Skip to content

A Very Denton Blogger Meet-Up

January 21, 2010

Almost a month ago [read: i’m a procrastinator], I was in Denton, TX chillin’ mad fresh with the family. [read: celebrate Christmas]  While I was in town, I made sure to use the opportunity to meet some of my favorite bloggers.  Way before [read: a few months] I traveled to Texas [by the way, did you know that it’s hot there? 😉 ] I talked to Kelsey and Nicci and we decided that sometime during the weekend of Christmas. 

The week before Christmas it was decided that we would be meeting for Dinner on Saturday, the 26th.  Eventually, we settled on the amazing Sweet Basil Thai Bistro.  I had never been before, but my dad had told me that he enjoys it when he came to visit in July, and I was pretty stoked to try it.  Also, after a call for more local bloggers, Trinity decided to join us as well.

And so the day arrived!  I happened to find out that Kelsey is basically my parents neighbor.  As in, I could walk to her house from my parents house in less than 2 minutes.  So, I was lucky enough to have Kelsey be my chauffer for the evening – this worked out extremely well, since I’ve never actually lived in Denton I am still learning my way around.  So, Kelsey picked me up and we headed to the restaurant.

nicoles-pics-417-1024x768

We were the first to arrive, but not too long after Nicci came bouncing in the door, and a few minutes after that, Trinity followed. Aren’t we a gorgeous group of bloggers?

 IMG_3099

Have you read Trinity’s, Kelsey’s or Nicci’s blog? They are ALL fabulous! 

Trinity writes at Haiku Tofu – She shares so many delicious vegan recipes and tasty treats. [ i have had DREAMS about her recipes. just saying]  Also, she often posts Haiku Tuesdays :)  I love me a haiku!  And I love me some Trinity! She said a few things during our meet up that made me really, really wish I lived in Denton.  I have a feeling Trinity is the kind of girl that would bring out the extra creativity from soul that the world sometimes tries to squander.

Kelsey is the fabulous woman behind Kelsey Toney, where she chronicles her becoming better, one day at a time.  She has a tremendous weight loss and getting healthy story that I use as inspiration on my own journey – anytime I’m feeling defeated I look to my friends who have accomplished their weight loss goals and feel super motivated – Kelsey is at the top of that list.  She is also one of the funniest people I’ve met. I just adore her! 

Nicci isn’t lying when she posts as Nicci’s Nifty Eats.  Her food photographs and recipe suggestions are ALWAYS making my mouth water. Nicci is one of the sweetest, and encouraging woman I’ve come across in the blogger community.  She is a darling woman who always seems to say the right thing to lift my spirits during a hard time.  Her blog is not just filled with healthy, delicious recipes but also tips and tricks for living a healthy lifestyle!

 

OK: back to the photo recap!

 

kels's husbandkels and me

Kelsey LOVES the yellow curry at Sweet Basil.  She may or may not have proposed to the bowl of curry while we were at the table. I did taste a bite and must confirm: she knows how to pick ‘em! 

best gift evernicoles-pics-412-1024x768kelsey

Trinity brought us vegan almond crisps for a holiday treat.  Let me tell you, these were AMAZING.  Nicci, Kelsey and I tweeted about them for about a week. No lie.

nicci and trinity
The
two beautiful faces we were lucky enough to gaze at during dinner. ;)  We bloggers are romantic.

After dinner, we set out for Yogurt Story.  This was my first trip to a self serve froyo bar and I was VERY PLEASED with our trip.  So pleased, in fact, that the next day I convinced my brother and sister to go back with me for more. I have been wishing for a Yogurt Story [or something similar] to pop up in my neck of the woods just about every day since. [no dice thus far]        

nicoles-pics-419-1024x768yogurt story layoutnicci and i with delightful yogurttrinity and kelsey whimsical

[please note that Trinity and Kelsey are looking “whimsical”]

 

My first official blogger meet up was such a wonderful experience.  We spent SEVERAL hours together just chatting away.  I truly enjoy these three lovely ladies so much, and I can’t wait until my next trip to Denton for our next meet up! [must confess, I’m a little jealous that they get to see each other so often now that they are all taking yoga at the same studio!]

 

Have you met any other bloggers recently? 

 

 

[p.s. my camera was being COMPLETELY lame and not staying on for more than 3 seconds at a time [problem has sense been fixed! yah!] and so I must give mad props to Nicci, Kelsey, and Trinity – whose photos I used.]

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 11:52 pm

    WHEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!

    I miss you! xoxoxo.

    I miss yogurt story more, though…

    JUST KIDDING, I miss you equally.

    haha. 😛

  2. January 22, 2010 12:34 am

    Mega jealous that there is no froyo place in minneapolis.

  3. January 22, 2010 6:54 am

    AW how fun!!! I met up with Caitlin and Abby a few weeks ago and it was wonderful. 🙂 Only 2 more months til we meet!!!!

  4. fromatopink permalink
    January 22, 2010 9:51 am

    That looks like so much fun! I want to organize a blogger meetup here, where I live, but am super nervous. Although Fitbloggin’ will be the most awesome blogger meetup EVER!

  5. January 22, 2010 11:27 am

    Yay blogger meet-ups! So excited for Fitbloggin’ 🙂

  6. January 22, 2010 12:48 pm

    It looks like you had a blast! I wish we had frozen yogurt places in my area. I’m jealous of all the bloggers that get yummy froyo on the regular.
    I’ve bet a few bloggers and have been amazed at how much we have in common. I’ve always had trouble connecting with other women, but I’ve found that not to be the case with bloggers. I’m not sure why that is…I can’t wait to meet more at Fitbloggin!

  7. January 22, 2010 2:53 pm

    i want to meet bloggerssss. southeast meet up? anybody? andybody??

    fitbloggin will be so overwhelming to meet everyone at once. i’ll have to make notecards to review on the plane… blog name on one side, real name on the other. 😉

Leave a Reply

