Skip to content

Valentine’s Daze Signs

February 14, 2010
tags:

Today is my mother’s birthday. [Happy Birthday, Mom!!! xoxoxo]

mom [i always knew my mother was cooler than all the other mothers.  Especially when she helped me engineer and design balloon chandeliers for an event I was decorating and then proceed to wear one in the sitting room. ]

 

Today is Valentine’s Day.  And the signs are everywhere.

Sign 1: Last night, while working at the mall, every costumer was one of two categories.  The first was the group of people who were desperately trying to find last minute valentine’s gifts for their loved ones.  Usually 13 year old scene kids picking out t-shirts with witty messages for their boyfriends. 

The other group were duos, holding hands.  Girls picking out shoes and accessories for their boyfriends, who are carrying several packages from other stores, to buy them.  [some may say it lacks creativity- but I will never complain if a man wants to buy take me on a shopping spree for Valentine’s Day. or my birthday. or St. Patrick’s day, ground hog day, or in honor of the Final Four games. does that make me selfish? shallow? materialistic? or honest.  ]

 

Sign 2: Every syndicated television program on today seems to be the most romantic of episodes. I’m currently enjoying the Nailey wedding on Soap Net as I type this. 

 

Sign 3: The blogs are full with heart shaped pancakes and suggestions that single girls shower themselves with self love today.

 

Sign 4: I received a Valentine’s package from my parents which included a beautiful hand crafted card by my mom, a beautiful red short sleeved cardigan sweater, and a Starbucks card.  [who needs a husband fiancé boyfriend when you have parents that make sure every holiday is filled with extra special treats?]

104_2467104_2473104_2478

Sign 5: I’ve been making excuses for my actions all day.  When my alarm went off at 6:00 AM this morning to get up and write, I decided instead to slumber until 9:00 AM. Sleeping in, because it’s Valentine’s Day.  Eating a Boca spicy chix sandwich for breakfast. Because it’s Valentine’s Day.  Skipping the gym. Because I slept late. and Have work to do. And am working at the store today. And because it’s Valentine’s Day.  Working with the TV on, and allowing myself to become distracted – because it’s Valentine’s Day.  Do you see the pattern?

 

Sign 6: i am craving something sweet.  I considering buying myself a heart shaped box of truffles. I considered walking down to the shoppe to get some ice cream.  I considered driving the 45 minutes round trip to Cheesecake Factory to get some Craig’s Crazy Carrot Cake Cheesecake.  You know- to treat myself. and “celebrate my singleness”.  Then I remembered that instead I could make one healthy decision.

104_2481 

Banana + Almond Butter + Toffee Bits – indulgence with out craziness.

 

Sign 7: I made my to-do list for the day on a pink post-it note with a red pen :)  Can’t get much more “valentinesy” than that ;)  Next up on the To-Do list- Iced Coffee and 3 hours selling overpriced shoes to teenagers.  joyus.

What are you doing this Valentine’s Day?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2010 1:50 pm

    Nothing! My boyfriend is on tour in New Orleans, so I’m stuck alone with my sister and her boyfriend. I am probably getting a tattoo later today though.

  2. February 14, 2010 4:04 pm

    Don’t parents rock? When I was little my mom used to have treats waiting for us at our desks when we got to school. :)!

  3. February 14, 2010 4:34 pm

    Happy Birthday to your mom!! And to you. I am so glad we became friends. 🙂

    And, umm…right now I’m laying on the floor drinking Captain Morgan while my husband watched Nascar (which I detest) with some friends. Save me.

  4. February 14, 2010 4:35 pm

    Um, I obviously meant Happy V-Day to you, not Happy Bday. Too much Captain.

  5. February 14, 2010 4:35 pm

    love the banana toffee idea. Happy Vday girlie!

  6. February 14, 2010 4:47 pm

    I’m listening to slow and/or sad and/or love songs on itunes and watching General Hospital on mute. I might go out later and treat myself to a big giant salad bar salad, but I don’t want to be “that girl” out alone on vday, even though I don’t care. Because I don’t.

  7. February 14, 2010 5:12 pm

    Mmmm the almond butter, toffee, banana shindig looks amazing. I will be trying that soon. 🙂 Seriously, enjoy singleness! I miss it sometimes. 🙂 Of course I love my husband, but I did miss out on those sweet moments! My v-day isn’t going as I had hoped anyways. 😉 It happens.

  8. abbynormally permalink
    February 14, 2010 7:46 pm

    Your snack idea is amazing!!! And parents always make the best Valentine’s..a guy doesn’t change that. Happy V-day friend!!!

  9. February 14, 2010 9:43 pm

    Happy Birthday to your Mom. What a pretty cardigan…love it.

  10. Kelly permalink
    February 14, 2010 10:04 pm

    I applaud you for not making this post about a bitter person who hates Valentines Day because she is single. 🙂 Happy Valentines day to you, and as I am many miles away from my husband today, your post – and your Moms adorable gift – reminds me that today is about love. And not just the gushy sappy kissy kind.

  11. February 15, 2010 2:05 am

    The cardigan looks great on you! I think moms always win for valentines day fuzzy feelings.
    Your banana toffee treat sounds like an awesome idea!

  12. February 15, 2010 10:23 am

    Happy birthday Shugarmom!

    I spent the day in childbirth class with E… very romantic. We did go to a play last night after class. It was very cute. And after the show, the cast sang 1930s style covers of popular songs.

  13. February 19, 2010 2:05 pm

    I cant think of a better combination than banana, almond butter and toffee…maybe if it was all dipped in chocolate. But still…sounds FANTASTIC!

Leave a Reply

