Skip to content

& Then Jillian Michaels Kicked My…

February 1, 2010

Joanne teaches two Chisel Classes.  A Monday class and a Thursday class. The Thursday I almost lost it at Willpower & Grace, I happened to catch a glimpse of the last few minutes of Chisel through the window as it precedes the death that is my brush with Pilates.

Here is what I have to say about my viewing experience:
The following Monday at work, my boss Jen asked about the Class Challenge.  I told her I was taking my second Chisel class ever [read about my first class here], this time with a Jillian Michaels look-a-like who made me want to scream more than Drew Barrymore in the opening scene of Scream.

I made sure to show up at the gym a little bit early to try and get an introduction in with Joanne [Read: PLEASE DON’T LEAVE ME TO DIE warning].  As I entered the class, I noticed that the room class was full of Kelly look-a-likes [as in Taylor and Kapowski].  Everyone was grabbing "gear", much like my first Chisel experience, only this time I was told to pick up a step bench, two or three sets of dumbbells, a body bar, and sliders [also known as the death of me; you can see Jess use the slider idea in her at home mini workout here].

Of course, being in a class with Jillian Joanne was intimidating.  Being a class with a bunch of super toned, Jennifer Aniston lookalikes was also a bit intimidating.  But when the first song hit the speakers, Don’t Stop Believing -I knew I had found my home. [Thank you, Glee.]

Joanne’s work out was perfect for me; it was difficult, and I struggled, but it was never impossible.  It made me feel strong and proud to be participating. Thankfully, the floors had just been waxed, and so the sliders were given up on fairly early in the game.  There may have been my own personal happy dance when that happened.  But don’t go thinking we got to go home early – Core work was doubled and intensified because of it. Two moves in particular worked my abs so hard they were sore for days.

Joanne did a great job of walking around the class and correcting form with out coming off like a crazy person.  She never made me feel like I wasn’t doing enough, yet somehow continued to make me want to do more.

Joanne was a fabulous instructor.  Apparently I’m not the only one that hinks so, because the class was very full and I’ve noticed that a lot of Monday attendees also seem to be ready for more come Thursday.

One thing I’m definitively noticing through the class challenge is that I keep wanting more.  If I wasn’t attempting to try all 30 classes this quarter, I would expect myself to want to attend at least one of Joanne’s Chisel classes each week, if not both of them.  There is not a doubt in my mind that Joanne would have me Chiseled if I was meeting with her weekly.

You may remember that I’ve made a commitment to continue to attend Willpower & Grace, and I’m so happy I did.  The frustrations I was feeling during the first class slipped away the following week as I was more familiar and comfortable with some of the movements.  I’m so happy I didn’t give up when I felt like I had failed.  I’m clearly learning valuable lessons through this Class Challenge.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2010 7:01 am

    I’m so glad you are going to continue going and WANT to go! Getting to that point is half the battle.

  2. fromatopink permalink
    February 2, 2010 9:21 am

    I’m SO glad the Chisel class gave you the confidence you were looking for – and that Willpower & Grace is treating you better 😉 So proud of you for keepig at it!

  3. February 2, 2010 1:21 pm

    I’m glad you found another class you like for when the challenge is over!

Leave a Reply

