Skip to content

My Date with Joe Joe

January 25, 2010

Last Thursday, I had packed my afternoon snack time; Tazo Awake tea, two long pieces of celery, two long carrots, and some white chocolate wonderful peanut butter. When 3:00 came around, I could feel my tummy start to want a treat, and so I headed to the break room and got my snack.100_2348

Tea. Check.
Hot Water. Check.
Veggies. Check.
Jar of Peanut Butter because I have no shame and will dip to my hearts content. Check.

 

and then I saw this box on the break room table, left with the other “snacks for sharing”:

100_2338

Could this be true?!?! 
The beloved TJ’s Dark Chocolate Covered Peppermint Joe Joe’s that a billion and seventeen foodie bloggers have been posting about?

The closest Trader Joe’s is almost 2 hours away from me, so I am not able to try all the delicious treats that everyone in blog-land is always raving about.  I’m quite certain I’ve read at least 17 people rave about these little guys.

I must have one!

But WAIT! 
Heather, you packed a snack…

100_2348

Tea. Vegetables. PB. I told myself to think this through.  You are a dedicated and faithful woman, Heather.  You will do the right thing.

Hmmm….

Well, maybe I’ll just take a closer look.  You know, investigate the situation.  It doesn’t hurt to LOOK right?

100_2339100_2340

Oh, my.  Joe Joes look even prettier in person.  Even wrapped in plastic, they are the most beautiful cookie treat I have ever seen!  I must indulge!  I will eat the entire sleeve of these little beauties and no one will ever know.

But WAIT! 
Heather, you packed a snack…

100_2348

and it seems to be a bit more healthy than a whole sleeve of Dark Chocolate Covered Peppermint Joe Joe’s.

So, go ahead, Heather – make a healthy decision. [then make another]

OK: Maybe I’ll just have ONE Dark chocolate covered peppermint Joe Joe.

100_2341100_2344

Plated, and ready to eat, Joe Joe stared up at me.  It was clear – he loved me too.  I knew we were a match made in heaven the break room. I knew that Joe Joe was going to make me a very happy woman for the rest of my life very moment that I ate him. It was meant to be!  Heather and Joe Joe forever now.

But WAIT! 
Heather, you packed a snack…

100_2348

I didn’t want my vegetables to get jealous- after all, my date with the vegetables was already scheduled and I’m not the kind of girl to stand anyone up- especially not someone who has been as good to me as Vegetables have!

So I did what any wise single woman would do. 

I saved Joe Joe for later.  Actually, since I knew that Joe Joe was so popular with the ladies, I decided a double date may be in order, and I wrapped up TWO cookies. 

100_2345100_2346

And I went on to my already scheduled date snack:

100_2348

Friday came and went and I didn’t have time for Joe Joe.  [I ended up getting to leave the office at 2:30 – no time for an afternoon office snack when you are at home by 2:37!]

I decided to play “the game”, and leave Joe Joe hanging for a few days.  I didn’t call him.  I didn’t ask him to snack time over the weekend.  I kind of just made him wait.

But then, today came around.  And I was ready for our long awaited date.  And my oh my, didn’t Joe Joe look handsome?

100_2430

Especially when I remembered that I had received this yummy tea from my Blogger Secret Santa- a perfect compliment to the Joe Joe goodness:

100_2428

Joe Joe and I really hit it off. So much so, that instead of two dates this week, we just had one long date.  [that’s right. i couldn’t just stop after one Joe Joe.] These Dark Chocolate Covered Peppermint Joe Joe’s were a perfect blend of sweet and crunchy.  The extra peppermint crumbly topping was such a nice added bonus.  The tea was a delightful counterpart to the richness of the Joe Joes.

100_2433

To put it in Caitlin’s terms; Joe Joe and I may or may not have “sucked face”:   And apparently it shocked me.

100_2439

Unfortunately, it seems that Joe Joe is a bit of a “kiss and run” kind of guy. I can’t find him anywhere. This may not be a bad thing, however; I’m not ready for that serious of a commitment.  I don’t want to put on that “boyfriend layer.”

20 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2010 10:54 pm

    You are seriously adorable. Please write a book someday. If you want to.

    • January 25, 2010 10:56 pm

      Hahahaha. I love the line “if you want to” 😉 after our conversation the other day.

      You are the greatest. xoxo

  2. January 25, 2010 11:15 pm

    Oh, I know AAALLLL about the special dark chocolate peppermint Joe Joes. Joe Joe’s siren call wooed me last Christmas. When he showed up again at my local store this year, I had to avoid the aisle to keep from embarrassing myself. So good.

  3. fromatopink permalink
    January 25, 2010 11:30 pm

    This. Is. Awesome. You have some wonderful writing talent! Do I see a book deal in your future? 😉 And now I officially have to track down Joe Joe so I can have a date of our own. (You do share, right?)

  4. January 26, 2010 12:55 am

    omg! Aren’t they just heavenly?

  5. January 26, 2010 3:12 am

    Those Joe Joe’s look sooooooooo good! I think I will have to visit the nearest Trader Joe’s and go on a mission to find these babies

  6. January 26, 2010 6:49 am

    I have never even heard of those!! How have I never heard of those?!?

  7. January 26, 2010 7:39 am

    Hahaha, oh joe-joe, I’m glad he waited for you and didn’t take off when he didn’t hear from you right away. The wait makes it worth it!

  8. January 26, 2010 8:49 am

    This post was hilarious! And boy those do look yummy. I never got to try them myself. Maybe next year.

  9. January 26, 2010 9:01 am

    If you succeed in Flirt Training I will send you some Joe Joe’s and even the Dark Chocolate Ones if they still have them in the store!

  10. abbynormally permalink
    January 26, 2010 11:56 am

    Ok, you convinced me. Those are going in my basket next time I’m at Trader Joes…which should be this weekend. Thanks, Heather. Thanks a lot!

  11. January 26, 2010 12:01 pm

    Heather – I have never gotten a chance to say how motivating, creative, and inspired your website is. I often read it when I am on the treadmill at the gym. Is there any chance that you are coming home this spring. It would be fun to run crazyleggs with you. I ran my first 5k last spring and just loved it. Now I want to do more.

    I love you, and think of you more than you know.

    xo Kajsa

  12. Danielle permalink
    January 26, 2010 12:41 pm

    This post is so cute and funny. It very much brightened my day 🙂

    And I am amazed by your willpower to wait to eat those tasty treats for so long. I’m considering a stop by TJ’s after work now… I have no willpower at all.

    • January 26, 2010 12:50 pm

      Its okay that you have no willpower because you are with child. 😉 blame it on BGS 🙂

  13. Alcey permalink
    January 26, 2010 2:33 pm

    Awesome post. 🙂

  14. January 26, 2010 3:04 pm

    i hope you used protection.

  15. Kayla J permalink
    January 26, 2010 3:52 pm

    1. haha, this is tooo cute!
    2. those look delicious, oh my gosh…
    3. I kept thinking something was wrong with my computer – I usually skim your posts before diving in, and I saw that one picture over and over and thought my computer was freaking out! haha

  16. January 26, 2010 11:00 pm

    As soon as I saw this Tweet, I could only hope you were talking about my beloved Joe Joe’s – and YOU ARE! I used to buy these and take them into Applebee’s when I was a server there and mix them with ice cream telling everyone they were “organic Oreos” BAHAHA. I know exactly where they are at TJ’s and can picture them in said location. Perhaps they will make a trip to Baltimore come spring?!

Trackbacks

  1. More Than « The Twenty-Fifth Year

Leave a Reply

