Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday: Giving

January 27, 2010

1. I’ve been doing a lot more writing in my personal journal as of late.  I don’t mind it at all. It’s less of a “dear diary” and more of a “this is what I heard/read/found today and this is my reaction to it. The past ten days or so, I’ve been writing a lot about GIVING.  I’ve pledged that in 2010 I will give more.  More time.  More money.  More attention. More energy. More help.  Recently, when I was asked the question “What can you start doing this year that will make the world a better, kinder place?”  I responded with one word: give.   I am so blessed that the only thing I know how to do at this point is to give.  The wordiness that is my very being could not come up with anything else. Give.  It’s simple and it’s honest.  I challenge you- what can you give this year month week moment?

2. I have a very sweet high school friend named Carrie.  We graduated together, and our sophomore year of college, she transferred to the college I was attending and we were reunited.  I left that summer for my time in the South, but we stayed in contact over the years- an email here, a birthday card there, and the last trip I took to Madison I was lucky enough to get to spend some time with her, and a few other of my classmates, at the Angelic for long conversations of catch up and a few adult beverages. 

Recently, Carrie and I have been emailing one another and she has been such an encouragement to me!  She’s constantly Giving her love and support to me, sending it from the west coast to the east coast in words and strength and unending kindness. Imagine my surprise when late last week, I found a little surprise in my mailbox from the beautiful, sweet-hearted Care Bear; THANK YOU, my dear, sweet friend!

 100_2331100_2333 100_2334

The Wish Feather necklace is a subtle, everyday reminder of your personal wish.  Think hard about a wish, hook the necklace around your neck, and let the feather be a physical representation of your unique dream.  Your positive thoughts have a powerful effect on your life, and when the necklace falls off – the energy remains.

visit www.wishfeather.com for more info.

3. Are you ready to GIVE?  Get ready.  Details coming soon about how you can bid on some DELICIOUS treats baked by me [or one of 74 other bloggers/readers] in the Online Bake Sale for Haiti.  All money raised from the bake sale will be donated to the American Red Cross Haiti Relief and Development Fund. 

Just a reminder, my last name basically ensures that my treats are delicious. I’m just saying.  Get ready to bid, people!

Go HERE to place your bid!  Go NOW and bid on Heather of Then Heather Said’s trio of cookies: toffee crackle cookies, pumpkin spice ball cookies, and chocolate cinnamon chip cookies!  Go, Go, Go!

4. Update on the crush front: my fellow blogger/coach, Mellissa , has been giving me tips, pointers and instructions on how to flirt with the crush.  I’ve been working this week on giving compliments and giving smiles.  Have only blushed once in his presence this week: improvement!

5. [this quote sits on my desk at work] Do all the good you can, by all the means you can, in all the ways you can, in all the places you can, at all the times you can, to all the people you can, as long as ever you can. –John Wesley

6. You may know her from that link ———> over yonder for Palmer Photography.  The fabulous Michelle Palmer, extraordinaire, sent me a care package containing an awesome card, fabulous mix of music, and this gorgeous photo.  I can not tell a lie – I was in tears when I opened the box and found this frame filled with one of Michelle’s favorite photos she’s taken – which happens to have been shot at the rehearsal dinner of one of my very best friends, MaryI am touched by such a lovely gift!

100_2448 

You should go take a look at Palmer Photography’s e-store and find something for your own humble abode.

7.  We make a living by what we get. We make a life by what we give. –Winston Churchill

 

8.  Does anyone, blogger, or reader, or lurker alike – have any interest in giving THS readers a chance to hear from you?  I’ll be starting an interesting Guest Post series in the next few weeks and am looking for some volunteers who would like to give their words to this here blog.  Drop me an email at thenheathersaid@gmail.com if you are interested!  [I’m serious about the “non-bloggers” out there – I want to hear from you!  We ALL do!]

9. Do you have $1 that you can give to a Great Strides pledge in honor of my friend Kat? Read more about it here: Pledging Great Strides.

kat2

10.  Did you think I forgot about the Book Club Giveaway?  The Winners:

 caitlin wins

julie wins

Congrats, Caitlin and Julie!  I’m also pretty excited to check out your suggested reads – I’ve not read either of them!

I wish I had enough copies for everyone who commented about the book club – but sadly, I must encourage the rest of you to go purchase your books soon!  Link for Amazon. 

We are aiming to have the first chapter/short story read for the week of February 7th.  Also, please drop me an email and let me know if you are joining in the reading – I’m looking forward to this discussion, my friends!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. fromatopink permalink
    January 27, 2010 9:48 am

    Thank you AGAIN for supporting me and giving me your friendship, without even having met (although that will soon be remedied in less than TWO months!!!). You are such an inspiration for me as a blogger and friend, and I am constantly amaze but just how much you GIVE, nevermind the fact that you are now pledging to continually give MORE. YOU. ARE. AWESOME. 🙂

  2. January 27, 2010 11:23 am

    Hooray! I will guest post for you!!

  3. January 27, 2010 11:40 am

    I second the first post!

    And I’ll guest post as well, though I’ve been an AWFUL blogger as of late.

  4. Kayla J permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:52 pm

    I think I’d be way intimidated to guest blog on YOUR blog!

Leave a Reply

