Skip to content

Top Ten Tuesday: Morning Edition

January 19, 2010
tags:

It has been quite a few weeks since a Top Ten Tuesday post!

1. I went to bed around 10:30 PM last night.  I left myself a few notes on my alarm clock [read: blackberry] to encourage myself to get out of bed and start my day early this morning, no questions asked.

morning notes

2. It worked!  When my alarm sounded at 5:40 I did not press snooze! [for the first time since July, I think.]  I got up and got ready to start my day.  I had originally suggested a trip to the gym this morning, but last night as  I was falling asleep I decided that it would be better to do some morning exercising in my apartment and have some extra time for a nice sit down breakfast and a “get-ready-at-your-own-pace” type of day.

3. After starting the coffee pot, folding some laundry, and putting away the dishes I had left drying last night, I decided to try this 10 minute beginners yoga morning video:

My first Yoga class in the class challenge is coming up soon, and I want to try a few at home sessions before I go get all balanced with strangers.  I really enjoyed this video- I feel like it really helped to wake me up and get my day started.

4. Also did some light arm lifting this morning.  2 sets of 12 with my body bar of the following:

Chest Press
Curls
Shoulder Press
Standing Row
Tricep Overhead Extension

5. This week I am forcing myself to leave the office for an hour each day for lunch.  Usually, I just force something down at my desk at whatever time I get hungry.  I’m trying to leave my office from 12:30-1:30 instead.  I’m very lucky to only live 1 mile from work!  Yesterday proved a successful lunch break.  I created some leftover fish tacos, posted a blog, packed my gym bag, and most importantly, relaxed away from my desk!

I love my job, but lately I’ve been feeling pretty overwhelmed with things.  I need to remember to make myself a priority during the day.  I have a natural sort of work-a-holic personality at times, so making sure I’m not overdoing it is really important to keeping myself balanced. 

I also like taking a 12:30 break because coming back to work at 1:30 makes the afternoon seem much shorter!  I was so surprised when it was time to leave yesterday!

6. Was v. excited that my Monday nights are back to long distance girl time with my friend, Rachel.  We watch One Tree Hill together via text messaging, and it’s one of my most favorite parts of the week! Do any of you watch OTH?  There is some craziness going on right now.

7. Also watched the new WB show, Life Unexpected.  I’ve been seeing the previews for a few weeks now, and was intrigued.  I was even more interested when I saw that WB Alum Kerr Smith was in it!  Shout out to all the Dawson’s Creek fans [ it seems as if we’ve been chatting about DC a lot lately; with James V-B being a guest spot on just about every single television program I’ve watched this year, and Joshua Jackson’s beautiful display of his ability to be a gentleman at the Globes Sunday night in which twitter was abuzz 😉 ]

8. Have you visited any of the THS tabs?  Who is Heather, Daily Reads, Class Challenge and View from the Top are all posted and waiting for your eyes to take a look.

9. Take a minute to head over to the Bake Sale for Haiti over on Diana’s blog – I encourage you to sign up to donate a baked treat. [ you don’t have to be a blogger to bake! ]  The sale takes place next week Wednesday– so go take a look and get an idea of what you want to be bidding on!  [Take note of  what is missing from the list?  That’s what YOU should bake!]

10. Question time; what is your favorite oatmeal topping?  I’m currently enjoying a mug full of oats + almonds + almond butter + toffee pieces. DELIGHTFUL!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 19, 2010 7:49 am

    I have left myself notes like that on my alarm and nightstand for years – and it does work! However mine are usually a little more vulgar, like ‘Jessica get you &$$%#*(* #$% out of bed!!!’

  2. January 19, 2010 9:29 am

    the absolute MUST in every single bowl of oatmeal i eat is nut butter of some sort. but that’s a given. i’m also loving unsweetened coconut right now. chia seeds are also a requirement.

  3. January 19, 2010 10:30 am

    Great trick with the notes on the alarm! I ALWAYS snooze!

    I’m a big DC fan! I need to check out that show!

    Happy Tuesday 🙂

  4. Danielle permalink
    January 19, 2010 12:35 pm

    I like that you are leaving work for lunch. What a nice break in the middle of the day. I used to do that when I had 90 minute teaching breaks, and it was nice just to drive around and get a hot chocolate or something else out of the building. Eating lunch at my desk isn’t quite the same. Although it does give me a chance to catch up on THS 🙂

  5. fromatopink permalink
    January 19, 2010 2:17 pm

    Love love love OTH. And last night’s ending? Wow. And REALLY?!?!?! That’s all. 🙂

  6. January 19, 2010 2:45 pm

    My favorite granola topping is definitely apples… but I’ve been enjoying adding a sprinkling of granola (oats and more oats!) for some texture too. I’m definitely a fruit topping girl for my oatmeal overall though.
    It’s so easy to stay inside at lunch and I’m always amazed at how much better I feel when I go outside for a walk. It just helps there be an actual break in my day and helps me come back refreshed for the afternoon. I think that’s a great goal to have set for yourself 🙂

  7. January 20, 2010 1:40 am

    I always put Bear Naked Granola on top of my oatmeal. Delicious. And I was a bit overwhelmed with “Life Unexpected” at first, but by the end (even with the cheesy “I think it already has” line as she blew out her candles) it won me over big time.

  8. January 20, 2010 9:37 pm

    I love the sticky Notes to give you push out of bed. I need some of those !

Trackbacks

  1. The Yoga Journal Gives The Complete Lowdown On Yoga | My Health Bulletin - Live Healthy and Wealthy
  2. What I Should’ve Told You Days Ago « Then Heather Said

Leave a Reply

