Skip to content

Recovery

January 31, 2010
tags:

I feel like it’s been a year since I’ve last posted.  [a year – 4 days, what’s the difference?]

This week has been crazy busy.  I’ve put in over 55 hours at my office job, spent two nights dining and drinking with visitors who were in for the training we hosted, worked two nights at my part time job, and submitted four articles for reviews. I am tired. exhausted.  [and perhaps a bit hung over.]

Although I have 16 emails in my inbox that are weighing heavy on my mind and heart to reply to, although I have 3 craft projects I was planning on wrapping up this weekend, although my apartment is in shambles, I missed 2 work outs because of unexpected work dinners and my “To Do This Week” list has barely been touched – I know that I have to cut myself some slack.

I need a bit of a detox. So instead of replying to emails, and doing dishes, and cutting paper, and running ten miles, and crossing anything off my list I’ll be in my apartment, in old too big navy sweat pants and my Lodi soccer hoodie with the following:

 

   114000bmagazinesvegetablesgilmoregirls2yh7one-tree-hill-100th-episode-party-photo-12

I need a day of mindlessness.  Where I don’t overanalyze anything, and I can follow other [fictional] story lines, and page through magazines as I rehydrate myself after two nights of way too many glasses of red. 

Sometimes the healthy decision is the decision to do nothing at all.  And that really is something. 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2010 1:44 pm

    My gosh you have been BUSY!!! Take all the time you need. I hope you feel amazing and refreshed for tomorrow!

  2. January 31, 2010 3:40 pm

    Gilmore Girls, FTW!

  3. January 31, 2010 7:12 pm

    We all need those days to do NOTHING. My hubby has been on the same chair since 12 pm. Today is his day. 🙂

  4. January 31, 2010 7:33 pm

    Grammy awards are on tonight..my feet will be up ….with a cup of organic dark hot chocolate watching!!

  5. abbynormally permalink
    January 31, 2010 8:14 pm

    We all need days like that. There is so much to be said for relaxation!! And you had a craaaazy weekend, girl!

  6. January 31, 2010 8:38 pm

    Read your tweet,but I am not on Twitter1Taylor Swift is a 20 year old woman,not a teenager1 😉

    Elton John and Gaga were an exciting opener! on fire!!

  7. January 31, 2010 8:48 pm

    PS Pink BLEW me away with her performance!!!

  8. February 1, 2010 9:12 am

    Thanks for being my Grammy date 🙂

  9. February 1, 2010 12:27 pm

    That sounds like a fabulous day to me! It was so fun to catch up yesterday 🙂

  10. Grant permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:27 pm

    Yay for Lodi soccer hoodies!

  11. February 1, 2010 6:49 pm

    Hope you got some rest girl!

Leave a Reply

