have an on going list of “things to blog about” and lately it seems as though I can never blog quick enough to get these bits of information from my fingers to your eyes, so here I go, letting you know all the things I’ve been meaning to tell you.  This blog is a mush up between my Top Ten Tuesday posts, Jenna’s Brain Dump posts, and Kim’s Open Letter’s Friday.  Welcome.

Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery,
Heather of Then Heather Said

My dearest current blends and someday IRL friends,

height=53

I regret to inform you that I will no longer be attending Fitbloggin next weekend.  I am SO INCREDIABLY bummed about this, you have no idea.  But, I know that I made the right decision by backing out. [Without going into too many details let me say this – I feel I made one of the first major “responsible adult” decisions of my life. woot woot slash boo.]  I wish things were different and that I could be in Baltimore next weekend, living it up in a hotel room with these four lovely ladies, and meeting a bunch of my closest blends for the first time. [not to mention a WHOLE SLEW of other awesome bloggers].  Also pretty bummed that I will not be running my first race of the season in Baltimore, meaning Maryland will remain on the list of states to be run in to complete my goal. [for now anyway.]

So sad,
The least dependable blogger you know

P.S. you should find my new friend Jordan if you are attending Fitbloggin!  She is such a sweet girl and was gracious enough to purchase my ticket to the conference from me so that  I wasn’t out the ticket price.  Give her a hug for me! (and take one for yourself as well)

Dear Kati

Thank you for being such a great AMAZING friend and hosting a total stranger at your place after I called you from New York with news that my friend Jeff was stranded in Madison for the evening.  Thank you for taking him out to some Madison bars, even though it was a Monday night. Thank you for taking him to Dotty’s even though it made me even more jealous than I already was having him be in Madison and myself stuck in Upstate New York.  I owe you BIG TIME.  I hope all of my readers have friends in their lives they can count on for sporadic, [read: last minute] huge favors such as this. YOU ARE WONDERFUL. [and i LOVE this old photo I took of you back in 2003]

kati walsh

XOXO,
heather

My DEAREST Madison, Wisconsin;

When people ask me where home is, I will always say Madison.
Even though I only lived in Wisconsin for 8 years. Even though I only lived in the city of Madison for 2 of these years.

2001 capital

I’m wild with romance for you, you were my first true love. 
It’s not just the people I know there that I miss, it’s the people I don’t know too.  The community. The Badger fans. The business owners and the students. It’s not just the several food establishments I miss and yearn for so often, or the buildings or parks or farmers market on the square. It’s not just football Saturdays, or Kites on Ice, or concerts on the square or the terrace in the summertime. It’s so much more that I could never even begin to put into the right words.

Sometimes I ask myself what I’m doing living so far away from you.  It’s difficult to have a long distance relationship on my current financial situation.  I can’t visit as often as I’d like – and although sometimes you find a way to visit me out here in New York – in people who understand my love for you, or local businesses that remind me of places I used to frequent- it’s just not the same as walking your streets, and breathing your air, and feeling such freedom and life in my soul when I am in your presence.

brenandi

It’s been far too long since our last rendezvous – and it breaks my heart that we have been separated for such a terribly extensive space of time.  But, alas, we will soon no longer be apart – as current plans are in the works for my arrival both in May and sometime this fall!  We will be reunited again, my love. 

Yours truly forever & always,
Miss Shugarman

Legs,

Thank you for taking me places. And helping me reach PDRs. And looking pretty in a skirt. And reminding me I need to spend more time stretching you. And being long. I’m sorry I don’t take time to appreciate you more often. YOU ARE LOVED.

The rest of me.

To my two former Matrons of Honor, Mary and Danielle. [shown here, with myself and former Maid of Honor, Kelly – photo by Jenna Cole]
height=311

[first of I should say that although I didn’t end up having a wedding – that didn’t stop either of you for being the best Matrons I could ever ask for, thank you.]
You two are beautiful moms-to-be. Your bumps bring smiles to my heart.

I love that you are both blogging.
I love that I will have two children who are not mine to spoil very soon.  [one VERY VERY soon, as a matter of fact.]
I love this post by you, Mary. & This post by you, Danielle.
I love you both. And your sweet husbands. And your sweet little unborns.
XOXOXO – heath

Oh, sweet Bloggerverse;

Thank you, thank you, thank you. tear. I am completely humbled to have received these in the mail this week:

104_2587104_2588104_2584104_2585

Remember the book turned movie staring a few of my personal favorite young television characteristas past and present – [I’m talking Serena, Rory, Betty, & Joan here] and one actor who may or may not also play one of my favorite television characters of ALL TIME [hello, Josh Lyman, when can I marry you?], Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants

Well, I would be lying if I said I didn’t tear up a few times during the Sisterhood film. I would even be lying if I told you that I liked the sequel so much that I watched it twice, back to back on the same day with a group of high school girls I was mentoring. [don’t judge. Although, go ahead and judge if you realize I shared the detail about my company to make me seem less lame]

Well, the brilliant Faith came up with her own version of sister-worthy pants. A pair of blues to be passed throughout the blogger world to display inspiration, encouragement and friendship!

The pants have been passed through the hands of some awesome bloggers, and I am honored to be considered in the same company as these woman: Faith, Heather, Chandra, Monica, Caitlin & Katherine!

Faith set these rules for the pants:

1. Be your beautiful self and live vivaciously! Have fun!

2. You must never say that you are “fat.” You must never think to yourself, “I am fat.”

3. Remember, pants=love. Love your pals, love yourself.

4. Write your quote, blog, take your picture, and post about the pants (and e-mail Faith), and choose another blogger to send them to!

And to follow tradition, I want to hear your suggestions on which blogger YOU think should receive the pants next.

Take a moment and reflect: Whose blog do you read and feel motivated, inspired and encouraged? Please take a moment to share who you want to nominate and why. 

With Baited Breath I wait,
-h

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 1:44 pm

    I will so miss seeing you, but know that just because you are making responsible decisions by NOT going, does not mean that you are not dependable!! You had to make a tough choice, and you made the best one! I will miss you though, that’s for dang sure! 🙂

    I would like to nominate Ashley from healthyashley.com because she’s so strong and motivating! She can shine on a positive light onto even the hardest situations, like her Gasparilla Marathon experience, she couldn’t run the last half of the marathon and had to walk but she came out shining! She totally won that day and is such a motivation to others. Knowing her in person is truly a blessing!

  2. March 10, 2010 1:45 pm

    Well, secretly I want to nominate Mr. How Sweet, but he doesn’t have a blog, now does he?

    I am having a hard time choosing, so I going with 2 people:
    Teri from http://www.afoodiestaysfit.com because she is so vibrant and optimistic.

    Also have to go with Heather from http://www.heathersdish.com because she is so honest and genuine.

    Love both these girls!!

  3. March 10, 2010 2:11 pm

    I may sound like a broken record, but Nicci, or Nicci’s Nifty Eats is one of the sweetest girls I know, and I think she’d be a great recipient…

    Plus I think the britches need to visit TEXAS! 😀

    • March 10, 2010 9:56 pm

      i think my own PERSONAL britches need to visit Texas…as in, the ones I am currently wearing. with me in them. i’m just saying.

  4. Jordan permalink
    March 10, 2010 2:29 pm

    Your responsible decision and good deed is much appreciated by this gal. Hopefully we’ll get to meet sometime soon, and I’ll accept hugs on your behalf…I love hugs! 🙂 Thanks again

  5. March 10, 2010 5:13 pm

    Wanted to comment on the Madison part, as a girl from Wisconsin who just LIVES in Minnesota now I know how you feel. Even though I will most likely not move back there I do miss it.

    Hopefully your trips coincide with times I will be in Madison!

    • March 11, 2010 12:21 am

      YES YES YES! i will def. let you know when my dates for my Madison trips are firmed up- i would LOVE to finally meet you 🙂

      [p.s. my fall trip you will find ESPECIALLY appealing. my friend and I are talking about meeting each other in Mad-town for a badger football weekend. you may have had something to do with this, coach.]

  6. March 10, 2010 9:27 pm

    I’m so sad that I won’t get to meet you at FitBloggin! I have really enjoyed reading your posts but I hope that your series of decision making goes well. ❤

  7. Kelly permalink
    March 10, 2010 9:44 pm

    1) Way to make that hard decision and stand by it.

    2) That picture of your and your ladies is adorable!

    3) I would like to nominate Tina at Carrots N Cake. I recently started reading her blog and as I dig through the archives, I keep finding new fun things she has to offer! My recent favorite is how to turn your shopping bags into wrapping paper.

    Also she has a pug and likes her iced coffee. As do I. 🙂

  8. March 10, 2010 10:31 pm

    I would like to nominate Kat from http://www.fitmindbodyspirit.blogspot.com/

    She’s so very inspiring and a huge source of encouragement for me and others!

  9. Kati permalink
    March 11, 2010 12:36 am

    I can’t believe you posted that picture!!! That was my first picture after 5 years of braces. That was 6 years and 40 pounds ago. Yikes.

    And about my last minute house guest? I know you would have done the same for me!

  10. March 11, 2010 7:18 am

    There are so many wonderful blogs out there. But I would like to nominate Sheryl over at BitchCakes http://msbitchcakes.blogspot.com/. She is nearly at her goal and she inspires me to be all I can be. She is a great blogger, a great person and I wish I was even half the woman she is.

  11. March 11, 2010 9:38 am

    I’m sorry to hear you don’t get to go to fitbloggin. But good job being responsible 🙂

    I’m very excited for you to be visiting Madison soon. BGS and I will pack ourselves up to come visit! You will love her Bucky blanket, made for me by one of my mom’s friends many years ago.

  12. March 11, 2010 10:31 pm

    So many wonderful bloggers, but one has really been sticking out in my mind lately as a selfless, caring, loving, beautiful, lively blogger: Ryan at Greens for Good!
    She just always seems to be helping others and serving others! I nominate Ryan!

  13. March 12, 2010 2:27 pm

    I’m completely bummed that you will not be coming to fibloggin I was so looking forward to meeting you! 😦

  14. March 13, 2010 1:05 pm

    Bummer about fitbloggin 😦 As the eternal Cleveland sport fan says, “there’s always next year”…

    I’d like to nominate Tammy over at Defining Wellness (http://definingwellnessblog.com/). I just discovered her blog recently, but am already inspired by her honesty in writing about her journey to become healthy on every level. Plus her eats look super yummy!

  15. Kayla J permalink
    March 22, 2010 8:23 pm

    I thought you should know that with all your talk about and photos of Madison, you’ve made me want to go really bad. Like, I’ve mentioned it to a couple people when asked about places I’d like to visit, and they seem to think I’m weird. hah.

Trackbacks

  1. like a cowgirl « Then Heather Said
  2. The Pants Must Go On « Then Heather Said
  3. Greatly Grateful « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

